PLEASE NOTE: Legislative Information *cannot* perform research, provide legal advice, or interpret Maine law. For legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.

JOINT RESOLUTION RECOGNIZING FRANCO-AMERICAN DAY

WHEREAS, the State of Maine is named after the Province of Maine in France, and the towns of Paris and Calais owe their names to the capital city of France and the French port city of Calais, respectively; and

WHEREAS, French Acadians were some of the earliest Europeans to inhabit North America and they have left an important cultural legacy in Maine; and

WHEREAS, more than 1/3 of the population of Maine is of French and Canadian descent. Franco-Americans in Maine have contributed much to the beauty and quality of this State; and

WHEREAS, French is the primary language of thousands of Mainers and there has been a resurgence in the use of the French language and a heightened appreciation of the Franco-American heritage throughout the State; and

WHEREAS, clubs and organizations to promote French culture and language have sprung up throughout the State, including the Francophone Caucus at the State Capitol; and

WHEREAS, fluent French-English bilingual people are a cultural and economic resource to the State; and

WHEREAS, cultural tourism can be greatly enhanced by the genuine Franco-American centers throughout the State, and the large Franco-American presence in Maine can further strengthen our relationships with Canada, France and the rest of the francophone world; and

WHEREAS, the first Franco-American Day was celebrated on Wednesday, March 6, 2002 at the State Capitol; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED: That We, the Members of the One Hundred and Twenty-fourth Legislature now assembled in the Second Regular Session, on behalf of the people we represent, proclaim that Wednesday, March 17, 2010 is Franco-American Day, to be celebrated at the State Capitol; and be it further

RESOLVED: That Franco-American Day be celebrated to commemorate the rich history of the French people in the State of Maine and the United States of America.