APPROVEDCHAPTERMARCH 17, 202018BY GOVERNORP & S LAW

STATE OF MAINE

IN THE YEAR OF OUR LORD

TWO THOUSAND TWENTY

H.P. 341 - L.D. 432

An Act To Amend the Greater Augusta Utility District Charter

Be it enacted by the People of the State of Maine as follows:

Sec. 1. P&SL 2007, c. 22, Pt. A, §12 is amended to read:

Sec. A-12. Additional methods of collection of wastewater assessments. If assessments under the provisions of section 9 are not paid and the district does not proceed to collect unpaid assessments by a sheriff's sale of the real estate upon which the assessments are made under section 11 or does not collect or is in any manner delayed or defeated in collecting the assessments by a sheriff's sale of the real estate under section 11, then the district, in the name of the district, may maintain an action against the party assessed for the amount of the assessment, for money paid, laid out and expended, in any court competent to try the suit, and in the suit may recover the amount of the assessment with 10% interest on the assessments from the date of the assessments and costs. In addition to the lien for unpaid wastewater assessments in section 11 and suits for collection described in this section, the district is authorized to disconnect water service for the nonpayment of wastewater charges, inclusive of sewer and stormwater drain charges, pursuant to the Maine Revised Statutes, Title 35-A, section 6111-C.

Sec. 2. P&SL 2007, c. 22, Pt. A, §19, sub-§1, first ¶ is amended to read:

1. All the affairs of the Greater Augusta Utility District are managed by a Board of Trustees comprised of 7 voting members, one nonvoting representative of the City of Augusta and one nonvoting representative of the City of Hallowell. The nonvoting representative of the City of Hallowell may vote in the absence of the voting representative of the City of Hallowell. Six voting members are appointed by the mayor of the City of Augusta, with the approval of a majority of the Augusta City Council. One voting member is appointed by the mayor of the City of Hallowell City Council. One nonvoting member must be the mayor of the City of Augusta or the mayor's designee, and the other nonvoting member must be the mayor of the City of Hallowell or the mayor's designee.