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(draft of DIFW recommendations in its report)
Changes to bill highlighted

Amend the title to read:
An Act Relating to the Hunting of Antlerless Deer

Amend the bill as follows:
Add a new Sec. 1 before Sec. 1 of the bill as follows:
Sec. 1. 12 MRSA § 10264 is amended to read:
§ 10264. Maine Deer Management Fund

The Maine Deer Management Fund, referred to in this section as "the fund," is established
within the department as a no lapsing fund to be used by the commissioner to fund or assist in
funding predator control and to acquire or enhance deer habitat. The commissioner shall
establish on the department's online licensing system checkoff options that allow a person to
donate money for predator control or deer habitat acquisition or enhancement. The checkoff
options must be prominently displayed and contain web links to information about how the
checkoff revenues have been and will be used. The commissioner shall also print in a prominent
place on every paper application for a hunting license checkoff options that allow a person to
donate money to the fund for predator control or deer habitat acquisition or enhancement.
Revenues from the checkoffs must be deposited in the fund and used for purposes indicated by
the checkoffs.

Notwithstanding section 10801, subsection 4, $2 of each deer registration fee collected under
section 12301A, subsection 3, paragraph C must be deposited in the fund. Fifty percent of the
funds deposited in the fund from the deer registration fees must be used for predator control
purposes and 50% of the deposited fees must be used to acquire or enhance deer habitat. In
addition, the revenue from each antlerless deer permit fee collected under §11152, after
administrative costs must be deposited in the fund. The commissioner may accept and deposit
into the fund monetary gifts, donations or other contributions from public or private sources for
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the purposes specified in this section. The fund must be held separate and apart from all other
money, funds and accounts. The department shall report annually to the joint standing committee
of the Legislature having jurisdiction over inland fisheries and wildlife matters on the fund and
its utilization.

Renumber Sec 1 as Sec 2:
Sec. +2. 12 MRSA §10902, sub-§6, 4F, is further amended to read:

F. Buying or selling deer, exceeding the bag limit on deer or hunting deer after having
killed one, in violation of section 11217 or 11501 or unlawfully hunting or possessing an
antlerless deer in a wildlife management district fer-which-no-antlerless-deerpermitshave
been-issued in which the taking of antlerless deer is not allowed in violation of section
11152, subsection 1-A;

Insert the following new sections after renumbered Sec. 2 of the bill:

Sec. 3. 12 MRSA §10953 sub- §1, YE and F are repealed:

Sec. 4. 12 MRSA §10953 sub- §1-C is amended to read:

1-C. Hunting with a crossbow; 65 years of age or older. A person 65 years of age or older
who meets the eligibility requirements of sections 11105, 11106 and 11162 may hunt a wild bird
or a wild animal with a crossbow durmg any open season on that wild bird or wild animal subject
to thls Part an e e h e



https://legislature.maine.gov/legis/statutes/12/title12sec11152.html
https://legislature.maine.gov/legis/statutes/12/title12sec10853.html
Theriault, Christl F.
repeal restriction on crossbow use in 11701 and then strike this so we no longer need this section


Sec. 5. 12 MRSA § 11109-A, sub§ 2-A is amended to read:
2-A. Antlerless deer permit. A super pack license includes:

A. An antlerless deer permit as provided under section 11152, except that it is valid only for
antlerless deer in wildlife management districts in which at least 3;500 2,000 antlerless deer
permits are issued. No more than 2.5% of those antlerless deer permits may be in the form of a
super pack license. The commissioner shall implement a system for issuing antlerless deer
permits under this paragraph; and

B. An opportunity to enter a benus antlerless-enty deer permit lottery established by the
commissioner by rule pursuant to section 11152.

If a super pack licensee obtains an antlerless deer permit pursuant to paragraph A, that person is
not eligible to obtain an antlerless deer permit through an antlerless deer permit lottery
established by the commissioner pursuant to section 11152.

