§1-607. Surcharge for restoration, storage and preservation of records

- 1. Surcharge. In addition to any other fees required by law, a register shall collect a surcharge of \$10 per petition, application or complaint, except for name changes, filed in the court. [PL 2017, c. 402, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2019, c. 417, Pt. B, §14 (AFF).]
- **2. Nonlapsing account.** The surcharge imposed in subsection 1 must be transferred to the county treasurer, who shall deposit it in a separate, nonlapsing account within 30 days of receipt. Money in the account is not available for use as general revenue of the county. Interest earned on the account must be credited to the account.

[PL 2017, c. 402, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2019, c. 417, Pt. B, §14 (AFF).]

3. Use of account funds. The money in the account established in subsection 2 must be used for the restoration, storage and preservation of the records filed in the office of the register and in the court. No withdrawals from this account may be made without the express written request or approval of the register.

[PL 2017, c. 402, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2019, c. 417, Pt. B, §14 (AFF).]

4. Waiver of surcharge. The judge may waive the surcharge in subsection 1 if the judge believes that it will prove a hardship for the individual filing the petition, application or complaint.

[PL 2017, c. 402, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2019, c. 417, Pt. B, §14 (AFF).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 2017, c. 402, Pt. A, §2 (NEW). PL 2017, c. 402, Pt. F, §1 (AFF). PL 2019, c. 417, Pt. B, §14 (AFF).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Legislature and is current through October 15, 2024. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.