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LD 10 Resolve, To Fund a Study Regarding Health Care for Maine's 

Firefighters  
DIED ON 

ADJOURNMENT
 
 

Sponsor(s)    Committee Report Amendments Adopted 
 OTP-AM       MAJ H-723    
 ONTP         MIN  

 
LD 10 proposed to appropriate $75,000 to the Maine Fire Protection Services Commission to contract for services 
to conduct a study regarding the provision of health care benefits to firefighters in this State. 
 
LD 10 was carried over by H.P. 1203 to the next regular or special session of the 122nd Legislature.  The Maine 
Fire Protection Services Commission, with the help of the Department of Administrative and Financial Services, 
Bureau of Health Insurance, was directed to work on the bill during that interim. 
 
Committee Amendment “A” (H-723) was the majority report of the Criminal Justice and Public Safety 
Committee.  The amendment proposed to amend the resolve to provide funding in fiscal year 2006-07 to the 
Maine Fire Protection Services Commission to conduct a study regarding the provision of health care benefits to 
firefighters in this State.  Committee Amendment “A” was never removed from the Special Appropriations Table 
and died on adjournment. 
 
 
LD 17 An Act To Ensure Fair Reimbursement for the Medical Care 

Provided to State Inmates  
DIED ON 

ADJOURNMENT
 
 

Sponsor(s)    Committee Report Amendments Adopted 
RECTOR OTP-AM       MAJ  

SNOWE-MELLO ONTP         MIN  
 
LD 17 proposed to repeal the language that established MaineCare rates as the reimbursement rate for medical 
services provided to state inmates outside of correctional or detention facilities.  By repealing this section, the bill 
proposed to require the State or its contracted medical provider to negotiate fair reimbursement rates for medical 
care provided to state inmates. 
 
Committee Amendment “A” (H-118) proposed to replace the bill and was the majority report of the Joint 
Standing Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety.  The amendment proposed to limit the damages that 
could be awarded against a medical service provider on a tort claim arising out of the provision of medical 
services to a person being held in a state, county or municipal correctional or detention facility and would have 
applied to services provided inside the facility and outside the facility.  This amendment would have been 
analogous to the provisions limiting damages awards against governmental employees and entities found in the 
Maine Tort Claims Act, including a provision that would make its limits applicable to wrongful death actions.  
The amendment also proposed to provide that the Maine Health Security Act's provisions, including those 
governing the mandatory prelitigation screening process, continue to apply. 
 
The amendment also proposed to require that a payment for a medical service provided to a person residing in a 
Department of Corrections facility that is provided outside the facility and for which the department or its 
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contracted medical provider is liable must be made within 30 days of receipt of proof of the service rendered.  
This amendment was not adopted. 
 
House Amendment “A” to Committee Amendment “A” (H-127) proposed to provide that the Department of 
Corrections or the department's contracted medical service provider shall pay to a provider of a medical service 
for a person residing in a correctional or detention facility an amount no less than 150% of the reimbursement rate 
applicable to that provider and that service as established for the Medicare program.  The amendment also 
proposed to add an appropriations and allocations section.  This amendment was not adopted. 
 
House Amendment “B” to Committee Amendment “A” (H-247) proposed to provide that the Department of 
Corrections or the department's contracted medical service provider shall pay to a provider of a medical service 
for a person residing in a correctional or detention facility an amount no less than 125% of the reimbursement rate 
applicable to that provider and that service as established for the Medicare program.  The amendment also 
proposed to add an appropriations and allocations section.  This amendment was not adopted. 
 
LD 17 was carried over on the Special Appropriations Table by S.P. 640 to the next special or regular session of 
the 122nd Legislature.  The bill was substituted for the Committee Amendment. 
 
LD 17 was never removed from the Special Appropriations Table and died on adjournment. 
 
 
LD 1018 An Act To Require a Criminal Background Check for the Initial 

Licensure of Emergency Medical Services Personnel  
PUBLIC 681

 
 

Sponsor(s)    Committee Report Amendments Adopted 
SYKES OTP-AM       MAJ H-472    

 OTP-AM       MIN  
 
LD 1018 proposed to specify that a criminal background check is required only for an applicant for initial 
licensure as an emergency medical services person.  For purposes of EMS licensing now, pursuant to board policy 
a person must renew a background check every 3 years.  The board is authorized by law to establish EMS 
licensing requirements. 
 
Committee Amendment “A” (H-472) was the majority report of the Joint Standing Committee on Criminal 
Justice and Public Safety.  The amendment proposed to clarify what is intended by a criminal history record check 
and  conform the language and the process to other statutes regarding the use of criminal history record 
information for employment or licensing purposes.  In order to ensure that all licensed emergency medical 
services providers are subject to a criminal history record check, the amendment also proposed to specify that 
those persons who already have a license to provide emergency medical services but never had a criminal history 
record check must submit to a check at the time they apply for license renewal.  Applicants who were subject to a 
criminal history record check at initial licensure would not be subject to a check at renewal. 
 
Committee Amendment “B” (H-473) was the minority report of the Joint Standing Committee on Criminal 
Justice and Public Safety.  The amendment proposed to clarify what is intended by a criminal history record check 
and conform the language and the process to other statutes regarding the use of criminal history record 
information for employment or licensing purposes.  This amendment was not adopted. 
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LD 1018 was carried over on the Special Appropriations Table by S.P. 640 to the next special or regular session 
of the 122nd Legislature.  LD 1018 was removed from the Special Appropriations Table and enacted. 
 
Enacted law summary 
 
Public Law 2005, chapter 681 specifies that a criminal background check is required only for an applicant for 
initial licensure as an emergency medical services person.  For purposes of EMS licensing until now, pursuant to 
board policy a person was required to renew a background check every 3 years.  Public Law 2005, chapter 681 
supersedes this board-adopted licensing requirement.  Public Law 2005, chapter 681 also clarifies what is 
intended by a criminal history record check and conforms the language and the process to other statutes regarding 
the use of criminal history record information for employment or licensing purposes.  In order to ensure that all 
licensed emergency medical services providers are subject to a criminal history record check, Public Law 2005, 
chapter 681 also specifies that those persons who already have a license to provide emergency medical services 
but never had a criminal history record check must submit to a check at the time they apply for license renewal.   
 
 
LD 1140 Resolve, Directing the State Police and the County Sheriff's 

Departments To Enter into a Call-sharing Agreement  
ONTP

 
 

Sponsor(s)    Committee Report Amendments Adopted 
MCKENNEY ONTP         MAJ  

 OTP-AM       MIN  
 
LD 1140 proposed to direct the Department of Public Safety, Bureau of State Police and the county sheriff's 
departments to enter into a call-sharing agreement. 
 
Committee Amendment “A” (H-724) was the minority report of the Joint Standing Committee on Criminal 
Justice and Public Safety.  The amendment proposed to direct the Department of Public Safety, Bureau of State 
Police to enter into a call-sharing agreement with each county sheriff's department.  In order to recognize the 
different levels of staffing and the law enforcement needs of each county, the amendment proposed to authorize 
the parties to base each agreement on factors that are mutually agreeable to each party.  Instead of requiring the 
call-sharing agreement to be restricted only to assigning responsibility of 1/2 of the coverage to the county for a 
period and 1/2 to the State Police and then switching, the amendment proposed to give the parties the flexibility to 
determine what would work best in each county.  The amendment also proposed to add a mandate preamble.  This 
amendment was not adopted. 
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LD 1709 An Act To Provide for the Issuance of a Bench Warrant upon 

Failure To Appear for a Hearing on Nonpayment of a County Jail 
Reimbursement Fee  

PUBLIC 502

 
 

Sponsor(s)    Committee Report Amendments Adopted 
CROSTHWAITE OTP-AM        H-792    

RAYE   
 
LD 1709 proposed that if a person’s default on payment of jail reimbursement fees is a violation of a condition of 
probation, that probation may be revoked, and that if a payment of the fee is not a condition of probation, the 
State may file a motion to enforce payment of the fee.  LD 1709 also proposed to provide for the issuance of a 
bench warrant in the event that a defendant does not appear after notice of a hearing on a motion to enforce 
payment of a jail reimbursement fee.  LD 1709 proposed to conform the language regarding collection of jail 
reimbursement fees to the language regarding actions to collect unpaid fines and unpaid restitution. 
 
Committee Amendment “A” (H-792) proposed to insert “attorney for the county” where appropriate in the 
Maine Revised Statutes, Title 17-A, section 1341, subsections 5 and 6.  This change proposed to authorize those 
counties that “outsource” legal work to use private counsel instead of the district attorney's office to handle the 
defaulted jail reimbursement fees.  The amendment also proposed to delete ambiguous language regarding the 
procedure for reporting to the court.  This proposed change would eliminate confusion regarding the action 
required of the courts if an attorney for the State or an attorney for the county reported a default but did not file a 
motion. 
 
Enacted law summary 
 
Public Law 2005, chapter 502 specifies that if a person’s default on payment of jail reimbursement fees is a 
violation of a condition of probation, that probation may be revoked.  If a payment of the fee is not a condition of 
probation, the attorney for the county may file a motion to enforce payment of the fee.  Public Law 2005, chapter 
502 also provides for the issuance of a bench warrant in the event that a defendant does not appear after notice of 
a hearing on a motion to enforce payment of a jail reimbursement fee.  Public Law 2005, chapter 502 eliminates 
ambiguity in the law and conforms the language regarding collection of jail reimbursement fees to the language 
regarding actions to collect unpaid fines and unpaid restitution. 
 
 
LD 1716 An Act To Require Presentence Investigations of All Persons 

Convicted of a Sex Offense  
ONTP

 
 

Sponsor(s)    Committee Report Amendments Adopted 
 ONTP           

 
LD 1716 proposed to require that every person who is convicted of a sex offense under the Maine Revised 
Statutes, Title 17-A, chapter 11 or 12, undergo a presentence investigation conducted by the Department of 
Corrections prior to the court’s imposing a sentence. 
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LD 1717 An Act Regarding the Sentencing of Persons Convicted of Gross 
Sexual Assault against Victims under 12 Years of Age  

PUBLIC 673

 
 

Sponsor(s)    Committee Report Amendments Adopted 
 OTP-AM       MAJ H-1058   
 OTP-AM       MIN  

 
LD 1717 proposed to create a 25-year minimum mandatory sentence of imprisonment followed by probation for 
life for persons convicted of gross sexual assault against persons who have not attained 12 years of age and to 
require that these persons, when released from prison, be subject to supervision by the Department of Corrections 
that includes electronic monitoring for the duration of the probation.  The bill also proposed to create a mandatory 
life sentence of imprisonment for a person convicted of gross sexual assault against another person who has not 
attained 12 years of age if that person has a prior conviction for gross sexual assault, rape or gross sexual 
misconduct against a victim who had not attained 12 years of age. 
Committee Amendment “C” (H-1058) was the final majority report of the Joint Standing Committee on 
Criminal Justice and Public Safety.  This amendment was adopted after the bill was recommitted to the 
committee.  This amendment proposed to replace the bill and to make the following changes to the sentencing 
laws. 
 
The amendment proposed to amend the Maine Revised Statutes, Title 17-A, chapter 50, which deals with the 
supervised release of sex offenders, by specifying that supervised release is not discretionary but required for 
persons convicted of committing gross sexual assault against a person under 12 years of age.  The period of 
supervised release commences on the date the person is released from confinement, runs for the duration of the 
person's life and must include the best available monitoring technology.  The amendment also proposed to specify 
that if the court revokes a period of supervised release, the court shall require the person to serve time in prison 
under the custody of the Department of Corrections.  This time in prison may equal all or part of the period of 
supervised release, without credit for time served on post-release supervision and without any limitations based 
on the prior term of imprisonment, as current law requires.  The remaining portion of the period of supervised 
release that is not required to be served in prison remains in effect to be served after the person's release and again 
is subject to revocation, if warranted. 
 
The amendment also proposed to specify that if the State pleads and proves that the crime of gross sexual assault 
was committed against a person who had not yet attained 12 years of age, the court shall impose a definite term of 
imprisonment for any term of years.  In determining the basic term of imprisonment as the first step in the 
sentencing process, pursuant to Title 17-A, section 1252-C, subsection 1, the amendment proposed that the court 
shall select a term of at least 20 years. 
 
Committee Amendment “D” (H-1059) was the minority report of the Joint Standing Committee on Criminal 
Justice and Public Safety after the bill was recommitted to the committee.  This amendment was the same 
amendment as the minority report, Committee Amendment “A” (H-794) and was not adopted. 
 
Committee Amendment “A” (H-794) was one of 2 initial minority reports of the Joint Standing Committee on 
Criminal Justice and Public Safety.  The amendment proposed to correct a drafting error in the bill in order to 
reflect the bill's original intent, which was to create a 25-year minimum mandatory sentence of imprisonment 
followed by probation for life for a first offense gross sexual assault against a person who has not attained 12 
years of age.  This amendment was not adopted. 
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Committee Amendment “B” (H-795) proposed to replace the bill and was one of 2 initial minority reports of the 
Joint Standing Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety.  The amendment proposed to create at least a 
25-year minimum mandatory sentence of imprisonment for a 2nd offense of gross sexual assault against a person 
who has not attained 12 years of age.  This amendment was not adopted. 
 
House Amendment “A” (H-837) proposed to replace the bill and to make the following changes to the 
sentencing laws. 
 
1. The amendment proposed to direct the court to impose a sentencing alternative of a term of imprisonment for 

any term of years or a term of life for a person convicted of committing gross sexual assault against a person 
who has not attained 12 years of age. 

 
2. The amendment proposed to require that, if a person does not receive a sentence of imprisonment for life for 

committing gross sexual assault against a person who has not attained 12 years of age, the court shall then 
impose a period of supervised release for life following the period of imprisonment.  For this offense, a 
person would be sentenced to supervised release instead of having a sentencing alternative of probation. 

 
3. The amendment proposed to amend the Maine Revised Statutes, Title 17-A, chapter 50, which deals with the 

supervised release for sex offenders, by specifying that supervised release after release from prison is not 
discretionary but required for persons convicted of committing gross sexual assault against a person under 12 
years of age.  The amendment also specifies that if the court revoked a period of supervised release the court 
would have to require the person to serve time in prison under the custody of the Department of Corrections.  
This time in prison could equal all or part of the period of supervised release, without credit for time served 
on post-release supervision and without any limitations based on the prior term of imprisonment, as current 
law requires.  The remaining portion of the period of supervised release that was not required to be served in 
prison would remain in effect to be served after the person's release and again would be repeatedly subject to 
revocation, if warranted.  This amendment was not adopted. 

 
House Amendment “A” to Committee Amendment “A” (H-1021) proposed to replace the bill with the 
essential elements of LD 2108. 
 
As amended, the bill proposed to require a court, in a case involving gross sexual assault against a victim who has 
not yet attained 12 years of age, to specify a term of imprisonment for any term of years, including a term that 
exceeds 30 years, which is the maximum allowed for a Class A crime.  In making its determination, the court 
would be required to start with a basic period of imprisonment of 20 years; using that term as a starting point, the 
court could then increase or decrease the term of imprisonment based upon all other relevant sentencing factors, 
both aggravating and mitigating, appropriate to that case.  These sentencing factors include, but are not limited to, 
the character of the offender and the offender's criminal history, the effect of the offense on the victim and the 
protection of the public interest. 
 
This amendment also proposed to impose probation for life for persons convicted of gross sexual assault against 
persons who have not attained 12 years of age and to require that these persons, when released from prison, be 
subject to supervision by the Department of Corrections that includes electronic monitoring for the duration of the 
probation.  This amendment was not adopted. 
 
House Amendment “A” to Committee Amendment “C” (H-1062) proposed to create a 25-year minimum 
mandatory sentence of imprisonment followed by probation for life for persons convicted of gross sexual assault 
against persons who have not attained 12 years of age and to require that these persons, when released from 
prison, be subject to supervision by the Department of Corrections that includes electronic monitoring for the 
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duration of the probation.  The amendment also proposed to create a mandatory life sentence of imprisonment for 
a person convicted of gross sexual assault against another person who has not attained 12 years of age if that 
person has a prior conviction for gross sexual assault, rape or gross sexual misconduct against a victim who had 
not attained 12 years of age.  This amendment was not adopted. 
 
House Amendment “B” (H-970) proposed to replace the bill and create the new crime of aggravated gross 
sexual assault.  A person would have been guilty of aggravated gross sexual assault if that person engaged in a 
sexual act with another person who had not yet attained 12 years of age and who submitted as a result of the use 
of physical force, a threat to use physical force or a combination thereof that made the other person unable to 
physically repel the actor or produced in that other person a reasonable fear that death, serious bodily injury or 
kidnapping might be imminently inflicted upon that other person or another human being.  The amendment 
proposed that a violation of aggravated gross sexual assault would be subject to a minimum sentence of 
incarceration of 25 years, none of which could be suspended.  When released from prison, a person convicted of 
aggravated gross sexual assault would be subject to supervision, including electronic monitoring, by the 
Department of Corrections for the duration of the probation.  This amendment was not adopted. 
 
