L.D. 1590
Date: (Filing No. H-
Reproduced and distributed under the direction of the Clerk of the House.
STATE OF MAINE
HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES
125TH LEGISLATURE
FIRST SPECIAL SESSION
FIRST SI ECIAL SESSION
HOUSE AMENDMENT " " to H.P. 1195, L.D. 1590, Bill, "An Act To Reapportion the Congressional Districts of the State"
Amend the bill by striking out all of sections 1 and 2 (page 1, lines 13 to 33 in L.D.) and inserting the following:
'Sec. 1. 21-A MRSA §1205, sub-§§1 and 2, as enacted by PL 1993, c. 628, §2 are repealed and the following enacted in their place:
1. First District. The First District consists of the counties of Cumberland, Knox Lincoln, Sagadahoc and York and the following municipalities within Kennebec County: Augusta, Chelsea, China, Farmingdale, Hallowell, Manchester, Pittston, Readfield Vassalboro, Waterville, Windsor, Winslow and Winthrop.
2. Second District. The Second District consists of the counties of Androscogging Aroostook, Franklin, Hancock, Oxford, Penobscot, Piscataquis, Somerset, Waldo and Washington and the following municipalities and areas within Kennebec County: Albion, Belgrade, Benton, Clinton, Fayette, Gardiner, Litchfield, Monmouth, Mount Vernon, Oakland, Randolph, Rome, Sidney, Vienna, Wayne, West Gardiner and Unity Township.
SUMMARY
This amendment changes the apportionment so that the First District consists of the counties of Cumberland, Knox, Lincoln, Sagadahoc and York and the following municipalities within Kennebec County: Augusta, Chelsea, China, Farmingdale Hallowell, Manchester, Pittston, Readfield, Vassalboro, Waterville, Windsor, Winslow and Winthrop and the Second District consists of the counties of Androscoggin, Aroostook, Franklin, Hancock, Oxford, Penobscot, Piscataquis, Somerset, Waldo and Washington and the following municipalities and areas within Kennebec County: Albion, Belgrade, Benton, Clinton, Fayette, Gardiner, Litchfield, Monmouth, Mount Vernon, Oakland, Randolph, Rome, Sidney, Vienna, Wayne, West Gardiner and Unity Township.