

MAINE ASSOCIATION OF CRIMINAL DEFENSE LAWYERS P.O. Box 17642 Portland, ME 04112-8642 (207) 523-9869 mainemacdl@gmail.com

April 6, 2023

Senator Anne Beebe-Center, Chair Representative Suzanne Salisbury Committee on Criminal Justice & Public Safety 100 State House Station Room 436 Augusta, ME 04330

RE: LD 692 -- An Act Regarding Eligibility of County Jail Inmates for a Community Confinement Monitoring Program

Dear Senator Beebe-Center, Representative Salisbury, and Members of the Criminal Justice and Public Safety Committee:

MACDL opposes LD 692.

This bill places limits on what a sheriff can do with respect to allowing an inmate to participate in a community confinement monitoring program. As it stands now, the sheriff has the discretion to allow a whole host of inmates to participate in these important programs that allow for the transition of an inmate from incarceration to being free again. Sheriffs already assess the risk of allowing an inmate to participate in a community confinement monitoring program, and forcing the sheriff to have to go through a detailed, multi-part analysis, for each inmate, is time-consuming, burdensome, and takes away the power from the sheriff to make decisions as the sheriff sees fit.

The Legislature should allow our county sheriffs to address inmate issues like this on their own. This is especially so in the age of significant overcrowding of our county jails. Placing more limits on what a sheriff can do and under what circumstances a sheriff can do it only serves to harm the reduction of the overcrowding problem, not help it.

Thank you for the opportunity to address this issue.

Sincerely,

helent

Walter F. McKee Chair, Legislative Committee

2022-2023 OFFICERS

President Amber L. Tucker

President-Elect Jeremy Pratt

Vice President Matthew D. Morgan

Treasurer Walter F. McKee

Secretary Sarah E. Branch

2022-2023 DIRECTORS

Dylan R. Boyd Andrew Edwards Devens Hamlen Scott F. Hess James Mason Harris Mattson Joseph Mekonis Stacey D. Neumann Neil Prendergast Luke S. Rioux Adam P. Sherman Adam Swanson Robert T. Van Horn

> EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

Tina Heather Nadeau