House Amendment “B” to Committee Amendment “C” (H-1070) proposed to prohibit a person who is 
convicted and sentenced as a 10-year registrant or as a lifetime registrant under the Sex Offender Registration and 
Notification Act of 1999 from establishing or maintaining a residence or a domicile in a municipality that does 
not have its own police department or other law enforcement agency that is capable of responding to any call 
within 5 minutes.  This amendment was not adopted. 
 
House Amendment “C” (H-978) proposed to retain the mandatory minimum sentences of imprisonment 
specified in the bill of 25 years for a person who is convicted of gross sexual assault when the victim is less than 
12 years of age and life for a repeat offender, except that this amendment proposed to allow the court to impose a 
minimum sentence of 10 years for a first-time offender and a minimum sentence of 25 years for a repeat offender 
if the prosecuting attorney and the legal guardian of the victim submit a statement that, while a longer term of 
imprisonment is appropriate, the harm to the victim from requiring the victim to testify exceeds the benefit to 
society of incarcerating the defendant for a longer period of time.  This amendment was not adopted. 
 
House Amendment “C” to Committee Amendment “C” (H-1071) proposed to change the names of the crimes 
of gross sexual assault and sexual abuse of a minor to rape and child molestation.  The amendment also proposed 
to require the Department of Public Safety, State Bureau of Identification to distribute information contained in 
the sex offender registry to town clerks of towns that do not have police departments.  The amendment also 
proposed to require a law enforcement agency to notify the bureau by electronic mail if the law enforcement 
agency has a registrant in its custody.  This amendment was not adopted. 
 
House Amendment “D” (H-979) proposed to strike the provisions of the bill that apply a 25-year sentence of 
imprisonment to a person who commits gross sexual assault against a victim who has not yet attained 12 years of 
age and a life sentence of imprisonment for a person who has previously been convicted of committing gross 
sexual assault against a victim who has not yet attained 12 years of age.  Under the bill, neither sentence may be 
suspended by the court. 
 
The amendment proposed instead to authorize a term of imprisonment for any term of years, including a term that 
exceeds 30 years, the maximum term of imprisonment for a Class A crime. 
 
This amendment proposed to specify that the basic period of imprisonment for a person who commits gross 
sexual assault against a victim who has not yet attained 12 years of age is 20 years.  Under current law, the court 
may increase or decrease the term of imprisonment based upon all other relevant sentencing factors, both 
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aggravating and mitigating, appropriate to that case.  These sentencing factors include, but are not limited to, the 
character of the offender and the offender's criminal history, the effect of the offense on the victim and the 
protection of the public interest.  This amendment was not adopted. 
 
House Amendment “D” to Committee Amendment “C” (H-1072) proposed to prohibit a registrant under the 
Sex Offender Registration and Notification Act of 1999 from residing within 1,000 feet of the residence of any 
child, a school, a licensed child care facility, a certified home day care provider or a playground.  This amendment 
was not adopted. 
 
House Amendment “E” to Committee Amendment “C” (H-1073) proposed to provide a procedure for the 
commitment of a person determined to be a sexually violent predator if a court finds that the person has a mental 
abnormality or personality disorder that makes it likely that the person will engage in predatory acts of sexual 
violence if not confined in a secure facility.  The amendment proposed to provide protections, care and treatment 
to a person who is committed and to provide an annual review of each case.  The amendment proposed that notice 
of release or discharge is required for victims, witnesses and other persons identified by the prosecuting attorney.  
This amendment proposed to designate the Commissioner of Corrections and the Commissioner of Health and 
Human Services as responsible for providing secure facilities for sexually violent predators.  This amendment 
proposed to coordinate release from a secure facility for sexually violent predators with supervised release for sex 
offenders under the Maine Revised Statutes, Title 17-A, chapter 50.  The amendment also proposed to add an 
appropriations and allocations section.  This amendment was not adopted. 
 
House Amendment “F” to Committee Amendment “C” (H-1075) proposed to create the new crime of 
aggravated gross sexual assault.  A person would have been guilty of aggravated gross sexual assault if that 
person engaged in a sexual act with another person who had not yet attained 12 years of age and who submitted as 
a result of the use of physical force, a threat to use physical force or a combination thereof that made the other 
person unable to physically repel the actor or produced in that other person a reasonable fear that death, serious 
bodily injury or kidnapping might be imminently inflicted upon that other person or another human being.  The 
amendment proposed that a violation of aggravated gross sexual assault would be subject to a minimum sentence 
of incarceration of 25 years, none of which could be suspended.  When released from prison, a person convicted 
of aggravated gross sexual assault would be subject to supervision, including electronic monitoring, by the 
Department of Corrections for the duration of the probation.  This amendment was not adopted. 
 
Enacted law summary 
 
Public Law 2005, chapter 673 amends the Maine Revised Statutes, Title 17-A, chapter 50, which deals with the 
supervised release of sex offenders, by specifying that supervised release is not discretionary but required for 
persons convicted of committing gross sexual assault against a person under 12 years of age.  The period of 
supervised release commences on the date the person is released from confinement, runs for the duration of the 
person's life and must include the best available monitoring technology.  Public Law 2005, chapter 673 specifies 
that if the court revokes a period of supervised release, the court shall require the person to serve time in prison 
under the custody of the Department of Corrections.  This time in prison may equal all or part of the period of 
supervised release, without credit for time served on post-release supervision and without any limitations based 
on the prior term of imprisonment, as current law requires.  The remaining portion of the period of supervised 
release that is not required to be served in prison remains in effect to be served after the person's release and again 
is subject to revocation, if warranted. 
 
Public Law 2005, chapter 673 also specifies that if the State pleads and proves that the crime of gross sexual 
assault was committed against a person who had not yet attained 12 years of age, the court shall impose a definite 
term of imprisonment for any term of years.  In determining the basic term of imprisonment as the first step in the 
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sentencing process, pursuant to Title 17-A, section 1252-C, subsection 1, the court shall select a term of at least 
20 years. 
 
 
LD 1718 An Act To Amend the Law Relating to the Crime of Visual Sexual 

Aggression against a Child  
PUBLIC 655

 
 

Sponsor(s)    Committee Report Amendments Adopted 
 OTP-AM        H-766    
  H-826   BLANCHETTE 

 
LD 1718 proposed to amend the violation of privacy law to make it a Class C crime if the victim of the crime has 
not in fact attained 16 years of age at the time of the offense.  Violation of privacy is currently a Class D crime. 
 
Committee Amendment “A” (H-766) proposed to replace the bill and amend the crime of visual sexual 
aggression against a child, instead of amending the crime of violation of privacy.  This amendment proposed to 
create a new version of visual sexual aggression against a child that requires that, for the purpose of arousing or 
gratifying sexual desire, a person at least 18 years of age intentionally engages in visual surveillance, aided or 
unaided by mechanical or electronic equipment, of the uncovered breasts, buttocks, genitals, anus or pubic area of 
another person in a private place.  The crime also proposed to provide that the victim is not the actor's spouse and 
has not in fact attained 14 years of age, and that the act is carried out under circumstances in which a reasonable 
person would expect to be safe from such visual surveillance.  The amendment proposed that the new crime is a 
Class D crime, unless committed against a person who has not attained 12 years of age, in which case it is a Class 
C crime. 
 
The crime of visual sexual aggression against a child falls within chapter 11 of the Maine Criminal Code, which 
means that a person convicted of the Class D version, as well as the Class C version of this crime, may be subject 
to the sentencing alternative of probation.  As proposed this amendment also makes the person convicted of this 
prohibited conduct subject to the requirements of the Sex Offender Registration and Notification Act of 1999. 
 
House Amendment “A” to Committee Amendment “A” (H-826) proposed to restore language that was 
inadvertently omitted from the committee amendment. 
 
Enacted law summary 
 
Public Law 2005, chapter 655 creates a new version of visual sexual aggression against a child that requires that, 
for the purpose of arousing or gratifying sexual desire, a person at least 18 years of age intentionally engages in 
visual surveillance, aided or unaided by mechanical or electronic equipment, of the uncovered breasts, buttocks, 
genitals, anus or pubic area of another person in a private place.  The crime also provides that the victim is not the 
actor's spouse and has not in fact attained 14 years of age, and that the act is carried out under circumstances in 
which a reasonable person would expect to be safe from such visual surveillance.  This new crime is a Class D 
crime, unless committed against a person who has not attained 12 years of age, in which case it is a Class C crime. 
 
The crime of visual sexual aggression against a child falls within chapter 11 of the Maine Criminal Code, which 
means that a person convicted of the Class D version, as well as the Class C version of this crime, may be subject 
to the sentencing alternative of probation.  This amendment also makes the person convicted of this prohibited 
conduct subject to the requirements of the Sex Offender Registration and Notification Act of 1999. 
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LD 1721 Resolve, Creating a Forensic Board To Manage the Release of 

Certain Sex Offenders  
RESOLVE 132

 
 

Sponsor(s)    Committee Report Amendments Adopted 
 OTP            

 
LD 1721 proposed to direct the Department of Corrections, in cooperation with the Department of Health and 
Human Services, the judiciary branch and other interested parties, to develop a plan to create a forensic board to 
periodically review the safety of releasing persons convicted of certain sex offenses after those persons have 
served at least a minimum number of years of imprisonment.  LD 1721 proposed that the Department of 
Corrections would recommend persons to serve on the forensic board and would recommend processes for the 
board to employ, including the use of recognized risk assessment tools and other measurements and standards, to 
determine whether a person would be appropriately released and under what conditions or to determine that the 
person must continue to remain incarcerated until the next forensic review.  In addition to making 
recommendations regarding the development of a forensic board, the bill proposed that the Department of 
Corrections would identify the types of treatment that persons convicted of sex offenses receive while 
incarcerated and any data measuring the success and failure of such treatments.  The bill proposed to direct the 
Department of Corrections to report its findings and recommendations, including proposed legislation to 
implement a forensic board, to the joint standing committee of the Legislature having jurisdiction over criminal 
justice and public safety matters by December 30, 2006. 
 
Enacted law summary 
 
Resolve 2005, chapter 132 directs the Department of Corrections, in cooperation with the Department of Health 
and Human Services, the judiciary branch and other interested parties, to develop a plan to create a forensic board 
to periodically review the safety of releasing persons convicted of certain sex offenses after those persons have 
served at least a minimum number of years of imprisonment.  The Department of Corrections will recommend 
persons to serve on the forensic board and will recommend processes for the board to employ, including the use 
of recognized risk assessment tools and other measurements and standards, to determine whether a person is 
appropriately released and under what conditions or to determine that the person must continue to remain 
incarcerated until the next forensic review.  In addition to making recommendations regarding the development of 
a forensic board, the Department of Corrections must identify the types of treatment that persons convicted of sex 
offenses are receiving while incarcerated and any data measuring the success and failure of such treatments.  
Resolve 2005, chapter 132 directs the Department of Corrections to report its findings and recommendations, 
including proposed legislation to implement a forensic board, to the joint standing committee of the Legislature 
having jurisdiction over criminal justice and public safety matters by December 30, 2006. 
 
 
LD 1722 An Act To Expand the List of Prior Crimes That May Be 

Considered When Determining Whether a Person Is a Repeat 
Sexual Assault Offender  

ONTP

 
 

Sponsor(s)    Committee Report Amendments Adopted 
 ONTP           
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LD 1772 proposed to expand the list of prior crimes in the definition of “repeat sexual assault offender” to include 
offenses that were initially charged by the prosecuting attorney as gross sexual assault, gross sexual misconduct, 
rape, attempted murder accompanied by sexual assault or murder accompanied by sexual assault, but the 
conviction was for a different crime. 
 
 
LD 1759 An Act To Strengthen Maine's Timber Theft Laws  PUBLIC 546
 
 

Sponsor(s)    Committee Report Amendments Adopted 
NUTTING J OTP-AM        S-517    

 
LD 1759 proposed to require that a copy of the measurement tally sheet or stumpage sheet for each truckload or 
harvested forest products transported to a handling or processing facility, in accordance with Title 10, section 
2364-A, subsection 2-G, be provided to the landowner when the person conducting a harvest operation pays the 
landowner.  The bill proposed that full payment for each truckload of harvested forest products transported to a 
handling or processing facility must be made to the landowner within 30 days of delivery. 
 
LD 1759 proposed to establish a penalty of not less than $300 for the first offense and a fine of $500 for any 
subsequent offense within 5 years of the first offense.  The bill also proposed to make it a Class E crime if a 
person violates the section 2 or more times within 5 years. 
 
Committee Amendment “A” (S-517) proposed to replace the bill and to do the following: 
 
1. Clarify definition provisions; 
 
2. Specify that, absent a written contract to the contrary, the person conducting the harvest operation shall 

provide the landowner with full payment for each truckload of harvested forest products transported to a 
handling or processing facility within 45 days of delivery; 

 
3. Redraft the penalty section to establish a fine of not more than $1,000 for the first violation, a fine of not more 

than $2,000 for a 2nd violation within a 5-year period and a Class E crime if a person commits a violation 3 
or more times within a 5-year period;  

 
4. Create a restitution provision, which directs the court in accordance with the requirements of the Maine 

Revised Statutes, Title 17-A, chapter 54, when appropriate, to order restitution on the basis of an adequate 
factual foundation.  The amendment proposed that the amount of restitution may be determined by using the 
measured volume of the harvested forest products as listed on the measurement tally sheet or stumpage sheet 
in accordance with Title 10, section 2364-A, subsection 2 and by the terms of the sales contract according to 
the measurement procedures set forth in Title 10, section 2363-A that are applicable to a sale of wood; and  

 
5. Direct the Commissioner of Conservation to report by March 1, 2008 to the joint standing committee of the 

Legislature having jurisdiction over criminal justice matters, observations regarding the effectiveness of the 
new penalties in deterring timber theft. 

 
Enacted law summary 
 
Public Law 2005, chapter 546 specifies that, absent a written contract to the contrary, a person conducting a forest 
harvest operation shall provide the landowner with full payment for each truckload of harvested forest products 



Joint Standing Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety 
 
 

12 • Criminal Justice and Public Safety Office of Policy and Legal Analysis 

transported to a handling or processing facility within 45 days of delivery.  Public Law 2005, chapter 546 
establishes a fine of not more than $1,000 for the first violation, a fine of not more than $2,000 for a 2nd violation 
within a 5-year period and a Class E crime if a person commits a violation 3 or more times within a 5-year period.  
Public Law 2005, chapter 546 also creates a restitution provision, which directs the court in accordance with the 
requirements of the Maine Revised Statutes, Title 17-A, chapter 54, when appropriate, to order restitution on the 
basis of an adequate factual foundation.  The amount of restitution may be determined by using the measured 
volume of the harvested forest products as listed on the measurement tally sheet or stumpage sheet in accordance 
with Title 10, section 2364-A, subsection 2 and by the terms of the sales contract according to the measurement 
procedures set forth in Title 10, section 2363-A that are applicable to a sale of wood.  Finally, Public Law 2005, 
chapter 546 directs the Commissioner of Conservation to report by March 1, 2008 to the joint standing committee 
of the Legislature having jurisdiction over criminal justice matters observations regarding the effectiveness of the 
new penalties in deterring timber theft. 
 
