LD 1342
Session - 129th Maine Legislature
S "A" to C "A", Filing Number S-341, Sponsored by Breen
LR 1907
Item 4
Bill Tracking, Additional Documents Chamber Status

Amend the amendment in section 2 in §13120-T by striking out all of subsections 2 and 3 (page 2, lines 3 to 37 and page 3, lines 1 to 8 in amendment) and inserting the following:

2 Steering committee.   The Maine Workforce, Research, Development and Student Achievement Institute Steering Committee, referred to in this section as "the steering committee," is established to advise the Legislature and the University of Maine System on all matters related to the institute. With the exception of ex officio members, steering committee members must be appointed by the President of the Senate and the Speaker of the House for a term of 2 years as follows. The steering committee shall meet at least 4 times each year and must include the following:
A The President of the Senate shall appoint:

(1) One member from an independent college in the State;

(2) One member from the Maine Community College System;

(3) One member from a regional economic development organization serving one or more of the following: Aroostook County, Franklin County, Oxford County, Piscataquis County, Somerset County and Washington County;

(4) One member from a statewide organization responsible for business attraction and expansion;

(5) An individual involved in adult education;

(6) An individual involved in career and technical education;

(7) An individual employed in the public sector; and

(8) An individual employed in the private sector;

B The Speaker of the House shall appoint one member from each of the following:

(1) A House member from the joint standing committee of the Legislature having jurisdiction over innovation, development, economic advancement and business matters;

(2) The University of Maine System;

(3) The Maine Municipal Association;

(4) The Department of Economic and Community Development;

(5) The State Workforce Board, established under Title 26, section 2006;

(6) The Department of Labor;

(7) A statewide organization representing business interests in the State; and

(8) A state-based organization involved in workforce and business policy and development;

C The State Economist, who serves ex officio; and
D The Chief Executive Officer of the Finance Authority of Maine or the chief executive officer's designee, who serves ex officio.

The steering committee shall elect a chair from among its members to serve a term of 2 years.

Amend the amendment in section 2 in §13120-T by renumbering the subsections to read consecutively.

Amend the amendment by striking out all of section 3.


This amendment removes the requirement that the Legislature contract with the University of Maine System for the establishment and maintenance of the institute and removes the appropriation of associated funding. The amendment also revises the process of appointing steering committee members.

(See attached)

Top of Page