MRS Title 12, §10901. COMPLIANCE; NONCOMPLIANCE

§10901. Compliance; noncompliance

1. Definitions. As used in this subchapter, unless the context otherwise indicates, the following
terms have the following meanings.

A. "Compliance with a support order" means that the support obligor has obtained or maintained
health insurance coverage if required by a support order and is:

(1) No more than 60 days in arrears in making any of the following payments:
(a) Payments in full for current support;

(b) Periodic payments on a support arrearage pursuant to a written agreement with the
Department of Health and Human Services; and

(c) Periodic payments as set forth in a support order; and

(2) No more than 30 days in arrears in making payments as described in subparagraph (1) if
the obligor has been in arrears for more than 30 days in making payments as described in
subparagraph (1) at least 2 times within the past 24 months. [PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF); PL
2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §96 (RPR); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF); PL 2003, c. 689,
Pt. B, §6 (REV).]

B. "Support order" means a judgment, decree or order, whether temporary, final or subject to
modification, issued by a court or an administrative agency of competent jurisdiction for the support
and maintenance of a child, including a child who has attained the age of majority under the law of
the issuing state, or a child and the parent with whom the child is living, that provides for monetary
support, health care, arrearages or reimbursement and may include related costs and fees, interest
and penalties, income withholding, attorney's fees and other relief. [PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF);
PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §96 (RPR); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]

[PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §96 (RPR); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422

(AFF); PL 2003, c. 689, Pt. B, §6 (REV).]

2. Compliance. In addition to other qualifications for licensure or registration and conditions for
continuing eligibility to hold a license as prescribed by the various acts of the department, applicants
for licensure or registration, licensees renewing their licenses and existing licensees must also comply
with the requirements of Title 19-A, section 2201.

[PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §96 (RPR); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422
(AFF).]

3. Noncompliance with support order. An applicant for the issuance or renewal of a license or
an existing licensee who is not in compliance with a support order is subject to the requirements of
Title 19-A, section 2201.

[PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §96 (RPR); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422
(AFF).]

4. Suspension of license. If a license, permit or registration is suspended pursuant to Title 19-A,
section 2201, the suspension remains in effect until the person is in compliance with the support order.
On condition of payment of a $50 reinstatement fee to the department, the suspension is rescinded and
the license reinstated. The reinstatement fee must be deposited into the Landowner Relations Fund
established in section 10265.

[PL 2021, c. 411, §1 (AMD).]
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The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include
the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects
changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through January 1, 2025. The
text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the
Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our
goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to
preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the
public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.
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