 
LD 1771 An Act To Amend the Maine Criminal Code and Various 

Provisions Related to Juveniles  
PUBLIC 507

 
 

Sponsor(s)    Committee Report Amendments Adopted 
DIAMOND OTP-AM       MAJ S-472    

 ONTP         MIN  
 
LD 1771 was a Department of Corrections bill that proposed to do the following: 
 
1. Eliminate confusion in the law by substituting in Title 15 and Titles 12 and 29-A concerning juveniles 

convicted of adult offenses the term “confinement” for the term “detention” when referring to a certain 
disposition.  “Detention” refers to pre-adjudication or pre-conviction placement.  “Confinement” refers to 
short term placement flowing a conviction or adjudication.  “Commitment” refers to indeterminate 
correctional placement after adjudication for a juvenile offense.  The bill also proposed to clarify the 
definition of “juvenile client” to capture all of these classifications of status; 

 
2. Require that any credits for related time served in detention prior to sentencing be deducted from any order of 

confinement; however, good time provisions do not apply to detention for juveniles; 
 

3. Specify that persons who are arrested on a juvenile warrant but are more than 21 years of age at the time of 
the arrest are to be detained in adult facilities until they appear before the court.  Current law requires persons 
arrested on a juvenile warrant to be detained in juvenile facilities, but current law also specifies that juvenile 
facilities may not house persons over 18 years of age.  The bill proposed to clarify that a person over 21 must 
be detained with adults, and if a juvenile who is between 18 and 21 years of age is bound over, detention with 
adults will continue to occur, if ordered by the court;   

 
4. Clarify in Title 15 that the bail process is not available for a person under 18 years of age charged with an 

adult Title 12 or 29-A offense; however, juveniles are still subject to the rules of detention in the Juvenile 
Code; 

 
5. Apply the pre-petition confidentiality provisions to juvenile crimes relating to the operation of a motor 

vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or drugs.  This change proposed to clarify that the confidentiality 
provision regarding a juvenile against whom a petition has not been filed applies also to those juveniles 
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against whom a petition may be filed without a recommendation from a juvenile community corrections 
officer; 

 
6. Add to the Juvenile Code a cross-reference to a Criminal Code restitution provision that was recently enacted 

regarding joint and several responsibility, so that joint and several responsibility also applies to restitution in 
juvenile cases; 

 
7. Add a cross-reference in the fine provision of the Maine Juvenile Code to a recently enacted juvenile crime 

law and clarify that mandatory minimum fine provisions are not applicable to juveniles; 
 
8. Clarify in Title 17-A that when the running of the period of probation is tolled due to pending probation 

violation proceedings, the conditions of probation continue to apply during the tolled period; and  
 
9. Codify in Title 17-A the Law Court's ruling that when there are consecutive sentences, detention time can 

only be counted once; this would also apply to probation revocations. 
 
Committee Amendment “A” (S-472) was the majority report of the Joint Standing Committee on Criminal 
Justice and Public Safety.  The amendment proposed to add the term “confined” in a provision that was 
inadvertently omitted from the bill.  The amendment also proposed to add language to the Maine Bail Code that is 
consistent with the change proposed by the bill to the Maine Juvenile Code, making it clear that the bail process is 
not available for a juvenile charged with an adult crime under the Maine Revised Statutes, Title 12 or 29-A. 
 
Enacted law summary 
 
Public Law 2005, chapter 507 was proposed by the Department of Corrections and makes changes to the Maine 
Juvenile Code, Criminal Code and Bail Code.  The changes are as follows. 
 
To eliminate confusion, Public Law 2005, chapter 507 substitutes in Title 15 and Titles 12 and 29-A concerning 
juveniles convicted of adult offenses the term “confinement” for the term “detention” when referring to a certain 
disposition.  “Detention” refers to pre-adjudication or pre-conviction placement.  “Confinement” refers to short 
term placement flowing a conviction or adjudication.  “Commitment” refers to indeterminate correctional 
placement after adjudication for a juvenile offense. 
 
Public Law 2005, chapter 507 requires that any credits for related time served in detention prior to sentencing be 
deducted from any order of confinement.  Good time provisions do not apply to detention for juveniles. 

 
Public Law 2005, chapter 507 specifies that persons who are arrested on a juvenile warrant but are more than 21 
years of age at the time of the arrest are to be detained in adult facilities until they appear before the court.  Public 
Law 2005, chapter 507 clarifies that a person over 21 must be detained with adults, and if a juvenile who is 
between 18 and 21 years of age is bound over, detention with adults will continue to occur, if ordered by the 
court.   
  
Public Law 2005, chapter 507 clarifies that the bail process is not available for a person less than 18 years of age 
charged with an adult Title 12 or Title 29-A offense; however, juveniles are still subject to the rules of detention 
in the Juvenile Code.   
 
Public Law 2005, chapter 507 applies the pre-petition confidentiality provisions to juvenile crimes relating to the 
operation of a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or drugs.  The confidentiality provision 



Joint Standing Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety 
 
 

14 • Criminal Justice and Public Safety Office of Policy and Legal Analysis 

regarding a juvenile against whom a petition has not been filed applies also to those juveniles against whom a 
petition may be filed without a recommendation from a juvenile community corrections officer. 
 
Public Law 2005, chapter 507 adds to the Juvenile Code a cross-reference to a Criminal Code restitution 
provision that was recently enacted regarding joint and several responsibility, as joint and several responsibility 
also applies to restitution in juvenile cases. 
 
Public Law 2005, chapter 507 adds a cross-reference in the fine provision of the Maine Juvenile Code to a 
recently enacted juvenile crime law and clarifies that mandatory minimum fine provisions are not applicable to 
juveniles.  
 
Public Law 2005, chapter 507 clarifies in Title 17-A that when the running of the period of probation is tolled due 
to pending probation violation proceedings, the conditions of probation continue to apply during the tolled period. 
 
Public Law 2005, chapter 507 codifies in Title 17-A the Law Court's ruling that when there are consecutive 
sentences, detention time can only be counted once; this interpretation also applies to probation revocations. 
 
 
LD 1781 An Act To Require Mandatory Training for Law Enforcement 

Officers and Prosecutors Regarding Interaction with People with 
Developmental Disabilities, Including Autism Spectrum Disorders  

ONTP

 
 

Sponsor(s)    Committee Report Amendments Adopted 
BARTLETT ONTP           

 
LD 1781 proposed to require the Board of Trustees of the Maine Criminal Justice Academy to include in the basic 
law enforcement mandatory training and the next available schedule of recertification training for law 
enforcement officers a block of instruction aimed at identifying and safely interacting with persons with 
developmental disabilities, reducing barriers to reporting crimes against people with developmental disabilities 
and addressing the challenges posed by cases that involve persons with developmental disabilities.  The bill also 
proposed to require prosecutors to annually complete one hour of continuing legal education covering the same 
topics. 
 
Although LD 1781 did not pass, the Maine Criminal Justice Academy plans to incorporate the training for law 
enforcement officers proposed in the bill into its curriculum.  The joint standing committee having jurisdiction 
over criminal justice and public safety matters also anticipates a report back from a work group convened by the 
Maine Developmental Disabilities Council.  The work group will include advocates and providers for persons 
with developmental disabilities.  The group will share with the 123rd Legislature its recommendations regarding 
developing and implementing policy for training of law enforcement officers, other criminal justice and public 
safety officials and health care providers to help ensure equal access to and protection within the criminal justice 
and public safety systems for persons with developmental disabilities. 
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LD 1789 An Act To Amend the Crime of Aggravated Criminal Mischief  PUBLIC 660
 
 

Sponsor(s)    Committee Report Amendments Adopted 
NUTTING J OTP-AM       MAJ S-504    

 ONTP         MIN  
 
LD 1789 proposed to expand the current crime of terrorizing to establish the Class C crime of “environmental 
terrorizing.”  The bill proposed that a person is guilty of this crime if the person commits a crime of violence 
dangerous to human life or destructive to property or business practices for the purpose of protesting the practice 
of a person or business with respect to a natural resource or environmental issue, and the act causes injury in fact 
to a person or damage to property or a business or purposefully causes a significant interruption in business or 
loss of products that results in loss of revenues or in compensable damages.  The bill proposed to specify that the 
new crime does not apply to a person who is protesting during a labor dispute, a strike or a lockout at a business.   
 
Committee Amendment “A” (S-504) was the majority report of the Joint Standing Committee on Criminal 
Justice and Public Safety and proposed to add to the Class C crime of aggravated criminal mischief a new form.  
To satisfy this new form, the amendment proposed that the State must prove beyond a reasonable doubt both that 
the actor intentionally damaged, destroyed or tampered with the property of another, having no reasonable ground 
to believe that the person had a right to do so, and that at the time of the actor's actions the actor's motive was to 
cause substantial harm to the health, safety, business, calling, career, financial condition, reputation or personal 
relationships of the person with the property interest or any other person.  This list of harmful motives is modeled 
after the crime of theft by extortion in the Maine Revised Statutes, Title 17-A, section 355. 
 
Senate Amendment “A” to Committee Amendment “A” (S-605) proposed to specify that a person commits 
aggravated criminal mischief if the person intentionally damages, destroys or tampers with the property of 
another, having no reasonable ground to believe that the person has a right to do so, for the purpose of harming 
substantially any other person with respect to that person's health, safety, business, calling, career, financial 
condition, reputation or personal relationships.  This amendment was not adopted. 
 
Enacted law summary 
 
Public Law 2005, chapter 660 adds to the Class C crime of aggravated criminal mischief a new form.  To satisfy 
this new form the State must prove beyond a reasonable doubt both that the actor intentionally damaged, 
destroyed or tampered with the property of another, having no reasonable ground to believe that the person had a 
right to do so, and that at the time of the actor's actions the actor's motive was to cause substantial harm to the 
health, safety, business, calling, career, financial condition, reputation or personal relationships of the person with 
the property interest or any other person.  This list of harmful motives is modeled after the crime of theft by 
extortion in the Maine Revised Statutes, Title 17-A, section 355. 
 
 
LD 1810 An Act Regarding Criminal History Record Checks  ONTP
 
 

Sponsor(s)    Committee Report Amendments Adopted 
DUNN ONTP           

 



Joint Standing Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety 
 
 

16 • Criminal Justice and Public Safety Office of Policy and Legal Analysis 

LD 1810 proposed to require the State Bureau of Identification within the State Police under the Department of 
Safety to establish procedures by rule to ensure that information that is released as part of a criminal history 
record check is current and valid, identifies the correct individual and is released in accordance with law. 
 
 
LD 1825 An Act To Amend the Rule-making Authority of the 

Commissioner of Public Safety Regarding the Construction, 
Installation, Maintenance and Inspection of Chimneys, Fireplaces, 
Vents and Solid Fuel Burning Appliances  

PUBLIC 571
EMERGENCY

 
 

Sponsor(s)    Committee Report Amendments Adopted 
THOMAS OTP-AM        H-943    

 
LD 1825 proposed to provide that a municipal fire department, volunteer fire association or fire ward that inspects 
a chimney or wood stove or any other heating device or appliance may not be held liable for any claim arising 
from death or injury or damage to property if any alterations are made to the chimney or wood stove or any other 
heating device or appliance after the inspection has taken place. 
 
Committee Amendment “A” (H-943) proposed to replace the bill, change the title, add an emergency preamble 
and clause and amend the Commissioner of Public Safety's rule-making authority regarding the construction, 
installation, maintenance and inspection of chimneys, fireplaces, vents and solid fuel burning appliances.  The 
amendment proposed to repeal the current directive to the Commissioner of Public Safety to adopt the National 
Fire Protection Association Code #211, “The Standards for Chimneys, Fireplaces, Vents and Solid Fuel Burning 
Appliances,” and replace that with more general rule-making authority that directs the commissioner to adopt 
routine technical rules pertaining to the construction, installation, maintenance and inspection of chimneys, 
fireplaces, vents and solid fuel burning appliances.  The amendment also proposed to authorize the commissioner 
to adopt major substantive rules pertaining to the inspection and maintenance of chimneys, fireplaces, vents and 
solid fuel burning appliances upon the sale or transfer of property. 
 
The purpose of amending the current rule-making authority was specifically to address the regulatory requirement 
that Level II chimney inspections be conducted upon the sale or transfer of real estate pursuant to National Fire 
Protection Association Code #211.  The amendment proposed to give the Commissioner of Public Safety the 
ability to tailor rules to the needs of the State. 
 
The amendment also proposed to add a penalty provision that specifies that a person who violates a rule adopted 
pursuant to the Maine Revised Statutes, Title 25, section 2465 commits a civil violation for which a fine of not 
less that $200 and not more than $500 may be adjudged.  The amendment proposed that this penalty does not 
apply to a rule requiring an annual chimney inspection for a single-family home. 
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Enacted law summary 
 
Public Law 2005, chapter 571 amends the Commissioner of Public Safety's rule-making authority regarding the 
construction, installation, maintenance and inspection of chimneys, fireplaces, vents and solid fuel burning 
appliances.  Public Law 2005, chapter 571 repeals the current directive to the Commissioner of Public Safety to 
adopt the National Fire Protection Association Code #211, “The Standards for Chimneys, Fireplaces, Vents and 
Solid Fuel Burning Appliances,” and replaces that with more general rule-making authority that directs the 
commissioner to adopt routine technical rules pertaining to the construction, installation, maintenance and 
inspection of chimneys, fireplaces, vents and solid fuel burning appliances.  Public Law 2005, chapter 571 also 
authorizes the commissioner to adopt major substantive rules pertaining to the inspection and maintenance of 
chimneys, fireplaces, vents and solid fuel burning appliances upon the sale or transfer of property. 
 
Public Law 2005, chapter 571’s amendment of the current rule-making authority is specifically to address the 
current regulatory requirement that Level II chimney inspections be conducted upon the sale or transfer of real 
estate pursuant to National Fire Protection Association Code #211.  Public Law 2005, chapter 571 gives the 
Commissioner of Public Safety the ability to tailor rules to the needs of the State. 
 
Public Law 2005, chapter 571 also adds a penalty provision that specifies that a person who violates a rule 
adopted pursuant to the Maine Revised Statutes, Title 25, section 2465 commits a civil violation for which a fine 
of not less that $200 and not more than $500 may be adjudged.  This penalty does not apply to a rule requiring an 
annual chimney inspection for a single-family home. 
 
Public Law 2005, chapter 571 was enacted as an emergency measure effective April 12, 2006. 
 
 
LD 1831 An Act To Allow Law Enforcement Agencies To Maintain Sex 

Offender Websites for Public Use  
PUBLIC 545

 
 

Sponsor(s)    Committee Report Amendments Adopted 
CURLEY OTP-AM        H-867    

SNOWE-MELLO   
 
LD 1831 proposed to maintain the requirement that the bureau maintain a sex offender registry on the Internet but 
also proposed to authorize other law enforcement agencies to maintain a sex offender registry that is accessible by 
the public.  Current law requires the State Bureau of Identification to maintain a sex offender registry; other law 
enforcement agencies are permitted to maintain a sex offender registry, but only for internal use by those 
agencies.   
 
Committee Amendment “A” (H-867) proposed to replace the bill.  The amendment proposed to clarify that only 
the Department of Public Safety, State Bureau of Identification may maintain a state sex offender registry on the 
Internet but proposed to authorize law enforcement agencies to maintain their own sex offender websites for 
internal use and for use by the public if certain conditions are met.  Specifically, in order to make a sex offender 
website available to the public, the amendment proposed that a law enforcement agency must post on its website 
that the website is not the official state sex offender registry and that the law enforcement agency posting the 
website is solely responsible for the website's content; provide a link to the bureau's Internet sex offender registry; 
post information regarding only 10-year and lifetime registrants who are domiciled, reside, attend college or 
school or work within the posting law enforcement agency's jurisdiction; update the information on the website as 
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frequently as possible, but no less than every 7 days; and prominently display the date and time of the most recent 
update. 
 
Enacted law summary 
 
Public Law 2005, chapter 545 clarifies that only the Department of Public Safety, State Bureau of Identification 
may maintain a state sex offender registry on the Internet but authorizes law enforcement agencies to maintain 
their own sex offender websites for internal use and for use by the public if certain conditions are met.  
Specifically, in order to make a sex offender website available to the public, a law enforcement agency must post 
on its website that the website is not the official state sex offender registry and that the law enforcement agency 
posting the website is solely responsible for the website's content.  The law enforcement agency must also provide 
a link to the State Bureau of Identification’s Internet sex offender registry; post information regarding only 10-
year and lifetime registrants who are domiciled, reside, attend college or school or work within the posting law 
enforcement agency's jurisdiction; update the information on the website as frequently as possible, but no less 
than every 7 days; and prominently display the date and time of the most recent update. 
 
 
LD 1859 An Act To Inform and Protect the Public Regarding State 

Employees with Certain Criminal Records  
ONTP

 
 

Sponsor(s)    Committee Report Amendments Adopted 
SMITH N ONTP           

MAYO   
 
LD 1859 proposed to require an agency, department, board or commission of State Government that employs a 
person who has been convicted of a “serious crime”, including murder, or a Class A, B or C crime, or who is 
required to register as a 10-year or lifetime registrant under the Sex Offender Registration and Notification Act of 
1999 and who, as part of that person’s duties, has direct contact with a member of the public in the home or 
business of that member of the public, to inform that member of the public of the date and crime for which the 
person was convicted and to provide the member of the public with the option of requesting a different person 
with whom to conduct business.  The bill proposed to direct the Department of Administrative and Financial 
Services to adopt major substantive rules to implement these notification requirements. 
 
