## §207. Assault

- 1. A person is guilty of assault if:
- A. The person intentionally, knowingly or recklessly causes bodily injury or offensive physical contact to another person. Violation of this paragraph is a Class D crime; or [PL 2001, c. 383, §10 (NEW); PL 2001, c. 383, §156 (AFF).]
- B. The person has attained at least 18 years of age and intentionally, knowingly or recklessly causes bodily injury to another person who is less than 6 years of age. Violation of this paragraph is a Class C crime. [PL 2001, c. 383, §10 (NEW); PL 2001, c. 383, §156 (AFF).]

[PL 2001, c. 383, §10 (RPR); PL 2001, c. 383, §156 (AFF).]

2.

[PL 2001, c. 383, §10 (RP); PL 2001, c. 383, §156 (AFF).]

- **3.** For a violation under subsection 1, the court shall impose a sentencing alternative that involves a fine of not less than \$300, which may not be suspended except as provided in subsection 4. [PL 2019, c. 113, Pt. B, §10 (AMD).]
- **4. Finding by court necessary to impose other than minimum fine.** In the case of an individual, the court may suspend all or a portion of a minimum fine under subsection 3 or impose a lesser fine other than the mandatory fine if the court finds by a preponderance of the evidence that there are exceptional circumstances that justify imposition of a lesser financial penalty. In making a finding of exceptional circumstances, the court may consider:
  - A. Reliable evidence of financial hardship on the part of the individual and the individual's family and dependents; [PL 2019, c. 113, Pt. B, §11 (NEW).]
  - B. Reliable evidence of special needs of the individual or the individual's family and dependents; [PL 2019, c. 113, Pt. B, §11 (NEW).]
  - C. Reliable evidence of the individual's income and future earning capacity and the individual's assets and financial resources from whatever source; [PL 2019, c. 113, Pt. B, §11 (NEW).]
  - D. Reliable evidence regarding any pecuniary gain derived from the commission of the offense; and [PL 2019, c. 113, Pt. B, §11 (NEW).]
  - E. The impact of imposition of the mandatory fine on the individual's reasonable ability to pay restitution under chapter 69. [PL 2019, c. 113, Pt. B, §11 (NEW).]

[PL 2019, c. 113, Pt. B, §11 (NEW).]

## SECTION HISTORY

PL 1975, c. 499, §1 (NEW). PL 1985, c. 495, §4 (AMD). PL 2001, c. 383, §10 (RPR). PL 2001, c. 383, §156 (AFF). PL 2005, c. 12, §JJ1 (AMD). PL 2019, c. 113, Pt. B, §§10, 11 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Legislature and is current through October 15, 2024. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.