§1105. Substance use disorder treatment program

As a condition of post-conviction release, the court may impose the condition of participation in a substance use disorder treatment program for a period not to exceed 24 months pursuant to Title 4, chapter 8. Upon request of the Department of Corrections, the court may require the defendant to pay a substance use testing fee as a requirement of participation in the substance use disorder treatment program. If at any time the court finds probable cause that a defendant released with a condition of participation in a substance use disorder treatment program has intentionally or knowingly violated any requirement of the defendant's participation in the substance use disorder treatment program, the court may suspend the order of bail for a period of up to 7 days for any such violation. The defendant must be given an opportunity to personally address the court prior to the suspension of an order of bail under this section. A period of suspension of bail is a period of detention under Title 17-A, section 2305. This section does not restrict the ability of the court to take actions other than suspension of the order of bail for the violation of a condition of participation in a substance use disorder treatment program or the ability of the court to entertain a motion to revoke bail under section 1098 and enter any dispositional order allowed under section 1099-A. If the court orders participation in a substance use disorder treatment program under this section, upon sentencing the court shall consider whether there has been compliance with the program. [PL 2019, c. 113, Pt. C, §35 (AMD).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 2001, c. 318, §1 (NEW). PL 2003, c. 205, §2 (AMD). PL 2017, c. 407, Pt. A, §53 (AMD). PL 2019, c. 113, Pt. C, §35 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through January 1, 2025. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.