LD 1859 also proposed to require the Department of Administrative and Financial Services to study and report by 
January 5, 2007 to the State and Local Government Committee of the 123rd Legislature regarding the number of 
state employees who have been convicted of a serious crime, the level of public exposure those employees have 
and the extent of the access those employees have to confidential information of members of the public.  This bill 
was not enacted, as the Department of Administrative and Financial Services, Bureau of Employee Relations 
pledged to amend hiring policies to address concerns. 
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LD 1861 An Act To Improve the Ability of the Department of Corrections 
To Share Information Related to Clients in Order To Improve 
Treatment and Rehabilitative Services  

PUBLIC 487
EMERGENCY

 
 

Sponsor(s)    Committee Report Amendments Adopted 
GROSE OTP-AM        H-751    

 
LD 1861 proposed to allow the Department of Corrections to share with the Department of Health and Human 
Services information regarding juvenile clients who have been referred to Department of Corrections but for 
whom no petition has been filed.  The purpose of authorizing the sharing of this information is to improve the 
overall delivery of services to clients and to assist in the placement of preadjudicated juveniles as an alternative to 
detention.  Current law allows sharing of a juvenile’s information at this stage only with consent of a juvenile’s 
parent or guardian or without consent if only to a criminal justice agency for purposes of the administration of 
juvenile criminal justice. 

 
LD 1861 also proposed to authorize the Department of Corrections to share confidential records of any 
Department of Corrections client, juvenile or adult, with any other state agency engaged in statistical analysis for 
the purpose of improving delivery of services to persons who may become clients of more than one agency.  The 
bill proposed that the requesting agency must submit a plan to the Department of Corrections Commissioner, who 
must approve the plan and authorize disclosure.  The bill also proposed that the receiving agency may not disclose 
or distribute the records in any way that would refer to a client by name or number or could otherwise lead to the 
client’s identification. 
 
Committee Amendment “A” (H-751) proposed to add an emergency preamble and clause to the bill to more 
quickly facilitate the sharing of information between the Department of Corrections and the Department of Health 
and Human Services and other agencies. 
 
Enacted law summary 
 
Public Law 2005, chapter 487 allows the Department of Corrections to share with the Department of Health and 
Human Services information regarding juvenile clients who have been referred to the Department of Corrections 
but for whom no petition has been filed.  The purpose of authorizing the sharing of this information is to improve 
the overall delivery of services to clients and to assist in the placement of preadjudicated juveniles as an 
alternative to detention.  Without Public Law 2005, chapter 487 sharing of a juvenile’s information at this stage 
could happen only with consent of a juvenile’s parent or guardian or without consent if to a criminal justice 
agency only for purposes of the administration of juvenile criminal justice. 
 
Public Law 2005, chapter 487 also authorizes the Department of Corrections to share confidential records of any 
client (juvenile or adult) with any other state agency engaged in statistical analysis for the purpose of improving 
delivery of services to persons who may become clients of more than one agency.  The requesting agency must 
submit a plan to the Commissioner of Corrections, who must approve the plan and authorize the disclosure.  The  
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receiving agency may not disclose or distribute the records in any way that would refer to a client by name or 
number or could otherwise lead to the client’s identification. 
 
Public Law 2005, chapter 487 was enacted as an emergency measure effective March 13, 2006. 
 
 
LD 1868 An Act To Eliminate Administrative Preliminary Hearings for 

Probationers  
PUBLIC 661

 
 

Sponsor(s)    Committee Report Amendments Adopted 
PLUMMER OTP-AM        H-796    

  S-670   ROTUNDO 
 
LD 1868 proposed to amend the Maine Criminal Code to eliminate the administrative preliminary hearings 
presently conducted by the Department of Corrections to determine probable cause for a probation violation and 
instead to require the courts to conduct probable cause hearings within 3 days after a probationer’s arrest.   
 
Committee Amendment “A” (H-796) proposed to require the court to hold probable cause hearings within 5 
days after arrest instead of 3 days, as proposed by the bill.  The amendment proposed to specify that evidence 
presented to establish probable cause may include affidavits and other reliable hearsay evidence as permitted by 
the court.  The amendment also proposed to add an effective date of January 1, 2007. 
 
Senate Amendment “A” to Committee Amendment “A” (S-670) proposed to add an appropriations and 
allocations section, which proposed to appropriate to the Judicial Department funds for court-appointed attorneys 
and deappropriate from the Department of Corrections savings resulting from reduced overtime of probation 
officers and savings resulting from a delay in ordering cars. 
 
Enacted law summary 
 
Public Law 2005, chapter 661 eliminates the administrative hearings presently conducted by the Department of 
Corrections to determine probable cause for a probation violation and instead requires probable cause hearings to 
be conducted by the courts within 5 days after arrest.  Public Law 2005, chapter 661 also specifies that evidence 
presented to establish probable cause may include affidavits and other reliable hearsay evidence as permitted by 
the court.  Public Law 2005, chapter 661 is effective January 1, 2007. 
 
 
LD 1879 An Act To Enhance Firefighter Safety  ONTP
 
 

Sponsor(s)    Committee Report Amendments Adopted 
DUPLESSIE ONTP           
BRYANT B   

 
LD 1879 proposed to require structures that use trusses in the floor or roof or parts of the floor or roof to display 
an emblem on the building signifying truss construction and the materials used in the truss construction.  The bill 
proposed that the owner of the structure would be required to install and maintain the emblem.  The bill proposed 
that 2 exceptions to this requirement would be: 1) detached 1-family and 2-family residential structures with truss 
construction built before the effective date of the bill that are not part of a planned real estate development 
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(however, municipalities may by local ordinance require that an emblem be affixed to these structures); and 2) 
individual structures and dwelling units with truss construction that are part of a planned real estate development, 
as long as an emblem is affixed at each entranceway to the development.  LD 1879 proposed that a person who 
fails to comply with these requirements commits a Class E crime. 
 
The bill also proposed to provide a voluntary statewide recommendation for uniform standards of identifying 
dangerous or vacant properties to further protect firefighters. 
 
 
LD 1884 An Act To Improve the Prisoner Telephone System  PUBLIC 506

EMERGENCY
 
 

Sponsor(s)    Committee Report Amendments Adopted 
BLANCHETTE OTP-AM        H-793    

 
LD 1884 was an emergency bill introduced by the Department of Corrections that proposed to do the following: 
 
1. Specify that a prisoner who has been ordered to pay restitution or fines may not participate in an industry 

program or any other program administered by the Department of Corrections or a sheriff by which a prisoner 
is able to generate money unless the prisoner consents to pay at least 25% of the prisoner’s gross weekly 
wages or other money generated to the victim or the court until such time as full restitution has been made or 
the fine is paid in full; 

 
2. Amend the payment of restitution provisions to specify that a prisoner’s money that is subject to the 25% 

requirement applies to money “received” by the prisoner and not just to money that the prisoner “is able to 
generate” from any source.  (i.e., a portion of gifts a prisoner receives may be applied to restitution and fines)  
The bill also proposed to exclude from this restitution and fine requirement any money received by the 
prisoner that is directly deposited into an account for the purpose of using the client telephone system.  Any 
money that is left in the telephone account at the time of a prisoner’s discharge or transfer would then be 
transferred into the department’s general client account and that money is then subject to the 25% distribution 
for restitution and fines; 

 
3. Amend the restitution and monetary sanctions to facilities provisions to be consistent with changes in the bill; 
 
4. Amend the provisions governing clients’ money to specify that money received by a client be deposited into 

“the department’s general client account” instead of “the facility’s clients’ account” or in the department’s 
telephone call account.  The bill proposed that money deposited in either account is credited to the client 
receiving it, and that any money that is left in the telephone account at the time of a prisoner’s discharge or 
transfer is then transferred into the department’s general client account and that money is then subject to the 
25% distribution for restitution and fines before distributed to the client; 

 
5. Specify the reimbursement process of client funds to family members when a client is deceased;  
 
6. Amend the reference to “clients’ account” to “department’s general client account” consistent with the other 

changes in the bill; and  
 
7. Facilitate the use of prepaid minutes in the State’s prisoner telephone system. 
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Committee Amendment “A” (H-793) proposed to make the provisions for deductions from a prisoner's account 
for the payment of court filing fees consistent with the changes proposed in the bill for deductions for the 
payment of fines and restitution. 
 
Enacted law summary 
 
Public Law 2005, chapter 506 specifies that a prisoner who has been ordered to pay restitution or fines may not 
participate in an industry program or any other program administered by the Department of Corrections or a 
sheriff by which a prisoner is able to generate money unless the prisoner consents to pay at least 25% of the 
prisoner’s gross weekly wages or other money generated to the victim or the court until such time as full 
restitution has been made or the fine is paid in full.  Public Law 2005, chapter 506 also amends the payment of 
restitution provisions to specify that a prisoner’s money that is subject to the 25% requirement applies to money 
“received” by the prisoner and not just to money that the prisoner “is able to generate” from any source.  (i.e., a 
portion of gifts a prisoner receives may be applied to restitution and fines)   
 
Public Law 2005, chapter 506 facilitates the use of prepaid minutes in the State’s prisoner telephone system.  
Public Law 2005, chapter 506 also excludes from the 25% restitution and fine requirement any money received 
by the prisoner that is directly deposited into an account for the purpose of using the client telephone system.   
 
Public Law 2005, chapter 506 further amends the provisions governing clients’ money to specify that money 
received by a client be deposited into “the department’s general client account” instead of “the facility’s clients’ 
account” or in the department’s telephone call account.  Money deposited in either account is credited to the client 
receiving it.  Any money that is left in the telephone account at the time of a prisoner’s discharge or transfer is 
then transferred into the department’s general client account and that money is then subject to the 25% 
distribution for restitution and fines before distributed to the client.  Finally, Public Law 2005, chapter 506 
specifies the reimbursement process of client funds to family members when a client is deceased.  
 
Public Law 2005, chapter 506 was enacted as an emergency measure effective March 24, 2006. 
 
 
LD 1886 An Act To Amend the Laws Pertaining to the Department of 

Corrections  
PUBLIC 488

EMERGENCY
 
 

Sponsor(s)    Committee Report Amendments Adopted 
BLANCHETTE OTP-AM        H-754    

MAYO   
 
LD 1886 was introduced by the Department of Corrections and proposed to make the following changes to the 
laws governing that department: 
 
1. Clarify the appeals process with respect to juvenile detention orders by specifying that an order may include 

discovery of new and significant information, which is consistent with the Bail Code; 
 
2. Add a requirement that, upon the request of a victim, the victim be notified when a prisoner is released to 

supervised release for sex offenders, a sentencing alternative in the Maine Revised Statutes, Title 17-A, 
section 1231 enacted by Public Law 1999, chapter 788, section 7; 
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3. Change terminology to reflect the terminology used in the Sex Offender Registration and Notification Act of 
1999, Title 34-A, chapter 15; 

 
4. Eliminate the requirement that the Commissioner of the Department of Corrections notify the court of the 

initial place of confinement of a person committed to the Department of Corrections, since the commissioner 
notifies the sheriff now and the courts receive the same information from sheriffs; 

 
5. Add correctional supervisors to those who may carry a concealed firearm with the permission of their 

employer; 
 
6. Repeal the provision that requires the Commissioner of Corrections to promulgate rules for community 

services agreements; 
 
7. Correct an error in terminology in the provision governing boards of visitors; 
 
8. Change the title of the chief administrative officer of the Mountain View Youth Development Center from 

director to superintendent to make it identical to the title for the chief administrative officer of the Long Creek 
Youth Development Center; 

 
9. Substitute the term “juvenile community corrections officers” for “juvenile caseworkers” in several 

provisions; and 
 
10. Add references to “supervised release for sex offenders” to a provision regarding probation and parole 

officers and intensive supervision program officers. 
 
Committee Amendment “A” (H-754) proposed to create an exception to a law that requires the elimination of 
all commissary-type facilities operated by state departments for the sale of food and food supplies to any person.  
This amendment proposed to allow the Department of Corrections to lawfully continue its long-time practice of 
operating a commissary for the sale of food to clients and employees in corrections facilities and to clarify that the 
chief administrative officer of a correctional or detention facility may, subject to the approval of the 
commissioner, purchase meals for or otherwise provide meals without charge to any facility employee who eats 
such meals within the scope of employment. 
 
To remedy the department's unintended violation more quickly, this amendment also proposed to make the bill an 
emergency. 
 
Enacted law summary 
 
Public Law 2005, chapter 488 makes the following changes to the laws governing the Department of Corrections. 
 
It clarifies the appeals process with respect to juvenile detention orders by specifying that an order may include 
discovery of new and significant information, which is consistent with the Bail Code. 
 
It adds a requirement that, upon the request of a victim, the victim be notified when a prisoner is released to 
supervised release for sex offenders, a sentencing alternative in the Maine Revised Statutes, Title 17-A, section 
1231 enacted by Public Law 1999, chapter 788, section 7.  
 
It changes terminology to reflect the terminology used in the Sex Offender Registration and Notification Act of 
1999, Title 34-A, chapter 15. 
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It eliminates the requirement that the Commissioner of Corrections notify the court of the initial place of 
confinement of a person committed to the Department of Corrections, since the commissioner notifies the sheriff 
now and the courts receive the same information from sheriffs. 
 
It adds correctional supervisors to those who may carry a concealed firearm with the permission of their 
employer. 
 
It repeals the provision that requires the Commissioner of Corrections to promulgate rules for community services 
agreements. 
 
It corrects an error in terminology in the provision governing boards of visitors. 
 
It changes the title of the chief administrative officer of the Mountain View Youth Development Center from 
director to superintendent to make it identical to the title for the chief administrative officer of the Long Creek 
Youth Development Center. 
 
It substitutes the term “juvenile community corrections officers” for “juvenile caseworkers” in several provisions. 
 
It adds references to “supervised release for sex offenders” to a provision regarding probation and parole officers 
and intensive supervision program officers. 
 
It creates an exception to a law that requires the elimination of all commissary-type facilities operated by state 
departments for the sale of food and food supplies to any person.  Public Law 2005, chapter 488 allows the 
Department of Corrections to lawfully continue its long-time practice of operating a commissary for the sale of 
food to clients and employees in corrections facilities and clarifies that the chief administrative officer of a 
correctional or detention facility may, subject to the approval of the commissioner, purchase meals for or 
otherwise provide meals without charge to any facility employee who eats such meals within the scope of the 
employee’s employment. 
 
Public Law 2005, chapter 488 was enacted as an emergency measure effective March 13, 2006. 
 
 
LD 1906 An Act To Safeguard Maine's Highways  PUBLIC 606
 
 

Sponsor(s)    Committee Report Amendments Adopted 
CURLEY OTP-AM        H-1041   

DIAMOND   
 
LD 1906 proposed to provide stricter penalties for operating after license suspension or OAS.  Specifically, the 
bill proposed to do the following: 
 
1. Establish a graduated penalty scale for license suspensions, not related to the offense of operating under 

the influence, that occur within a 3-year period, beginning with a license suspension of one year and a 
$1,000 fine for 3 suspensions within a 3-year period and increasing to a license suspension of 10 years and 
a $5,000 fine for 7 or more license suspensions within a 3-year period;  
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2. Provide for mandatory incarceration, which may not be suspended, if the person is convicted of OAS while 
that person's license was suspended due to multiple suspensions.  The bill proposed that the length of the 
incarceration is graduated, beginning with 180 days for OAS after suspension for 3 suspensions and 
increasing to a Class B crime, punishable by 5 years incarceration, for OAS after suspension for 7 or more 
license suspensions within a 3-year period; 

 
3. Amend the current law that allows a vehicle to be impounded when the driver has operated a motor vehicle 

while under the influence to allow a motor vehicle also to be impounded for an OAS offense.  The vehicle 
impounded for an OAS offense would be released only after the offender's driver's license has been 
reinstated and the impound fees have been paid; 

 
4. Create the new crime of contributing to an accident after license suspension or revocation.  The bill 

proposed that if a person whose license has been suspended or revoked is involved in an accident, 
regardless of fault, and that accident results in bodily injury or death of another person, the person 
operating after suspension commits a Class C crime in the case of bodily injury or a Class B crime in the 
case of death.  The bill proposed that the Class C crime is punishable by a minimum sentence of 3 years 
imprisonment and an additional license suspension of 5 years.  The bill proposed that the Class B crime is 
punishable by a minimum sentence of imprisonment of 5 years and an additional license suspension of 10 
years.  The new crime would not apply if the person were convicted of the crime of operating under the 
influence and causing the death or bodily injury of another person, which is increased from a Class C to a 
Class B crime; and   

 
5. Require the Secretary of State to confiscate the license of a person who is convicted of OAS for the 

duration of the suspension, including any additional suspension imposed for OAS. 
 
