

129th MAINE LEGISLATURE

FIRST REGULAR SESSION-2019

Legislative Document

No. 940

H.P. 695

House of Representatives, February 21, 2019

An Act To Increase the Number of Franklin County Commissioners

Reference to the Committee on State and Local Government suggested and ordered printed.

ROBERT B. HUNT

Clerk

Presented by Representative RILEY of Jay.
Cosponsored by Senator BLACK of Franklin and
Representatives: HALL of Wilton, HEAD of Bethel, LANDRY of Farmington, SKOLFIELD of Weld.

2 3	Sec. 1. 30-A MRSA §66-B, sub-§4, as enacted by PL 2013, c. 270, Pt. C, §2, is amended to read:
4 5	4. Creation of Franklin County Commissioner Districts. Franklin County is divided into the following 3 <u>5</u> districts.
6 7 8 9	A. Commissioner District Number 1, in the County of Franklin, consists of the minor civil divisions and unorganized territories of Carthage, Jay, South Franklin the portion of Farmington located on the west side of the Sandy River, Temple and Wilton. The term of office of the commissioner from this district expires in 2016 and every 4 years thereafter.
11 12 13 14	B. Commissioner District Number 2, in the County of Franklin, consists of the minor civil divisions of Chesterville, the portion of Farmington and New Sharon located on the east side of the Sandy River. The term of office of the commissioner from this district expires in 2016 and every 4 years thereafter.
15 16 17 18 19 20 21	C. Commissioner District Number 3, in the County of Franklin, consists of the minor civil divisions and unorganized territories of Avon, Carrabassett Valley Carthage, Coplin, Dallas, East Central Franklin, Eustis, Industry, Kingfield, New Vineyard, North Franklin, Phillips, Rangeley, Rangeley Plantation, Sandy River, South Franklin, Strong, Weld, and West Central Franklin and Wyman Township. The term of office of the commissioner from this district expires in 2014 and every 4 years thereafter.
22 23 24 25 26	D. Commissioner District Number 4, in the County of Franklin, consists of the minor civil divisions and unorganized territories of Carrabassett Valley, Dallas, East Central Franklin, Industry, Kingfield, New Sharon, New Vineyard and Wyman Township. The term of office of the commissioner from this district expires in 2022 and every 4 years thereafter.
27 28 29	E. Commissioner District Number 5, in the County of Franklin, consists of the minor civil divisions of Chesterville and Jay. The term of office of the commissioner from this district expires in 2024 and every 4 years thereafter.
30 31 32	Sec. 2. Application. The commissioner districts established in this Act take effect for the election of county commissioners beginning with the election to be held on November 3, 2020.
33	SUMMARY
34 35 36	This bill increases the number of Franklin County commissioners from 3 to 5 and defines the 5 county commissioner districts beginning with the election to be held November 3, 2020.

Be it enacted by the People of the State of Maine as follows:

1