

To: Members of the Joint Standing Committee on Environment and Natural Resources Subject: Opposition to LD 1423 – An Act to Improve Recycling by Updating the Stewardship Program for Packaging

Senator Tepler, Representative Doudera, and Members of the ENR Committee,

As members of the Maine Resource Recovery Association's recycling cooperative, we are committed to reducing waste, conserving resources, and supporting strong, sustainable local recycling systems. We write to express our opposition to **LD 1423**, *An Act to Improve Recycling by Updating the Stewardship Program for Packaging.*

We urge the Committee to vote "**Ought Not to Pass**" on this bill. Our concerns are as follows:

1. LD 1423 would delay relief for Maine communities.

This bill effectively postpones the implementation of Maine's Extended Producer Responsibility (EPR) for Packaging program. Communities across our state are already stretched thin trying to manage the high costs of recycling. This delay means they will wait even longer for the financial support that the EPR program is meant to provide.

2. Expanded producer exemptions shift the burden to taxpayers.

LD 1423 creates or expands exemptions for producers, meaning fewer producers will be paying into the program. This results in more of the responsibility—and cost—being passed on to Maine residents and municipalities, many of whom are already struggling to manage packaging waste.

3. Municipalities need support, not setbacks.

Local governments are on the front lines of the waste and recycling system, and they need real, immediate support to manage packaging waste. This bill undermines the intent of the original EPR law, which was to provide exactly that support through a fair and effective producer-funded system.

4. Maine communities care, but our voices are often under-resourced. Our small towns and local co-ops do not have lobbying budgets or PR firms—but we do have deep, ongoing concern for the health of our environment and the sustainability of our communities. We urge you to uphold the original EPR law and reject LD 1423.

The time for action is now—not years down the line. Please vote **"Ought Not to Pass"** on LD 1423 and keep Maine moving forward on responsible, equitable solutions for managing packaging waste.

Sincerely, Victor Horton

Here is a list of the members that we were able to reach since Friday that expressed concern for the proposed LD 1423.

It may not be apparent by the list but several of the Municipality/Organizations manage the waste for several towns in their region and district.

Name	Title	Municipality/Organization
Lori Keefe	Office Administrator	'Town of Garland
Randy Cookson	Solid Waste Director	Town of Gray
Carole Cifrino	Committee Member	Town of Whitefield Recycling Committee
JOHN ARSENAULT	MANAGER	NOBLEBORO/JEFFERSON TRANSFER
Ben Caron	Manager	Town of St.George (includes Tennants Harbor)
Frederick L Jacobs	Transfer Station Manager	Aroostook Valley Solid Waste Disposal District
Hillary Lister	First Selectman	Town of Athens
Tonia Pike	Facility Manager	Norway Paris Solid Waste
Mark Draper	Solid Waste Director	Aroostook Waste Solutions
Leigh Juskevice	Manager	Unity Area Regional Recycling Center
ROBERT BUTLER	Transfer Station Committee Chair	Town of Waldoboro
Diana Hauser	Board Member	Unity Area Regional recycling Center UARRC
Paul Hauser	Town of Unity Resident	Unity Area Regional Recycling Center UARRC
James Fisher	Deer Isle Town Manager	Town of Deer Isle
Michael Berry	Solid Waste Representative	Town of Thorndike
S.Paige Zeigler	Chair	Unity Area Regional Recycling Center
Ray Demoranville	Supervisor	Valley Recycling Facility
Erik Street	Director of Public Works	Town of Yarmouth
Lisa A Prevost	Treasurer	Town of Mechanic Falls
James A. Guerra	Town of Hope Resident	MRRA Member