Committee Amendment “A” (H-1041) proposed to replace the bill and do the following: 
 
1. Amend the OUI law to be consistent with proposed changes in this law that create the distinct crimes of 

causing serious bodily injury or death while a driver's license is suspended or revoked;   
 
2. Create new crimes of causing serious bodily injury or death while driving with a suspended or revoked 

license.  The amendment proposed that a person commits the crime if the person knowingly operates with 
a suspended or revoked license and in fact causes serious bodily injury or death.  The amendment proposed 
that causing injury in such a case is a Class C crime with penalties that include a possible 0-5 years of 
imprisonment and a mandatory 5-year license suspension, and causing death in such a case is a Class B 
crime with penalties that include a possible 0-10 years of imprisonment and a mandatory 10-year license 
suspension; 

 
3. Expand the habitual offender statute by adding the offense of operating a motor vehicle at a speed that 

exceeds the maximum speed limit by 30 miles per hour or more to the list of 3 or more convictions or 
adjudications for distinct offenses within a 5-year period for which a person is an habitual offender;  

 
4. Further expand the habitual offender statute by adding the accumulation of 10 or more moving violations 

within a 5-year period to the list of convictions or adjudications for distinct offenses within a 5-year period 
for which a person is an habitual offender;  

 
5. Remove from the exceptions for which a person is not an habitual offender the case when all convictions 

or adjudications are based on operating after suspension when the license was originally suspended for 
failure to give or maintain proof of financial responsibility; 
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6. Remove from the convictions for offenses that may not be included under the habitual offender provision 

convictions for operating after suspension when the suspension is based upon failure to appear in court or 
pay a fine; 

 
7. Amend the penalties for operating after habitual offender revocation and expand the crime to include 

persons who have one or more prior convictions for operating after habitual offender revocation or 
aggravated operating after habitual offender revocation and who then operate after the license is suspended 
or revoked.  The amendment proposed mandatory penalties that cannot be suspended, which include the 
following: 

 
A. A person is guilty of a Class D crime if the person operates after habitual offender revocation and has 

not been convicted of operating after habitual offender revocation or for operating under the influence 
within the previous 10 years.  If the person has no prior convictions, the minimum mandatory fine for 
this Class D crime is $500 and the minimum mandatory term of imprisonment is 30 days;  

 
B. A person is guilty of a Class C crime if the person operates after habitual offender revocation and has 

one conviction for operating after habitual offender revocation or for operating under the influence 
within the previous 10 years.  If the person has one prior conviction, the minimum fine for this Class C 
crime is $1,000 and the minimum term of imprisonment is 6 months; 

 
C. A person is guilty of a Class C crime if the person operates after habitual offender revocation and has 2 

convictions for operating after habitual offender revocation or for operating under the influence within 
the previous 10 years.  If the person has 2 prior convictions, the minimum fine for this Class C crime is 
$1,000 and the minimum term of imprisonment is 9 months plus a day; and 

 
D. A person is guilty of a Class C crime if the person operates after habitual offender revocation and has 3 

or more convictions for operating after habitual offender revocation or for operating under the 
influence within the previous 10 years.  If the person has 3 or more prior convictions, the minimum 
fine for this Class C crime is $1,000 and the minimum term of imprisonment is 2 years; 

 
8. Create the new crime of aggravated operating after habitual offender revocation and impose new penalties.  

The amendment proposed that a person is guilty of aggravated operating after habitual offender revocation 
if that person operates after habitual offender revocation and at the time of that violation also commits one 
or more of the following: operating under the influence, driving to endanger, eluding an officer, passing a 
roadblock and operating a motor vehicle at a speed that exceeds the maximum speed limit by 30 miles per 
hour or more.  The amendment proposed mandatory penalties that cannot be suspended, which include the 
following: 

 
A. A person is guilty of a Class D crime if the person commits the crime of aggravated operating after 

habitual offender revocation.  If the person has no prior convictions, the minimum fine for this Class D 
crime is $500 and the minimum term of imprisonment is 6 months; 

 
B. A person is guilty of a Class C crime if the person commits the crime of aggravated operating after 

habitual offender revocation and has one prior conviction for committing aggravated operating after 
habitual offender revocation, operating under the influence or operating after habitual offender 
revocation within the previous 10 years.  If a person has one prior conviction, the minimum fine for 
this Class C crime is $1,000 and the minimum term of imprisonment is one year; 
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C. A person is guilty of a Class C crime if the person commits the crime of aggravated operating after 
habitual offender and has 2 prior convictions for committing aggravated operating after habitual 
offender revocation, operating under the influence or operating after habitual offender revocation 
within the previous 10 years.  If a person has 2 prior convictions, the minimum fine for this Class C 
crime is $2,000 and the minimum term of imprisonment is 2 years; and 

 
D. A person is guilty of a Class C crime if the person commits the crime of aggravated operating after 

habitual offender and has 3 or more convictions for committing aggravated operating after habitual 
offender revocation, operating under the influence or operating after habitual offender revocation 
within the previous 10 years.  If a person has 3 or more prior convictions, the minimum fine for this 
Class C crime is $3,000 and the minimum term of imprisonment is 5 years; 

 
9. Direct the Secretary of State to take reasonable actions to confiscate suspended licenses; and 
 
10. Request that the Maine Sheriff's Association by January 30, 2007 report to the joint standing committee of 

the Legislature having jurisdiction over criminal justice and public safety matters regarding the impact 
these increased motor vehicle penalties have on the county jail population and to make any suggested 
changes, if necessary. 

 
House Amendment “A” to Committee Amendment “A” (H-1049) proposed to specify that a person who, 
while knowingly operating with a suspended or revoked license, in fact causes the death of another person is 
subject to a minimum term of imprisonment of 5 years.  This amendment was not adopted. 
 
Enacted law summary 
 
Public Law 2005, chapter 606 makes the following changes to the motor vehicle statutes.  
 
1. It amends the OUI law to be consistent with proposed changes in this law that create the distinct crimes of 

causing serious bodily injury or death while a driver's license is suspended or revoked.   
 
2. It creates new crimes of causing serious bodily injury or death while driving with a suspended or revoked 

license.  A person commits the crime if the person knowingly operates with a suspended or revoked license 
and in fact causes serious bodily injury or death.  Causing injury in such a case is a Class C crime with 
penalties that include a possible 0-5 years of imprisonment and a mandatory 5-year license suspension.  
Causing death in such a case is a Class B crime with penalties that include a possible 0-10 years of 
imprisonment and a mandatory 10-year license suspension. 

 
3. It expands the habitual offender statute by adding the offense of operating a motor vehicle at a speed that 

exceeds the maximum speed limit by 30 miles per hour or more to the list of 3 or more convictions or 
adjudications for distinct offenses within a 5-year period for which a person is an habitual offender.  

 
4. It further expands the habitual offender statute by adding the accumulation of 10 or more moving violations 

within a 5-year period to the list of convictions or adjudications for distinct offenses within a 5-year period 
for which a person is an habitual offender.  

 
5. It removes from the exceptions for which a person is not an habitual offender the case when all convictions or 

adjudications are based on operating after suspension when the license was originally suspended for failure to 
give or maintain proof of financial responsibility.  
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6. It removes from the convictions for offenses that may not be included under the habitual offender provision 
convictions for operating after suspension when the suspension is based upon failure to appear in court or pay 
a fine.  

 
7. It amends the penalties for operating after habitual offender revocation and expands the crime to include 

persons who have one or more prior convictions for operating after habitual offender revocation or aggravated 
operating after habitual offender revocation and who then operate after the license is suspended or revoked.  
Mandatory penalties that cannot be suspended include the following. 

 
A. A person is guilty of a Class D crime if the person operates after habitual offender revocation and has not 

been convicted of operating after habitual offender revocation or for operating under the influence within 
the previous 10 years.  If the person has no prior convictions, the minimum fine for this Class D crime is 
$500 and the minimum term of imprisonment is 30 days.  

 
B. A person is guilty of a Class C crime if the person operates after habitual offender revocation and has one 

conviction for operating after habitual offender revocation or for operating under the influence within the 
previous 10 years.  If the person has one prior conviction, the minimum fine for this Class C crime is 
$1,000 and the minimum term of imprisonment is 6 months. 

 
C. A person is guilty of a Class C crime if the person operates after habitual offender revocation and has 2 

convictions for operating after habitual offender revocation or for operating under the influence within the 
previous 10 years.  If the person has 2 prior convictions, the minimum fine for this Class C crime is 
$1,000 and the minimum term of imprisonment is 9 months plus a day. 

 
D. A person is guilty of a Class C crime if the person operates after habitual offender revocation and has 3 or 

more convictions for operating after habitual offender revocation or for operating under the influence 
within the previous 10 years.  If the person has 3 or more prior convictions, the minimum fine for this 
Class C crime is $1,000 and the minimum term of imprisonment is 2 years. 

 
8. It creates the new crime of aggravated operating after habitual offender revocation and imposes new penalties.  

A person is guilty of aggravated operating after habitual offender revocation if that person operates after 
habitual offender revocation and at the time of that violation also commits one or more of the following: 
operating under the influence, driving to endanger, eluding an officer, passing a roadblock and operating a 
motor vehicle at a speed that exceeds the maximum speed limit by 30 miles per hour or more.  Mandatory 
penalties that cannot be suspended include the following.  

 
A.  A person is guilty of a Class D crime if the person commits the crime of aggravated operating after 

habitual offender revocation.  If the person has no prior convictions, the minimum fine for this Class D 
crime is $500 and the minimum term of imprisonment is 6 months. 

 
B.  A person is guilty of a Class C crime if the person commits the crime of aggravated operating after 

habitual offender revocation and has one prior conviction for committing aggravated operating after 
habitual offender revocation, operating under the influence or operating after habitual offender revocation 
within the previous 10 years.  If a person has one prior conviction, the minimum fine for this Class C 
crime is $1,000 and the minimum term of imprisonment is one year. 

 
C.  A person is guilty of a Class C crime if the person commits the crime of aggravated operating after 

habitual offender and has 2 prior convictions for committing aggravated operating after habitual offender 
revocation, operating under the influence or operating after habitual offender revocation within the 
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previous 10 years.  If a person has 2 prior convictions, the minimum fine for this Class C crime is $2,000 
and the minimum term of imprisonment is 2 years. 

 
D.  A person is guilty of a Class C crime if the person commits the crime of aggravated operating after 

habitual offender and has 3 or more convictions for committing aggravated operating after habitual 
offender revocation, operating under the influence or operating after habitual offender revocation within 
the previous 10 years.  If a person has 3 or more prior convictions, the minimum fine for this Class C 
crime is $3,000 and the minimum term of imprisonment is 5 years. 

 
9. It directs the Secretary of State to take reasonable actions to confiscate suspended licenses.  
 
10. It requests that the Maine Sheriff's Association by January 30, 2007 report to the joint standing committee of 

the Legislature having jurisdiction over criminal justice and public safety matters regarding the impact these 
increased motor vehicle penalties have on the county jail population and to make any suggested changes, if 
necessary. 

 
 
LD 1938 An Act To Protect Victims of Domestic Violence  DIED BETWEEN 

BODIES
 
 

Sponsor(s)    Committee Report Amendments Adopted 
STRIMLING OTP-AM        S-525    

SIMPSON   
 
LD 1938 proposed to require the Department of Public Safety, upon learning through a criminal background 
check that an individual subject to a protection from abuse order has illegally attempted to purchase a firearm, to 
promptly make every reasonable effort to share the information with the individual who is intended to be 
protected by the order and the local law enforcement agency where the individual resides, so that adequate 
precautions can be taken to minimize the risk of further domestic violence.  
 
LD 1938 proposed that the State, a political subdivision of the State or a law enforcement officer may not be held 
liable for damage that may be caused by the failure or inability to inform an individual who is intended to be 
protected by the protection from abuse order.   
 
Committee Amendment “A” (S-525) proposed to specify that, upon receiving information from a federal agency 
that through a criminal background check an individual subject to a protection from abuse order has illegally 
attempted to purchase a firearm, the Department of Public Safety shall share that information with the individual 
who is intended to be protected by the order and with another law enforcement agency with jurisdiction in the 
municipality in which that individual resides as quickly as practicable. 
 
The amendment also proposed to specify that the Department of Public Safety may accomplish the notification 
process by notifying another law enforcement agency within the county in which the individual intended to be 
protected by the protection from abuse order resides.  Committee Amendment “A” proposed that when the 
department makes notification through such a law enforcement agency, that agency then must make reasonable 
effort to notify as quickly as practicable the individual intended to be protected by the protection from abuse 
order.  The amendment further proposed that if, when notifying another law enforcement agency, the department 
is informed by that agency that it cannot notify the individual intended to be protected by the protection from 
abuse order, the department must continue to make its own reasonable effort to notify that individual as quickly as 
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practicable, and this may be accomplished through a different law enforcement agency within the county in which 
the individual resides. 
 
The amendment also proposed to clarify that the immunity provision does not prohibit the State or a political 
subdivision of the State from pursuing legally authorized disciplinary action. 
 
House Amendment “A” to Committee Amendment “A” (H-954), which was not adopted, proposed to do the 
following: 
 
1. Amend the provision of law granting immunity from civil suit to governmental entities to hold a law 

enforcement agency liable for damage or loss of firearms seized, confiscated or received by that law 
enforcement agency pursuant to an order of the court in a protection from abuse proceeding; 

 
2. Require a court to order a person seeking a protection from abuse order in bad faith to pay damages and 

reasonable attorney's fees to the defendant; 
 
3. Require a law enforcement agency seizing, confiscating or receiving a firearm pursuant to an order of a court 

in a protection from abuse proceeding to provide the owner of the firearm with a signed and dated receipt, 
which must include the serial number and condition of the firearm and any firearm accessories obtained with 
the firearm; and 

 
4. Prohibit a law enforcement agency seizing, confiscating or receiving a firearm pursuant to an order of a court 

in a protection from abuse proceeding from engraving, permanently marking or, unless reasonable suspicion 
exists to believe the firearm was used in the commission of a crime, test firing the firearm.  The amendment 
proposed that a law enforcement agency that violates this prohibition is liable for any reduction in value of 
the firearm. 

 
House Amendment “B” to Committee Amendment “A” (H-990), which was not adopted, proposed to do the 
following: 
 
1. Amend the provision of law granting immunity from civil suit to governmental entities to hold a law 

enforcement agency liable for damage or loss of firearms seized, confiscated or received by that law 
enforcement agency pursuant to an order of the court in a protection from abuse proceeding; 

 
2. Require a law enforcement agency seizing, confiscating or receiving a firearm pursuant to an order of a court 

in a protection from abuse proceeding to provide the owner of the firearm with a signed and dated receipt, 
which must include the serial number and condition of the firearm and any firearm accessories obtained with 
the firearm; and 

 
3. Prohibit a law enforcement agency seizing, confiscating or receiving a firearm pursuant to an order of a court 

in a protection from abuse proceeding from engraving, permanently marking or, unless reasonable suspicion 
exists to believe the firearm was used in the commission of a crime, test firing the firearm.  The amendment 
proposed that a law enforcement agency that violates this prohibition is liable for any reduction in value of 
the firearm. 

 
House Amendment “C” to Committee Amendment “A” (H-1030), which was not adopted, proposed to do the 
following: 
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1. Direct the Maine Criminal Justice Academy to provide training for municipal, county and state law 
enforcement officers regarding the proper handling, storage and safekeeping of firearms received pursuant to 
a protection from abuse order; 

 
2. Provide that in developing materials for training in domestic violence issues, the Maine Criminal Justice 

Academy may consult with a statewide organization involved in advocacy for victims of domestic violence 
and with an organization having statewide membership representing the interests of firearms owners; and 

 
3. Provide that a law enforcement officer who receives custody of a firearm pursuant to a protection from abuse 

order shall exercise reasonable care to avoid loss, damage or reduction in value of such firearm.  Any liability 
for damage or reduction in value to such a firearm is governed by the Maine Tort Claims Act, Maine Revised 
Statutes, Title 14, chapter 741. 

 
House Amendment “D” to Committee Amendment “A” (H-1044), which was not adopted, proposed to do the 
same as paragraphs 1 and 2 described in House Amendment “C” to Committee Amendment “A” above, except 
that this amendment also provides that a law enforcement officer who receives custody of a firearm pursuant to a 
protection from abuse order shall exercise reasonable care to avoid loss, damage or reduction in value of such 
firearm and may not permanently mark the firearm or fire the firearm unless there is reasonable suspicion that the 
firearm has been used in the commission of a crime.  As in House Amendment “C”, this amendment also 
proposed that any liability for damage or reduction in value to such a firearm is governed by the Maine Tort 
Claims Act, Maine Revised Statutes, Title 14, chapter 741. 
 
Senate Amendment “A” to Committee Amendment “A” (S-565), which was not adopted, proposed to do the 
same as House Amendment “A” to Committee Amendment “A” (H-954). 
 
