

Maine Sheriffs' Association

"One Team, One Mission"

Sheriff Scott Nichols, President

Sheriff Troy Morton, 1st Vice-President, Sheriff Scott Kane, 2nd Vice-President – Sheriff Barry Curtis, Secretary – Sheriff Todd Brackett, Treasurer – Sheriff Dale P. Lancaster, Immediate Past President – Sheriff Kevin Joyce, Past President-at-Large - Mary-Anne LaMarre, Executive Director

March 6, 2024

L.D. 2250 – <u>An Act to Allow the Department of Corrections to Comply with the Federal Prison Rape Elimination Act of 2003</u>

Senator Carney, Representative Moonen, and esteemed members of the Joint Standing Committee on Judiciary, my name is Mary-Anne LaMarre. I am the Executive Director of the Maine Sheriffs Association. <u>L.D. 2250 - An Act to Allow the Department of Corrections to Comply with the Federal Prison Rape Elimination Act of 2003</u> has the unanimous support of Maine Sheriffs Association.

The Maine sheriffs applaud the Maine Department of Corrections, and specifically their Director of Governmental Affairs, Sam Prawer, for recognizing the need for this legislation. Sam has worked with us throughout this process to ensure the county and regional jails were included.

All of Maine's jails are currently PREA compliant, but we do have some that have become PREA certified, and several others are working towards becoming certified. If the MDOC hadn't submitted this bill, our PREA certified jails may have lost their certification.

We urge all members of this committee to support passage of this bill unanimously. Many thanks for your consideration.

Sincerely,

Mary-Anne LaMarre Executive Director Maine Sheriffs Association