CHAPTER 609

HAY

§3401. Cutting

A person who labors in cutting or harvesting hay has a lien on all the hay cut or harvested by that person and that person's co-laborers for the amount due for that person's personal services and the services performed by that person's team, which takes precedence of all other claims except liens reserved to the State, continues for 30 days after the last of such services are performed and may be enforced by attachment. [RR 2023, c. 2, Pt. C, §80 (COR).]

SECTION HISTORY

RR 2023, c. 2, Pt. C, §80 (COR).

§3402. Pressing

Whoever presses hay or straw has a lien on all the hay or straw so pressed for the amount due for such pressing, which takes precedence of all other claims except liens reserved to the State and the lien specified in section 3401 continues for 30 days after said pressing is completed, and may be enforced by attachment.

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through January 1, 2025. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.