Senate Amendment “B” to Committee Amendment “A” (S-596), which was not adopted, proposed to do the 
same as House Amendment “A” to Committee Amendment “A” (H-954). 
 
LD 1938 as amended by Committee Amendment “A” (H-954) died between the bodies but see LD 2116, “An Act 
to Provide Protection for Victims of Domestic Violence” and LD 2118, “An Act Related to the Handling of 
Firearms Confiscated by Law Enforcement Officers Pursuant to a Court Order.” 
 
 
LD 1997 An Act To Amend the Laws Dealing with a Work-restricted 

License  
ONTP

 
 

Sponsor(s)    Committee Report Amendments Adopted 
JACKSON ONTP         MAJ  
MARTIN OTP          MIN  

 
LD 1997 proposed to authorize the Secretary of State to consider a first-time OUI offender’s eligibility for a 
work-restricted license after 30 days of the suspension has passed.  Current law authorizes the Secretary of State 
to consider issuing a work-restricted license to a first-time OUI offender after at least 2/3 of that offender’s license 
suspension has expired. 
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LD 2001 An Act To Implement Recommendations of the Criminal Law 
Advisory Commission  

PUBLIC 527

 
 

Sponsor(s)    Committee Report Amendments Adopted 
 OTP-AM        H-858    
  H-868   RINES 

 
LD 2001 was introduced by the Criminal Law Advisory Commission and proposed a number of technical drafting 
changes, as well as changes for clarity.  Specifically, the bill proposed to do the following: 
 
1. Amend the law regarding possession by prohibited persons of firearms or crossbows to: 
 

A. Conform the terminology regarding the affirmative defense of insanity to that recently adopted in the 
Maine Revised Statutes, Title 17-A, sections 39 and 40 in the statute governing possession by prohibited 
persons of firearms or crossbows; 

 
B. Add a reference to parole, supervised release for sex offenders and administrative release; and 
 
C. Change a cross-reference for the definition of “not criminally responsible by reason of insanity” and 

remove language no longer needed because of this change; 
 
2. Eliminate the need to specify in the charge and prove at trial the value of an audio or visual recording of all or 

any part of an illegally obtained motion picture.  This is consistent with theft involving a firearm or an 
explosive device in which pecuniary loss is not an element and the absence of a pecuniary loss is not a 
defense; 

 
3. Amend the crime of failure to report a sexual assault of a person in custody to clarify that the crime's 

forbidden conduct element of failing to report the sexual assault to an appropriate criminal justice agency has 
no accompanying culpable mental state element.  This bill also proposed to provide an affirmative defense to 
prosecution under the section when the defendant knew that the crime of sexual assault had already been 
reported to an appropriate criminal justice agency by another mandated reporter; 

 
4. Amend the crime of possession of a firearm in a courthouse by: 
 

A. Adding the word “unauthorized”; 
 
B. Clarifying that the crime's forbidden conduct element of possessing a firearm in a courthouse has no 

accompanying culpable mental state element; 
 
C. Adding “corrections supervisor” to the list of persons to whom the prohibition does not apply; 
 
D. Requiring that the firearm be unloaded if possessed under the evidence exception; 
 
E. Clarifying that the proceeding in which the firearm is to be offered as evidence may be either civil or 

criminal; 
 
F. Adding a new provision that specifies that possession of a valid permit to carry a concealed firearm is not 

a defense to this crime; and 
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G.  Making a number of nonsubstantive changes to the language for purposes of clarity; 
 

5. Provide that the civil penalty for the sale and use of drug paraphernalia is $300; 
 
6. Add to the list of sentencing alternatives the sentencing alternative of supervised release for sex offenders as 

authorized by the Maine Revised Statutes, Title 17-A, chapter 50.  The bill also proposed to add a reference to 
this alternative since a fine may be imposed in addition to a chapter 50 sentencing alternative.  Further, the 
bill proposed to repeal the option of a deferred disposition as authorized by Title 17-A, chapter 54-F since it is 
not a sentencing alternative.  The bill proposed to make clear that every natural person convicted of a crime 
must be sentenced to at least one of the listed sentencing alternatives.  Depending upon which sentencing 
alternatives are used, a court may impose more than one and when mandated by the Legislature must do so; 

7. Add to the list of sentencing alternatives applicable to an organization the sentencing alternative of a fine, 
suspended in whole or in part, with administrative release as authorized by Title 17-A, chapter 54-G.  The bill 
proposed to add a reference to this alternative since a sanction authorized by section 1153 may be imposed in 
addition to a chapter 54-G sentencing alternative.  The bill proposed to makes clear that every organization 
convicted of a crime must be sentenced to at least one of the listed sentencing alternatives.  Depending upon 
which sentencing alternatives are used, a court may impose more than one and when mandated by the 
Legislature must do so; 

 
8. Amend the law regarding notification of a defendant's release to: 
 

A. Conform the terminology regarding the affirmative defense of insanity to that recently adopted In Title 
17-A, sections 39 and 40 pursuant to Public Law 2005, chapter 263, sections 5 to 7; 

 
B. Replace the reference to “placed in institutional confinement” under both Title 15, section 103 and Title 

15, section 104-A with “committed to the custody of the Commissioner of Health and Human Services”; 
 
C. Add references to supervised release for sex offenders pursuant to Title 17-A, chapter 50 and 

administrative release pursuant to Title 17-A, chapter 54-G; and 
 
D. Add “release from commitment under Title 15, section 101-B” in provisions addressing releases that are 

unconditional; 
 
9. Current law increasing the sentencing class one class higher for a Class B, C, D or E crime committed with 

the use of a dangerous weapon excludes from its application the crimes of aggravated assault and attempted 
aggravated assault.  This exclusion was added because use of a dangerous weapon serves as a factual element 
of one form of the crime of aggravated assault.  This bill proposed to broaden the exclusion to include any 
crime that contains “use of a dangerous weapon” as a factual element; 

 
10. Current law provides for the sentencing enhancement by one class if the defendant had 2 or more prior 

convictions of certain crimes, except for a conviction for stalking if the prior convictions have already served 
to enhance the sentencing class.  The bill proposed to broaden this exclusion to include any crime in which a 
prior conviction has already served to enhance the class of the crime; 

 
11. Clarify that when 2 or more provisions in Title 17-A, section 1252 are pled and proved by the State to 

enhance the class of the crime these provisions may be applied successively as long as those to be made 
successive contain different class enhancement factors.  For example, if the State pled and proved that the 
Class D crime of reckless conduct was committed with the use of a dangerous weapon and, at the time of its 
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commission, the defendant had been convicted of 2 or more qualifying crimes, the class of the reckless 
conduct would be elevated successively from Class D to Class C and from Class C to Class B because 
subsections 4 and 4-A constitute enhancement factors reflecting different public policy concerns; 

 
12. Remove the current exception for eligibility for deferred disposition, which is that the crime expressly 

provides that one or more punishment alternatives it authorizes may not be suspended.  It also is important to 
remove this exception in order to allow the flexibility in sentencing options now available under Title 17-A, 
section 1348-B, subsection 1 and to recognize the fact that the Legislature also recently added a mandatory 
minimum fine to the Maine Criminal Code crime for assault and all drug crimes in Title 17-A, chapter 45; and 

 
13. Remove that portion of the paragraph authorizing judicial fact-finding at the sentencing hearing and requires 

instead that “accompanied by sexual assault” be pleaded and proved beyond a reasonable doubt to the fact-
finder at the trial.  The change is required under both the United States Constitution and the Constitution of 
Maine because “accompanied by sexual assault” is a fact incident to attempted murder or murder that makes 
the person a “repeat sexual assault offender” who consequently is subject to a term of imprisonment for any 
term of years rather than a lesser definite term as specified under Title 17-A, section 1252, subsection 2.  See 
Blakely v. Washington, 542 U.S. 296 (2004); State v. Schofield, 2005 ME 82, 876 A.2d 43.  

 
Committee Amendment “A” (H-858) proposed to make 2 technical corrections, one for readability and one to 
clarify meaning. 
 
House Amendment “A” (H-868) was presented on behalf of the Committee on Bills in the Second Reading and 
proposed to prevent a conflict by incorporating changes made to the Maine Revised Statutes, Title 17-A, section 
1175, first paragraph in Public Law 2005, chapter 488, section 4. 
 
Enacted law summary 
 
Public Law 2005, chapter 527 was submitted by the Criminal Law Advisory Commission. 
 
Public Law 2005, chapter 527 amends the law regarding possession by prohibited persons of firearms or 
crossbows to: 
 
1. Conform the terminology regarding the affirmative defense of insanity to that recently adopted in the Maine 

Revised Statutes, Title 17-A, sections 39 and 40; 
 
2. Add a reference to parole, supervised release for sex offenders and administrative release; and 
 
3. Change a cross-reference for the definition of “not criminally responsible by reason of insanity” and remove 

language no longer needed because of this change.  
 
Public Law 2005, chapter 527 eliminates the need to specify in the charge and prove at trial the value of an audio 
or visual recording of all or any part of an illegally obtained motion picture.  This is consistent with theft 
involving a firearm or an explosive device in which pecuniary loss is not an element, and the absence of a 
pecuniary loss is not a defense. 
 
Public Law 2005, chapter 527 amends the crime of failure to report a sexual assault of a person in custody to 
clarify that the crime's forbidden conduct element of failing to report the sexual assault to an appropriate criminal 
justice agency has no accompanying culpable mental state element.  Public Law 2005, chapter 527 also provides 
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an affirmative defense to prosecution under the section when the defendant knew that the crime of sexual assault 
had already been reported to an appropriate criminal justice agency by another mandated reporter. 
 
Public Law 2005, chapter 527 amends the crime of possession of a firearm in a courthouse by: 
 
1. Adding the word “unauthorized”; 
 
2. Clarifying that the crime's forbidden conduct element of possessing a firearm in a courthouse has no 

accompanying culpable mental state element; 
 
3. Adding “corrections supervisor” to the list of persons to whom the prohibition does not apply; 
 
4. Requiring that the firearm be unloaded if possessed under the evidence exception; 
 
5. Clarifying that the proceeding in which the firearm is to be offered as evidence may be either civil or 

criminal; 
 
6. Adding a new provision that specifies that possession of a valid permit to carry a concealed firearm is not a 

defense to this crime; and 
 
7. Making a number of nonsubstantive changes to the language for purposes of clarity. 
 
Public Law 2005, chapter 527 provides that the civil penalty for the sale and use of drug paraphernalia is $300.  
 
Public Law 2005, chapter 527 adds to the list of sentencing alternatives the sentencing alternative of supervised 
release for sex offenders as authorized by the Maine Revised Statutes, Title 17-A, chapter 50.  Public Law 2005, 
chapter 527 also adds a reference to this alternative since a fine may be imposed in addition to a chapter 50 
sentencing alternative.  Further, Public Law 2005, chapter 527 repeals the option of a deferred disposition as 
authorized by Title 17-A, chapter 54-F, since it is not a sentencing alternative.  Public Law 2005, chapter 527 
makes clear that every natural person convicted of a crime must be sentenced to at least one of the listed 
sentencing alternatives.  Depending upon which sentencing alternatives are used, a court may impose more than 
one and when mandated by the Legislature must do so. 
 
Public Law 2005, chapter 527 adds to the list of sentencing alternatives applicable to an organization the 
sentencing alternative of a fine, suspended in whole or in part, with administrative release as authorized by Title 
17-A, chapter 54-G.  Public Law 2005, chapter 527 adds a reference to this alternative since a sanction authorized 
by section 1153 may be imposed in addition to a chapter 54-G sentencing alternative.  Public Law 2005, chapter 
527 makes clear that every organization convicted of a crime must be sentenced to at least one of the listed 
sentencing alternatives.  Depending upon which sentencing alternatives are used, a court may impose more than 
one and when mandated by the Legislature must do so. 
 
Public Law 2005, chapter 527 amends the law regarding notification of a defendant's release to: 
 
1. Conform the terminology regarding the affirmative defense of insanity to that recently adopted in Title 17-A, 

sections 39 and 40 pursuant to Public Law 2005, chapter 263, sections 5 to 7; 
 
2. Replace the reference to “placed in institutional confinement” under both Title 15, section 103 and Title 15, 

section 104-A with “committed to the custody of the Commissioner of Health and Human Services”; 
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3. Add references to supervised release for sex offenders pursuant to Title 17-A, chapter 50 and administrative 
release pursuant to Title 17-A, chapter 54-G; and 

 
4. Add “release from commitment under Title 15, section 101-B” in provisions addressing releases that are 

unconditional. 
 
Current law increasing the sentencing class one class higher for a Class B, C, D or E crime committed with the 
use of a dangerous weapon excludes from its application the crimes of aggravated assault and attempted 
aggravated assault.  This exclusion was added because use of a dangerous weapon serves as a factual element of 
one form of the crime of aggravated assault.  Public Law 2005, chapter 527 broadens the exclusion to include any 
crime that contains “use of a dangerous weapon” as a factual element. 
 
Current law provides for the sentencing enhancement by one class if the defendant had 2 or more prior 
convictions of certain crimes, except for a conviction for stalking if the prior convictions have already served to 
enhance the sentencing class.  Public Law 2005, chapter 527 broadens this exclusion to include any crime in 
which a prior conviction has already served to enhance the class of the crime. 
 
Public Law 2005, chapter 527 clarifies that when 2 or more provisions in Title 17-A, section 1252 are pled and 
proved by the State to enhance the class of the crime these provisions may be applied successively as long as 
those to be made successive contain different class enhancement factors.  For example, if the State pled and 
proved that the Class D crime of reckless conduct was committed with the use of a dangerous weapon and, at the 
time of its commission, the defendant had been convicted of 2 or more qualifying crimes, the class of the reckless 
conduct would be elevated successively from Class D to Class C and from Class C to Class B, because 
subsections 4 and 4-A constitute enhancement factors reflecting different public policy concerns. 
 
Public Law 2005, chapter 527 removes the current exception for eligibility for deferred disposition, which is that 
the crime expressly provides that one or more punishment alternatives it authorizes may not be suspended.  It also 
is important to remove this exception in order to allow the flexibility in sentencing options now available under 
Title 17-A, section 1348-B, subsection 1 and to recognize the fact that the Legislature also recently added a 
mandatory minimum fine to the Maine Criminal Code crime for assault and to all drug crimes in Title 17-A, 
chapter 45. 
 
Public Law 2005, chapter 527 removes that portion of the paragraph authorizing judicial fact-finding at the 
sentencing hearing and requires instead that “accompanied by sexual assault” be pleaded and proved beyond a 
reasonable doubt to the fact-finder at the trial.  The change is required under both the United States Constitution 
and the Constitution of Maine because “accompanied by sexual assault” is a fact incident to attempted murder or 
murder that makes the person a “repeat sexual assault offender” who consequently is subject to a term of 
imprisonment for any term of years rather than a lesser definite term as specified under Title 17-A, section 1252, 
subsection 2.  See Blakely v. Washington, 542 U.S. 296 (2004); State v. Schofield, 2005 ME 82, 876 A.2d 43. 
 
 
LD 2016 An Act To Extend the Corrections Alternatives Advisory 

Committee  
PUBLIC 667

EMERGENCY
 
 

Sponsor(s)    Committee Report Amendments Adopted 
BLANCHETTE OTP-AM        H-859    

DIAMOND   
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LD 2016 proposed to amend Public Law 2005, chapter 386, Part J, which established the Corrections Alternatives 
Advisory Committee.  The bill proposed to extend the life of the advisory committee to December 15, 2006, 
expand its membership and authorize additional meetings and a final report to the Legislature.  The bill also 
proposed to authorize the advisory committee to carry forward any remaining funds in order to support its 
continued work. 
 
Committee Amendment “A” (H-859) proposed to incorporate a fiscal note. 
 
Enacted law summary 
 
Public Law 2005, chapter 667 amends Public Law 2005, chapter 386, Part J, which established the Corrections 
Alternatives Advisory Committee.  Public Law 2005, chapter 667 extends the life of the advisory committee to 
December 15, 2006, expands its membership and authorizes additional meetings and a final report to the 
Legislature.  The bill also authorizes the advisory committee to carry forward any remaining funds in order to 
support its continued work. 
 
Public Law 2005, chapter 667 was enacted as an emergency measure effective May 30, 2006. 
 