3. Harvest of 5 deer. Notwithstanding section 11501, a super pack license authorizes the holder
to take:

A. One deer during either the regular open firearm season or the regular archery-enly season or
the special muzzle-loading season in accordance with sections 11401, 11403 and 11404,
respectively;

B. One deer in accordance with subsection 2-A, paragraph A; and

C. Three antlerless deer during the special archery season in accordance with section 11402,
subsection 4.

Sec. 6. 12 MRSA §11110 sub-§1 is amended to read:

1. Transfer permitted. A person who has been assigned a designated hunting area, zone or
season by the department for purposes of hunting a game-antmal, moose, may exchange that
designated zone, area or season with another person assigned a different hunting zone, area or
season ferthesamegame-antmal for purposes of hunting that-same-game-animal moose. The
department may assist in the exchange to ensure that the permit holders meet the requirements
of section 10756, but the State bears no responsibility for enforcing the terms of the exchange
between the permit holders. The commissioner may adopt rules to implement this section. Rules
adopted pursuant to this section are routine technical rules as defined in Title 5, chapter 375,
subchapter 2-A.

Renumber Sec. 2 of the bill and further amend as follows:
Sec. 2:7. 12 MRSA §11152, amended to read:
§11152. Antlerless deer; regulation and authority to issue permits

1. Permit required. Except as otherwise authorized pursuant to this Part, a person may
not hunt antlerless deer as authorized in this section unless that person has a valid permit
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1ssued under this section or is hunting in an area that is designated by rule as open to the
hunting of antlerless deer or either-sex deer without an antlerless deer permit.

A. Each day a person violates this subsection that person commits a Class E crime for
which a minimum fine of $50 and an amount equal to twice the applicable license fee
must be imposed.

1-A. Antlerless deer in wildlife management districts with-ne-permits-issued.
Except as otherwise provided in this Part, a person may not hunt or possess an antlerless deer
in a wildlife management district or a portion of a wildlife management district that-doesnet
havepermitsissued in which the taking of antlerless deer is not allowed. A person may
possess in one of those districts an antlerless deer that has been lawfully-registered taken in
another district where permitshave-beenissued antlerless deer may be legally taken.

A person that violates this subsection commits a Class D crime for which a minimum fine of
$1,000 must be imposed, and the court shall impose a sentencing alternative involving a term
of imprisonment of at least 3 days, none of which may be suspended.

2. Authority to regulate taking of antlerless deer. The commissioner may regulate the
taking of antlerless deer by rule within an area of the State as necessary to maintain deer
populations in balance with available habitat if the demarcation of each area follows
recognizable physical boundaries such as rivers, roads and railroad rights-of-way. This
subsection does not apply to a person with a special antlerless deer permit under subsection

3. Rulemaking. If the commissioner establishes by rule a lottery system for issuing

antlerless deer permits to eligible persons, the commissioner may also allow for the direct
purchase of additional antlerless deer permits in certain wildlife management districts or
portions of wildlife management districts as the commissioner finds necessary to maintain
balanced deer populations.

The commissioner may adopt rules necessary for the administration, implementation,
enforcement and interpretation of this section, except that the commissioner is not authorized
to establish an antlerless deer permit system lottery unless otherwise specified in this section.
The commissioner may appoint clerks or agents under section 10801 to process applications
for permits issued under this section. A clerk or agent appointed by the commissioner to
process applications shall charge a fee of $2 for each application processed by that clerk or
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agent under this section. Rules adopted by the commissioner that provide for permits to be
issued to nonresident hunters must provide that:

B. No more than 15% of the antlerless deer permits issued in any one district or in any
one zone may be issued to nonresident hunters.

Rules adopted pursuant to this subsection are routine technical rules as defined in Title 5,
chapter 375, subchapter 2-A.

4. Landowner consideration. An antlerless deer permit system lottery adopted by the
commissioner pursuant to this section may include a provision giving special consideration to
landowners who keep their lands open to hunting by the public. As part of the special
consideration to those landowners, the commissioner shall provide at least 25% of the
available antlerless deer permits in a wildlife management district to eligible landowners that
apply for an antlerless deer permit in that district. Any 2 or more areas of land owned by the
same person that are open for hunting and that would be contiguous except for being divided
by one or more roads are considered contiguous for the purposes of determining landowner
eligibility for special consideration under this subsection.

