STATE OF MAINE

IN THE YEAR OF OUR LORD TWO THOUSAND AND ELEVEN

H.P. 1195 - L.D. 1590

An Act To Reapportion the Congressional Districts of the State

Emergency preamble. Whereas, acts and resolves of the Legislature do not become effective until 90 days after adjournment unless enacted as emergencies; and

Whereas, current law provides for the reapportionment of Maine's congressional districts in 2013; and

Whereas, the United States District Court has ruled that Maine may not wait until 2013 to redraw its 2 congressional districts to reflect population shifts, but must instead redraw the districts in time for the congressional election in 2012; and

Whereas, in the judgment of the Legislature, these facts create an emergency within the meaning of the Constitution of Maine and require the following legislation as immediately necessary for the preservation of the public peace, health and safety; now, therefore,

Be it enacted by the People of the State of Maine as follows:

- Sec. 1. 21-A MRSA §1205, sub-§§1 and 2, as enacted by PL 1993, c. 628, §2, are repealed and the following enacted in their place:
- 1. First District. The First District consists of the counties of Cumberland, Knox, Lincoln, Sagadahoc and York and the following municipalities within Kennebec County: Augusta, Chelsea, China, Farmingdale, Hallowell, Manchester, Pittston, Readfield, Vassalboro, Waterville, Windsor, Winslow and Winthrop.
- 2. Second District. The Second District consists of the counties of Androscoggin, Aroostook, Franklin, Hancock, Oxford, Penobscot, Piscataquis, Somerset, Waldo and Washington and the following municipalities and areas within Kennebec County: Albion, Belgrade, Benton, Clinton, Fayette, Gardiner, Litchfield, Monmouth, Mount Vernon, Oakland, Randolph, Rome, Sidney, Vienna, Wayne, West Gardiner and Unity Township.

Emergency clause. In view of the emergency cited in the preamble, this legislation takes effect when approved.

In House of Representatives,	2011
Read twice and passed to be enacted.	
	Speaker
In Senate,	2011
Read twice and passed to be enacted.	
	Presiden
Approved	2011
	Governor