 
LD 2028 An Act To Establish a Computer Crimes Unit within the Maine 

State Police Crime Laboratory  
PUBLIC 676

EMERGENCY
 
 

Sponsor(s)    Committee Report Amendments Adopted 
 OTP-AM        S-519    
  S-674   ROTUNDO 

 
LD 2028 was proposed by the Joint Standing Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety.  The bill 
proposed to repeal the Maine Computer Crimes Task Force and create a new Computer Crimes Unit to be housed 
within the Maine State Police Crime Laboratory, which is part of the State Police Program.  The bill proposed that 
the Computer Crimes Unit will consist of 6 full-time positions, 4 of which already exist and 2 that are new.  The 
bill also proposed that the Computer Crimes Unit will continue the work of the Maine Computer Crimes Task 
Force by working collaboratively with the Department of the Attorney General and local law enforcement 
agencies for the purposes of investigation and assisting all law enforcement agencies in crimes involving 
computers. 
 
Committee Amendment “A” (S-519) proposed to incorporate a fiscal note. 
 
Senate Amendment “A” (S-674) proposed to replace the bill and to require that 3/14 of the surcharge collected 
and deposited in the Government Operations Surcharge Fund be paid to the Maine Criminal Justice Academy and 
1/14 of the surcharge collected and deposited in the Government Operations Surcharge Fund be paid to the State 
Police to supplement current funds for computer crimes investigations.  The amendment proposed to repeal the 
statute that established the Maine Computer Crimes Task Force and appropriate funds for the creation of a new 
computer crimes unit to be housed within the Maine State Police Crime Laboratory, which is part of the State 
Police program.  The computer crimes unit will consist of 6 full-time positions, 4 of which already exist and 2 that 
are new.  The computer crimes unit will continue the work of the Maine Computer Crimes Task Force by working 
collaboratively with the Department of the Attorney General and local law enforcement agencies for the purposes 
of investigation and assisting all law enforcement agencies in crimes involving computers.
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Enacted law summary 
 
Public Law 2005, chapter 676 requires that 3/14 of the surcharge collected and deposited in the Government 
Operations Surcharge Fund be paid to the Maine Criminal Justice Academy and 1/14 of the surcharge collected 
and deposited in the Government Operations Surcharge Fund be paid to the State Police to supplement current 
funds for computer crimes investigations.  Public Law 2005, chapter 676 repeals the statute that established the 
Maine Computer Crimes Task Force and appropriates funds for the creation of a new computer crimes unit to be 
housed within the Maine State Police Crime Laboratory, which is part of the State Police program.  The computer 
crimes unit will consist of 6 full-time positions, 4 of which already exist and 2 that are new.  The computer crimes 
unit will continue the work of the Maine Computer Crimes Task Force by working collaboratively with the 
Department of the Attorney General and local law enforcement agencies for the purposes of investigation and 
assisting all law enforcement agencies in crimes involving computers. 
 
Public Law 2005, chapter 676 was enacted as an emergency measure effective June 1, 2006.
 
 
LD 2031 An Act To Authorize Certain County Jail Employees To Perform 

Certain Ministerial and Notary Functions for Inmates  
PUBLIC 541

EMERGENCY
 
 

Sponsor(s)    Committee Report Amendments Adopted 
 OTP-AM        H-863    

 
LD 2031 was an emergency bill introduced by the Criminal Law Advisory Commission.  The bill proposed to 
authorizes a county jail employee to perform, without fee, the ministerial functions associated with releasing a 
county jail prisoner on personal recognizance or an unsecured appearance bond if a court has already ordered such 
a release, with or without additional conditions but without the financial conditions that would create a secured 
bond.  LD 2031 would allow this only if the sheriff had authorized the county jail employee to perform these 
functions. 
 
Committee Amendment “A” (H-863) proposed to replace the bill and that, beginning April 15, 2006, county jail 
employees, other than corrections officers or deputy sheriffs, who have a commission as a notary public to 
provide notary public services may provide those services for inmates if authorized by the sheriff.  Inmates 
frequently require access to notary public services and unless county jail employees are allowed to perform them, 
there is no practical way for inmates to obtain such access.  On February 28, 1989, “judicial officer or notary 
public” was substituted for “magistrate” in this provision, apparently in the mistaken belief that a notary public 
performed judicial functions.  However, as of 1988 this was no longer true, and a notary public was restricted to 
performing only ministerial functions.  Therefore, there is no legal impediment to or conflict of interest for a jail 
employee to also act a notary public for inmates.   

 
This amendment also proposed to add an emergency preamble and a retroactivity clause.  Due to ignorance of the 
law on the part of inmates and employees alike, since 1989 numerous county jail inmates have requested and been 
afforded notary public services from county jail employees including notarizing documents like affidavits, wills, 
living wills, and powers of attorney and performing marriage ceremonies.  Making this change retroactive would 
validate the authority to act as a notary a jail employee who provided notary services for an inmate at any time 
since 1989.  
 
Enacted law summary 
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Beginning April 15, 2006, Public Law 2005, chapter 541 authorizes county jail employees, except corrections 
officers or deputy sheriffs, who have a commission as a notary public to provide notary public services for 
inmates if the employees are authorized to do so by the sheriff.  Inmates frequently require access to notary public 
services and unless county jail employees are allowed to perform them, there is no practical way for inmates to 
obtain such access.  On February 28, 1989, “judicial officer or notary public” was substituted for “magistrate” in 
the statute, apparently in the mistaken belief that a notary public performed judicial functions.  However, as of 
1988 this was no longer true, and a notary public was restricted to performing only ministerial functions.  
Therefore, there is no legal impediment to or conflict of interest for a jail employee to also act a notary public for 
inmates.   

 
Public Law 2005, chapter 541 is retroactive, thereby validating the authority to act as a notary to a jail employee 
who provided notary services for an inmate at any time since 1989.  Due to ignorance of the law on the part of 
inmates and employees alike, since 1989, numerous county jail inmates have requested and been afforded notary 
public services from county jail employees, including notarizing documents like affidavits, wills, living wills, and 
powers of attorney and performing marriage ceremonies.   
 
Public Law 2005, chapter 541 was enacted as an emergency measure effective April 5, 2006. 
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LD 2044 An Act To Enhance the Protection of Maine Families from 

Terrorism and Natural Disasters  
PUBLIC 634

EMERGENCY
 
 

Sponsor(s)    Committee Report Amendments Adopted 
 OTP-AM        H-1066  DUPLESSIE 
  S-575    
  S-651   STRIMLING 

 
LD 2044 was recommended by the Task Force to Study Maine's Homeland Security Needs.  This bill proposed to 
do the following: 
 
1. Place matters pertaining to the Maine Emergency Management Agency (MEMA) and its director under the 

jurisdiction of the joint standing committee of the Legislature having jurisdiction over criminal justice and 
public safety matters and assign that committee the responsibility of reviewing that agency under the 
provisions of the State Government Evaluation Act.  The bill proposed to create the Homeland Security 
Advisory Council to advise the Governor on the coordination of homeland security activities of state agencies 
and the most effective use of grant funds and to make the Director of MEMA chair of the council; 

 
2. Direct the Statewide Radio Network Board, which consists of the Chief Information Officer and agencies 

using the statewide radio and network system, to develop protocols and procedures for frequency 
coordination throughout the State during emergencies and to obtain memoranda of understanding from certain 
stakeholders.  The bill proposed to require the Statewide Radio Network Board to report to the Task Force to 
Study Maine's Homeland Security Needs on its progress by September 18, 2006.  It proposed to clarify that 
the Chief Information Officer and other agencies using the statewide radio and network system may operate 
as a board to establish standards for statewide radio and network system operations; 

 
3. Authorize the Governor to bring the balance of the Disaster Relief Fund up to $3,000,000.  It proposed to 

require that any interest that accrues in the fund in excess of $3,000,000 be transferred by the State Controller 
to the Maine Budget Stabilization Fund.  The bill also proposed to provide that the Disaster Relief Fund may 
be used for the purpose of matching federal funds in the event of a federally declared disaster and that the 
Director of MEMA report annually to the Governor and the Legislature on the fund’s balance and 
expenditures beginning January 15, 2007; 

 
4. Require the Director of the Maine Center for Disease Control and Prevention within the Department of Health 

and Human Services to coordinate with the Department of Defense, Veterans and Emergency Management, 
Maine Emergency Management Agency on the planning and expenditure of federal funds received by the 
center for homeland security or bioterrorism prevention.  The bill also proposed to require the advisor of the 
Homeland Security Advisory Council to report annually to the joint standing committee of the Legislature 
having jurisdiction over health and human services matters and the joint standing committee of the 
Legislature having jurisdiction over criminal justice and public safety matters on the use of those funds; 

 
5. Require that the Director of MEMA be qualified by education, training or experience in the emergency 

management profession, appointed by the Governor, subject to review by the joint standing committee of the 
Legislature having jurisdiction over criminal justice and public safety matters and confirmation by the 
Legislature.  It also proposed to provide that the director shall represent the Governor on all matters pertaining 
to the comprehensive emergency management program and the disaster and emergency response of the State.  
It proposed to require the director to conduct periodic assessments of the use of state radio frequencies in 
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emergencies and directs the director to develop and produce emergency preparedness public service 
announcements to be broadcast regularly on local broadcasting networks; 

 
6. Require the Director of MEMA to survey Maine communities to gather information on the types of 

emergency notification systems that are in place throughout the State, evacuation plans for nursing homes 
currently adopted throughout the State and shelter capabilities throughout the State, with a focus on 
determining how shelters are designed to accommodate populations with special needs, particularly persons 
with disabilities; 

 
7. Direct the Director of the MEMA to coordinate with the Commissioner of Education to perform an 

assessment of the number of Maine public schools that have adopted an all-hazards approach to emergency 
preparedness and requires the director and the commissioner to coordinate their efforts for community 
outreach for all-hazards emergency planning.  The bill proposed to require the director to report by September 
18, 2006 to the Task Force to Study Maine's Homeland Security Needs with its findings and 
recommendations.  This bill also proposed to require that all new schools be designed to include backup 
energy generators or be wired for portable energy generators, thus enabling their use as public shelters; 

 
8. Require the Commissioner of Education to determine methods for incorporating emergency plans within the 

elementary and secondary public school curriculum.  It proposed to require the commissioner to report by 
January 15, 2007 with findings and proposed recommended changes to the curriculum to the joint standing 
committee of the Legislature having jurisdiction over education and cultural affairs and the joint standing 
committee of the Legislature having jurisdiction over criminal justice and public safety matters; 

 
9. Direct the Maine Center for Disease Control and Prevention, in conjunction with the Maine Hospital 

Association, to update its survey of emergency health system capacity in the State and to report to the Task 
Force to Study Maine's Homeland Security Needs on the results of this study and recommendations to address 
surge capacity by September 18, 2006; and 

 
10. Require the Director of the Maine Center for Disease Control and Prevention to work with stakeholders to 

ensure that the regional resource centers are provided sufficient funding, and require the director to study the 
qualifications of local health officers and develop recommendations for enhancing their role in emergency 
preparedness plans.  It proposed to require the director to report to the Task Force to Study Maine's Homeland 
Security Needs on the results of this study and proposed recommendations by September 18, 2006 and to the 
joint standing committee of the Legislature having jurisdiction over health and human services matters and 
the joint standing committee of the Legislature having jurisdiction over criminal justice matters by January 
15, 2007. 

 
Committee Amendment “A” (S-575) proposed to do the following: 
 
1. Direct the Commissioner of Administrative and Financial Services to recommend that, effective July 1, 2007, 

45% of the rental income collected by the Department of Administrative and Financial Services, Bureau of 
General Services, up to $3,000,000, be transferred to the Department of Defense, Veterans and Emergency 
Management, Disaster Assistance Relief, Other Special Revenue Funds account for disaster assistance.  The 
fund must be the first resource used when an emergency is proclaimed under the Maine Revised Statutes, 
Title 37-B, section 742 or 744; 

 
2. Direct the Department of Education to amend its written application for funding for school construction 

projects to include the question:  “Do you plan to use your school as a public community shelter?”  The 
amendment also proposed to specify that in the case of a school construction project in which the school is 
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expected to be used as a community shelter, the State Board of Education may approve only those projects 
designed to accommodate backup energy generators; 

 
3. Modify the required qualifications of the Director of MEMA within the Department of Defense, Veterans and 

Emergency Management to require education, training or experience in managing emergencies or in the 
emergency management profession.  The amendment proposed to specify that the Director of MEMA acts 
subject to the direction and control of the Commissioner of Defense, Veterans and Emergency Management.  
The amendment proposed to repeal an archaic reference in the duties of the Director of MEMA that specifies 
that the director may not require any political subdivision to participate in any program of nuclear civil 
protection planning.  Finally, in the duties of the Director of MEMA, the amendment proposed to clarify that 
the director shall develop and conduct an annual program of comprehensive public education, using all 
appropriate means of communication to educate and inform members of the public and public officials about 
emergency preparedness, response, recovery and mitigation.  The amendment proposed that the program must 
incorporate the use of appropriate accessible formats to educate and inform individuals with disabilities, 
individuals who are elderly and non-English-speaking residents of Maine; 

 
4. Expand the directive to the Director of MEMA to evaluate emergency notification systems and evacuation 

plans and shelters to include evaluation of plans for other long-term care facilities besides nursing homes, 
including home-based and community-based programs, and evacuation plans for individuals living 
independently in communities who due to age or disability require assistance to evacuate; 

 
5. Strike language requiring the Director of MEMA and the Commissioner of Education to develop and 

incorporate emergency plans into the public school curriculum, as the law authorizes this planning, and it is 
currently taking place; 

 
6. Specify that the parties to be involved in updating information on Maine's emergency health system capacity 

include the Director of the Center for Disease Control and Prevention within the Department of Health and 
Human Services, in conjunction with health system stakeholders.  The amendment also proposed to specify 
that the Director of the Center for Disease Control and Prevention, in coordination with the Director of 
MEMA and the Director of Maine Emergency Medical Services within the Department of Public Safety in 
consultation with health system stakeholders, including the Maine Primary Care Association, the Maine 
Hospital Association and other interested parties, shall develop recommendations to address Maine's acute 
medical and public health surge capacity; 

 
7. Direct the Director of the Maine Center for Disease Control and Prevention to work with health care and 

emergency management stakeholders to distribute grant funds provided by the United States Department of 
Health and Human Services, Health Resources and Services Administration to ensure that the regional 
resource centers are provided with sufficient funding resources to improve health system preparedness, within 
the limits of the federal funds, in accordance with the documented local needs of the federally specified 
funding beneficiaries: emergency medical services, poison control centers, health clinics and hospitals in each 
region.  The amendment proposed that the Maine Center for Disease Control and Prevention shall report to 
the task Force to Study Maine’s Homeland Security Needs on the results of the federal Health Resources and 
Services Administration grant and contract with the regional resource centers and other health system 
providers and on proposed recommendations and to report the same information to the joint standing 
committee of the Legislature having jurisdiction over health and human services matters and to the joint 
standing committee of the Legislature having jurisdiction over criminal justice and public safety matters.  The 
amendment further proposed that the Maine Center for Disease Control and Prevention shall also report 
annually, beginning January 15, 2007, to the joint standing committee of the Legislature having jurisdiction 
over health and human services matters and the joint standing committee of the Legislature having 
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jurisdiction over criminal justice and public safety matters on the progress of the grantees on meeting the 
stated contractual deliverables; 

 
8. Repeal the application section regarding school construction projects; 
 
9. Add several new sections to the bill, including directing the Director of the MEMA to consult with the Public 

Utilities Commission to determine the feasibility of adding a disability indicator to the current E-9-1-1 system 
in Maine to allow individuals with disabilities and special health needs to choose to provide a 2-digit code 
identifying special assistance needs in an emergency; directing the Maine Center for Disease Control and 
Prevention to submit a report to the Task Force to Study Maine's Homeland Security Needs by September 18, 
2006 detailing the number of health care workers, by profession, registered in the federal Emergency System 
for Advance Registration of Voluntary Health Professionals; and authorizing 2 additional meetings of the 
Task Force to Study Maine's Homeland Security Needs;   

 
10. Strike language that gives the Joint Standing Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety jurisdiction 

over matters pertaining to MEMA, as oversight of the agency can be inferred from the committee's review of 
the agency under the State Government Evaluation Act process and by confirmation of its director; and 

 
11. Add an appropriations and allocations section. 
 
House Amendment “D” to Committee Amendment “A” (H-1066) proposed to strike a section from Committee 
Amendment “A” that altered a transfer of funding and instead proposed to increase the funding for the Task Force 
to Study Maine's Homeland Security Needs in order to increase the number of authorized public hearings in fiscal 
year 2006-07 from one to 2. 
 
Senate Amendment “B” to Committee Amendment “A” (S-651) proposed to incorporate the changes made in 
House Amendment “C” to Committee Amendment “A” and to limit the Governor to transferring 10% of the 
balance of rental income from facilities in Limestone in the case of an emergency to provide funds for disaster 
relief. 
 
