Evaluation Warning : The document was created with Spire.PDF for .NET.

## **STATE OF MAINE**

## IN THE YEAR OF OUR LORD TWO THOUSAND AND SIXTEEN

## JOINT RESOLUTION HONORING THE LIVES OF THE 33 CREW MEMBERS OF THE EL FARO

**WHEREAS**, the *El Faro* departed Jacksonville, Florida for Puerto Rico on September 29, 2015 with 33 crew members aboard; and

WHEREAS, the crew of the *El Faro* consisted of 28 citizens of the United States and 5 Polish nationals; and

WHEREAS, the *El Faro* sent distress alerts on October 1, 2015 and subsequently sank with all hands that day; and

WHEREAS, members of the United States Coast Guard, Navy and Air Force valiantly searched for the crew members of the *El Faro*; and

WHEREAS, the people of Maine mourn the loss of the 33 crew members aboard the *El Faro*; now, therefore, be it

**RESOLVED:** That We, the Members of the One Hundred and Twenty-seventh Legislature now assembled in the Second Regular Session, on behalf of the people we represent, recognize and honor the lives of the 33 crew members aboard the *El Faro*, who were lost after the *El Faro* sank on October 1, 2015; and be it further

**RESOLVED:** That we recognize the efforts of the members of the United States Coast Guard, Navy, Air Force and Military Sealift Command who searched for the crew members of the *El Faro*; and be it further

**RESOLVED:** That we recognize the 4 crew members from Maine who were aboard the *El Faro*: Michael Davidson, of Windham; Michael Holland, of Wilton; Dylan Meklin, of Rockland; and Danielle Randolph, of Rockland; and also Mitchell Kuflik, of Brooklyn, New York, a graduate of Maine Maritime Academy; and be it further

**RESOLVED:** That we offer our heartfelt condolences to the families, friends and loved ones of the crew members of the *El Faro*.