The commissioner shall record a transfer under this subsection and return the permit to the
transferee. A valid permit must be in the possession of the transferee in order for the
transferee to take an antlerless deer.
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7. Special antlerless deer permit. The commissioner shall issue a special antlerless
deer permit to an eligible person who has lost all or part of one or more lower limbs, not
including a partial foot amputation, or is suffering from the permanent loss of use of both
lower limbs. The commissioner shall issue a permit upon application and after the applicant
verifies that person's ambulatory disability with a letter signed by a physician confirming the
person's condition. A person who is issued a special antlerless deer permit under this
subsection may take an antlerless deer in any part of the State open to the taking of antlerless
deer pursuant to subsection 3.

8. Junior hunter consideration. An antlerless deer permit system lottery adopted by
the commissioner pursuant to this section may include a provision giving special
consideration to persons with a valid junior hunting license. As part of the special
consideration to junior hunters, the commissioner shall provide at least 25% of the available
antlerless deer permits in a wildlife management district to persons with a valid junior
hunting license who apply for an antlerless deer permit in that district.

9. Fee. An antlerless deer permit is $12 for residents and nonresidents.

Insert the following new sections after renumbered Sec. 2 (now Sec 7) of the bill
Sec. 8. 12 MRSA §11403, sub§2 is amended to read:

2. Open archery season on deer. The commissioner shall by rule establish a regular
archery-enly season beginning at least 30 days prior and extending to the beginning of the
regular deer hunting season, as described in section 11401, subsection 1, paragraph A, for the
purpose of hunting deer only with bow and arrow or crossbow. During the regular archery-enly
season on deer the following restrictions apply.

A. A person may not take a deer during a regular archery-enly season unless that person uses
a hand-held bow and broadhead arrow in accordance with section 11214, subsection 1,
paragraph P or a crossbow in accordance with section 10953, subsection 3.

B. A person may not carry firearms of any kind while hunting any species of wildlife with
bow and arrow or crossbow during the regular archery-ealy season on deer. This paragraph
may not be construed to prohibit a person from carrying a concealed weapon in accordance
with Title 25, section 2001A.

C. Except as provided in section 11109-A, subsection 3, if a person takes a deer with bow
and arrow or crossbow during the regular archery-esky season on deer, that person is
precluded from further hunting for deer during that year except as otherwise provided in law
or rule.

D. Except as provided in this subsection, the provisions of this Part concerning deer are
applicable to the taking of deer with bow and arrow and crossbow, including the
transportation, registration and possession of deer taken by this method.

A person who violates this subsection commits a Class E crime.
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Sec. 9. 12 MRSA §11701, first 9is amended to read:

The commissioner may establish open seasons for hunting wild turkeys, designate areas
that are open to the taking of wild turkeys in any part of the State, prescribe the form and
regulate the number of permits to be issued, determine the number and sex of the birds to be
harvested, establish bag limits, establish permit eligibility requirements, establish legal hunting
times, specify the types of weapons to be used during any open wild turkey hunting season and
make any other rules that the commissioner considers necessary for the protection of the wild
turkey resource. The rules must perrnlt the use of a crossbow durmg an open season for hunting
wild turkey;e pe-the

seaseﬂ—eﬂ—huﬂ%mg—wﬁd—tuﬂeey as estabhshed by the commissioner.

Sec. 10. Examination of crossbow laws. The Department of Inland Fisheries and Wildlife
shall determine the statutory changes necessary to remove the distinction between hunting with a
bow and arrow and crossbow. The department shall report the department's findings and
recommendations on the necessary changes as well as the cost, timeline and impact of the
changes to the Joint Standing Committee having jurisdiction over inland fisheries and wildlife
matters by January 3, 2023. The committee may report out a bill related to crossbows to the First
Regular Session or any special session of the 131st Legislature.
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