House Amendment “A” to Committee Amendment “A” (H-985), which was not adopted,  proposed to strike 
the language that modifies the required qualifications of the Director of MEMA within the Department of 
Defense, Veterans and Emergency Management to require education, training or experience in managing 
emergencies or in the emergency management profession.  The amendment also proposed to strike the language 
that requires that the Director of MEMA be appointed by the Governor, serve at the pleasure of the Governor, be 
for responsible for notifying the Governor and Commissioner of Defense, Veterans and Emergency Management 
of all emergencies and represent the Governor on all matters pertaining to the comprehensive emergency 
management program and the disaster and emergency response of the State. 
 
House Amendment “B” to Committee Amendment “A” (H-999), which was not adopted, proposed to strike 
the language that requires that the Director of MEMA be appointed by the Governor, serve at the pleasure of the 
Governor, be responsible for notifying the Governor and Commissioner of Defense, Veterans and Emergency 
Management of all emergencies and represent the Governor on all matters pertaining to the comprehensive 
emergency management program and the disaster and emergency response of the State. 
 
House Amendment “C” to Committee Amendment “A” (H-1035), which was not adopted, proposed to give 
the Governor authority to take money from rental income of facilities in Limestone in the case of an emergency 
pursuant to the Maine Revised Statutes, Title 37-B, section 742 or 744 if money is needed for disaster relief. 
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This amendment also proposed to reduce the amount of rental income that the Department of Administrative and 
Financial Services, Bureau of General Services must transfer to the Department of Defense, Veterans and 
Emergency Management, Disaster Assistance Relief, Other Special Revenue Funds account for disaster assistance 
from 45% to 22.5%. 
 
The amendment also proposed to require that the Director of the Maine Emergency Management Agency be 
appointed by the Governor upon recommendation by the Commissioner of Defense, Veterans and Emergency 
Management, subject to confirmation of the joint standing committee of the Legislature having jurisdiction over 
the Department of Public Safety and the Legislature. 
 
Finally, this amendment proposed to provide that, beginning July 1, 2007, a portion of the rental income from 
Maine Military Authority facilities in Limestone must be used for the repair and maintenance of National Guard 
armories in the State. 
 
Senate Amendment “A” to Committee Amendment “A” (S-625), which was not adopted, proposed to strike a 
section from Committee Amendment “A” that altered a transfer of funding and instead increases the funding for 
the Task Force to Study Maine's Homeland Security Needs in order to increase the number of authorized public 
hearings in fiscal year 2006-07 from one to 2. 
 
Enacted law summary 
 
Public Law 2005, chapter 634 enacts a number of the interim recommendations of the Task Force to Study 
Maine's Homeland Security Needs, as amended by the Joint Standing Committee on Criminal Justice and Public 
Safety and the Legislature.  Public Law 2005, chapter 634 does the following. 
 
1. It assigns to the committee of the Legislature having jurisdiction over criminal justice and public safety 

matters the responsibility of reviewing the Maine Emergency Management Agency (MEMA) under the 
provisions of the State Government Evaluation Act. 

 
2. It directs the Statewide Radio Network Board, which consists of the Chief Information Officer and agencies 

using the statewide radio and network system, to develop protocols and procedures for frequency 
coordination throughout the State during emergencies and to obtain memoranda of understanding from certain 
stakeholders.  The Statewide Radio Network Board shall report to the Task Force to Study Maine's Homeland 
Security Needs on its progress by September 18, 2006.  It also clarifies that the Chief Information Officer and 
other agencies using the statewide radio and network system may operate as a board to establish standards for 
statewide radio and network system operations. 

 
3. Beginning July 1, 2007, it specifies, in regard to the rental income from the rental of facilities at Limestone, 

that, notwithstanding any other law, the Department of Administrative and Financial Services, Bureau of 
General Services must transfer 22.5% of the income to the Department of Defense, Veterans and Emergency 
Management, Disaster Assistance Relief, Other Special Revenue Funds account for disaster assistance.  The 
total amount that may be transferred is capped at $3,000,000.  In addition, notwithstanding any other law and 
except when the Governor in the case of a declared emergency needs money for disaster relief, the Governor 
may transfer no more than 10% of the balance of rental income from facilities in Limestone.  It also specifies 
that beginning July 1, 2007, part of the rental income collected be transferred to the Department of Defense, 
Veterans and Emergency Management for maintenance and repair of National Guard armories in the State. 
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4. It creates the Homeland Security Advisory Council to advise the Governor on the coordination of homeland 
security activities of state agencies and the most effective use of grant funds and makes the Director of 
MEMA chair of the council. 

 
5. It directs the Department of Education to amend its written application for funding for school construction 

projects to include the question:  “Do you plan to use your school as a public community shelter?”  It also 
requires that in the case of a school construction project in which the school is expected to be used as a 
community shelter, the State Board of Education may approve only those projects designed to accommodate 
backup energy generators. 

 
6. It requires the Director of the Maine Center for Disease Control and Prevention within the Department of 

Health and Human Services to coordinate with the Department of Defense, Veterans and Emergency 
Management, Maine Emergency Management Agency on the planning and expenditure of federal funds 
received by the center for homeland security or bioterrorism prevention.  It also requires the advisor of the 
Homeland Security Advisory Council to report annually to the joint standing committee of the Legislature 
having jurisdiction over health and human services matters and the joint standing committee of the 
Legislature having jurisdiction over criminal justice and public safety matters on the use of those funds. 

 
7. It requires that the Director of the Maine Emergency Management Agency be qualified by education, training 

or experience in managing emergencies and be appointed by the Governor upon recommendation by the 
Commissioner of Defense, Veterans and Emergency Management, subject to confirmation of the joint 
standing committee of the Legislature having jurisdiction over the Department of Public Safety and the 
Legislature.  It also provides that the director shall represent the Governor on all matters pertaining to the 
comprehensive emergency management program and the disaster and emergency response of the State.  It 
requires the director to develop and conduct an annual program of comprehensive public education, using all 
appropriate means of communication to educate and inform members of the public and public officials about 
emergency preparedness, response, recovery and mitigation.  The program must incorporate the use of 
appropriate accessible formats to educate and inform individuals with disabilities, individuals who are elderly 
and non-English-speaking residents of Maine. 

 
8. It requires the Director of MEMA to survey Maine communities to gather information on the types of 

emergency notification systems that are in place throughout the State, evacuation plans for nursing homes and 
other long-term care facilities, including home-based and community-based programs, and evacuation plans 
for individuals living independently in communities who due to age or disability require assistance to 
evacuate. 

 
9. It directs the Director of the MEMA to coordinate with the Commissioner of Education to perform an 

assessment of the number of Maine public schools that have adopted an all-hazards approach to emergency 
preparedness and requires the director and the commissioner to coordinate their efforts for community 
outreach for all-hazards emergency planning.   

 
10. It directs the Director of the Center for Disease Control and Prevention within the Department of Health and 

Human Services, in conjunction with health system stakeholders, to update its survey of emergency health 
system capacity in the State.  It also specifies that the Director of the Center for Disease Control and 
Prevention, in coordination with the Director of MEMA and the Director of Maine Emergency Medical 
Services within the Department of Public Safety in consultation with health system stakeholders, including 
the Maine Primary Care Association, the Maine Hospital Association and other interested parties, shall 
develop recommendations to address Maine's acute medical and public health surge capacity. 
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11. It directs the Director of the Center for Disease Control and Prevention, in conjunction with stakeholders and 
other interested parties, to study the qualifications and duties of local health officers in Maine and develop 
recommendations for enhancing the role of local health officers in emergency preparedness plans. 

 
12. It directs the Director of the Maine Center for Disease Control and Prevention to work with health care and 

emergency management stakeholders to distribute grant funds provided by the United States Department of 
Health and Human Services, Health Resources and Services Administration to ensure that the regional 
resource centers are provided with sufficient funding resources to improve health system preparedness, within 
the limits of the federal funds, in accordance with the documented local needs of the federally specified 
funding beneficiaries: emergency medical services, poison control centers, health clinics and hospitals in each 
region.  The Maine Center for Disease Control and Prevention shall report to the task Force to Study Maine’s 
Homeland Security Needs on the results of the federal Health Resources and Services Administration grant 
and contract with the regional resource centers and other health system providers and on proposed 
recommendations.  The Maine Center for Disease Control and Prevention shall report the same to the joint 
standing committee of the Legislature having jurisdiction over health and human services matters and to the 
joint standing committee of the Legislature having jurisdiction over criminal justice and public safety matters.  
The Maine Center for Disease Control and Prevention shall also report annually, beginning January 15, 2007, 
to the joint standing committee of the Legislature having jurisdiction over health and human services matters 
and the joint standing committee of the Legislature having jurisdiction over criminal justice and public safety 
matters on the progress of the grantees on meeting the stated contractual deliverables. 

 
13. It directs the Director of the MEMA to consult with the Public Utilities Commission to determine the 

feasibility of adding a disability indicator to the current E-9-1-1 system in Maine to allow individuals with 
disabilities and special health needs to choose to provide a 2-digit code identifying special assistance needs in 
an emergency. 

 
14. It directs the Maine Center for Disease Control and Prevention to submit a report to the Task Force to Study 

Maine's Homeland Security Needs by September 18, 2006 detailing the number of health care workers, by 
profession, registered in the federal Emergency System for Advance Registration of Voluntary Health 
Professionals. 

 
Public Law 2005, chapter 634 was enacted as an emergency measure effective May 9, 2006. 
 
 
LD 2046 An Act To Implement the Recommendations of the Attorney 

General's Working Group Regarding Sentencing Factors for 
Crimes against Persons Who Are Homeless  

PUBLIC 551

 
 

Sponsor(s)    Committee Report Amendments Adopted 
 OTP          MAJ  
 ONTP         MIN  

 
LD 2046 proposed to implement the recommendations of the Attorney General's working group regarding the 
advisability of implementing aggravating sentencing factors for crimes against persons who are homeless, which 
was established pursuant to Public Law 2005, chapter 393.  The bill proposed to amend the purpose section of the 
general sentencing provisions of the Maine Criminal Code by adding homelessness to the list of factors, such as 
the age, religion and sexual orientation of a victim, that a court considers in determining the gravity of an offense 
in sentencing. 
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Enacted law summary 
 
Public Law 2005, chapter 551 implements the recommendations of the Attorney General's working group 
regarding the advisability of implementing aggravating sentencing factors for crimes against persons who are 
homeless, which was established pursuant to Public Law 2005, chapter 393.  Public Law 2005, chapter 551 
amends the purpose section of the general sentencing provisions of the Maine Criminal Code by adding 
homelessness to the list of factors, such as the age, religion and sexual orientation of a victim, that a court 
considers in determining the gravity of an offense in sentencing. 
 
 
LD 2108 An Act Regarding the Sentencing of Persons Convicted of Gross 

Sexual Assault against Victims under 12 Years of Age  
INDEF PP

 
 

Sponsor(s)    Committee Report Amendments Adopted 
GERZOFSKY   

BRENNAN   
 
LD 2108 proposed to require a court, in a case involving gross sexual assault against a victim who has not yet 
attained 12 years of age, to specify a term of imprisonment for any term of years, including a term that exceeds 30 
years, which is the maximum allowed for a Class A crime.  The bill proposed that, in making its determination, 
the court is required to start with a basic period of imprisonment of 20 years; using that term as a starting point, 
the court may then increase or decrease the term of imprisonment based upon all other relevant sentencing factors, 
both aggravating and mitigating, appropriate to that case.  These sentencing factors include, but are not limited to, 
the character of the offender and the offender's criminal history, the effect of the offense on the victim and the 
protection of the public interest.  LD 2108 also proposed to impose probation for life for persons convicted of 
gross sexual assault against persons who have not attained 12 years of age and to require that these persons, when 
released from prison, be subject to supervision by the Department of Corrections that includes electronic 
monitoring for the duration of the probation. 
 
LD 2108 was not referred to committee.  Please see LD 1717. 
 
 
LD 2116 An Act To Provide Protection for Victims of Domestic Violence  PUBLIC 671
 
 

Sponsor(s)    Committee Report Amendments Adopted 
STRIMLING   

SIMPSON   
 
LD 2116 proposed to specify that, upon receiving information from a federal agency that through a criminal 
background check an individual subject to a protection from abuse order has illegally attempted to purchase a 
firearm, the Department of Public Safety shall share that information with the individual who is intended to be 
protected by the order and with another law enforcement agency with jurisdiction in the municipality in which 
that individual resides as quickly as practicable. 
 
The bill also proposed to specify that the Department of Public Safety may accomplish the notification process by 
notifying another law enforcement agency within the county in which the individual intended to be protected by 
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the protection from abuse order resides.  The bill proposed that when the department makes notification through 
such a law enforcement agency, that agency then must make reasonable effort to notify as quickly as practicable 
the individual intended to be protected by the protection from abuse order.  The bill further proposed that if, when 
notifying another law enforcement agency, the department is informed by that agency that it cannot notify the 
individual intended to be protected by the protection from abuse order, the department must continue to make its 
own reasonable effort to notify that individual as quickly as practicable, and this may be accomplished through a 
different law enforcement agency within the county in which the individual resides. 
 
The bill also proposed to clarify that the immunity provision does not prohibit the State or a political subdivision 
of the State from pursuing legally authorized disciplinary action. 
This bill was introduced to replace LD 1938, as amended by Committee Amendment “A,” which died between the 
bodies. 
 
Enacted law summary 
 
Public Law 2005, chapter 671 specifies that, upon receiving information from a federal agency that through a 
criminal background check an individual subject to a protection from abuse order has illegally attempted to 
purchase a firearm, the Department of Public Safety shall share that information with the individual who is 
intended to be protected by the order and with another law enforcement agency with jurisdiction in the 
municipality in which that individual resides as quickly as practicable. 
 
Public Law 2005, chapter 671 further specifies that the Department of Public Safety may accomplish the 
notification process by notifying another law enforcement agency within the county in which the individual 
intended to be protected by the protection from abuse order resides.  When the department makes notification 
through such a law enforcement agency, that agency then must make reasonable effort to notify as quickly as 
practicable the individual intended to be protected by the protection from abuse order.  If, when notifying another 
law enforcement agency, the department is informed by that agency that it cannot notify the individual intended to 
be protected by the protection from abuse order, the department must continue to make its own reasonable effort 
to notify that individual as quickly as practicable, and this may be accomplished through a different law 
enforcement agency within the county in which the individual resides. 
 
 
LD 2118 An Act Relating to the Handling of Firearms Confiscated by Law 

Enforcement Officers Pursuant to a Court Order  
PUBLIC 684

 
 

Sponsor(s)    Committee Report Amendments Adopted 
MILLS J  S-695   DIAMOND 

 
LD 2118 proposed to direct the Maine Criminal Justice Academy to provide training for municipal, county and 
state law enforcement officers regarding the proper handling, storage, safekeeping and return of firearms and 
firearm accessories received pursuant to a protection from abuse order. 
 
The bill proposed to provide that in developing materials for training in domestic violence issues, the Maine 
Criminal Justice Academy may consult with a statewide organization involved in advocacy for victims of 
domestic violence and with an organization having statewide membership representing the interests of firearms 
owners. 
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The bill also proposed to provide that a law enforcement officer who receives custody of a firearm pursuant to a 
protection from abuse order shall exercise reasonable care to avoid loss, damage or reduction in value of such 
firearm and may not permanently mark the firearm or fire the firearm unless there is reasonable suspicion that the 
firearm has been used in the commission of a crime.  Any liability for damage or reduction in value to such a 
firearm is governed by the Maine Tort Claims Act. 
 
Senate Amendment “A” (S-695) proposed to provide that the requirements of the bill begin January 1, 2008. 
 
Enacted law summary 
 
Public Law 2005, chapter 684 directs the Maine Criminal Justice Academy to provide training for municipal, 
county and state law enforcement officers regarding the proper handling, storage, safekeeping and return of 
firearms and firearm accessories received pursuant to a protection from abuse order. 
 
Public Law 2005, chapter 684 provides that in developing materials for training in domestic violence issues, the 
Maine Criminal Justice Academy may consult with a statewide organization involved in advocacy for victims of 
domestic violence and with an organization having statewide membership representing the interests of firearms 
owners. 
 
Public Law 2005, chapter 684 also provides that a law enforcement officer who receives custody of a firearm 
pursuant to a protection from abuse order shall exercise reasonable care to avoid loss, damage or reduction in 
value of such firearm and may not permanently mark the firearm or fire the firearm unless there is reasonable 
suspicion that the firearm has been used in the commission of a crime.  Any liability for damage or reduction in 
value to such a firearm is governed by the Maine Tort Claims Act. 
 
Public Law 2005, chapter 684 is effective January 1, 2008. 


