§324-A. Games of chance prohibited at "beano" locations

- **1. Games of chance where "beano" located.** A person may not conduct a "beano" game at any location where a lottery or other game of chance is conducted.
- [PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. I, §10 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. X, §2 (AFF).]
- **2. Games of chance before "beano."** A person may not conduct a lottery or other game of chance during the period of one hour before the conduct of any "beano" game at the specific location of the "beano" game, except that the following lotteries may be conducted during the period of one hour before the conduct of "beano" games.
 - A. Lottery tickets issued by the State Liquor and Lottery Commission may be sold when a valid license certificate issued by the commission is properly displayed. [PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. I, §10 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. X, §2 (AFF).]
 - B. Raffle tickets may be sold in accordance with chapter 62. [PL 2009, c. 487, Pt. B, §8 (AMD).]
 - C. Lucky seven or similar sealed tickets may be sold when that game of chance is registered with the Gambling Control Unit and when a valid license or registration certificate is properly displayed. Notwithstanding the other provisions of this section and section 312, lucky seven games may be conducted during the period beginning 2 hours before and ending 2 hours after a "beano" game.

Notwithstanding any other rule, lucky seven or other similar sealed tickets may be sold that have a sale value of \$1 or less, and a person who sells or distributes "beano" cards or materials used to play "beano" prior to the conduct of "beano" as a volunteer, as provided in this section, is permitted to play in the "beano" game. [PL 2017, c. 284, Pt. JJJJJ, §25 (AMD).]

[PL 2017, c. 284, Pt. JJJJJ, §25 (AMD).]

3. Location defined. For purposes of this section, "location" means the location specified in the location permit.

[PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. I, §10 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. X, §2 (AFF).]

4. Penalty. A person who violates this section commits a civil violation for which a fine of not more than \$1,000 may be adjudged.

[PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. I, §10 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. X, §2 (AFF).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 2003, c. 452, §I10 (NEW). PL 2003, c. 452, §X2 (AFF). PL 2007, c. 110, §1 (AMD). PL 2009, c. 487, Pt. B, §8 (AMD). PL 2017, c. 284, Pt. JJJJJ, §25 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through January 1, 2025. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.