Coverage/Eligibility Family Medical Leave Provisions Provides Leave to Care For: California Employees who have earned • Up to 8 weeks of paid leave to care for a seriously ill or Child, parent, parent-in-law, grandparent, grandchild, at least \$300 from which injured family member, to bond with a minor child Calif. Unemployment Insurance sibling, spouse or domestic State Disability Insurance within one year of the birth or placement in connection Code §§984, 2652, 2655, 3004 and (SDI) deductions were with foster care or adoption or to participate in a partner 3300-3307 withheld during the base qualifying exigency related to the covered active duty period or call to covered active duty of a spouse, domestic partner, child or parent in the U.S. Armed Forces • Benefit amount is 1/7th of an employee's weekly benefit amount for each full day during which the employee is unable to work; weekly benefits range from \$50 to a maximum of \$1,252 • Funded by employee-paid payroll taxes • Administered through the state's paid disability insurance (PDI) program Private sector employers • Up to 12 weeks of paid leave to bond with a new child A biological, adopted or foster Colorado (Premiums collected beginning and state government; local (birth, adoption or foster), to care for a family member child, stepchild or legal ward, child of a domestic partner, January 1, 2023; benefits available government employers can with a serious health condition, to care for the child to whom the employee beginning January 1, 2024) employee's own serious health condition, for a opt out stands in loco parentis, a qualifying exigency arising out of a family member **Proposition 118 (2020)** Employees that have earned being on active duty or an impending call or order to person to whom the employee at least \$2,500 in wages stood in loco parentis when active duty in the U.S. Armed Forces; and to engage in subject to premiums during the person was a minor; a certain activities related to the employee or family the base period; selfbiological, adoptive or foster member being a victim of domestic violence, stalking, employed individuals and parent, stepparent or legal sexual assault or abuse independent contractors guardian of the employee, • Up to 16 weeks of paid leave if employee experiences may opt in a serious health condition related to complications of employee's spouse or domestic partner or a person pregnancy or childbirth who stood in loco parentis • Weekly benefit rate is 90% of the employee's average when the employee or weekly wages (AWW) that are at or below 50% of the employee's spouse was a statewide AWW, plus 50% of the employee's AWW minor child; spouse or that are above 50% of the statewide AWW; maximum domestic partner; grandparent, weekly benefit is \$1,100 in the program's first year and grandchild or biological, will be adjusted annually to an amount equal to 90% of foster, adoptive or step sibling the state AWW of the employee or • Funded jointly by employer and employee payroll employee's spouse or contributions; for the program's first two years, the rate domestic partner; or any other is 0.9% of an employee's wages; employers can deduct

	Coverage/Eligibility	Family Medical Leave Provisions	Provides Leave to Care For:
Connecticut (Premiums collected beginning January 1, 2022; benefits available beginning January 1, 2023) Public Act No. 19-25 (SB 1, 2019)	All private sector employers; self-employed individuals and state or local collective bargaining units may opt in Employees that have earned at least \$2,325 from one or more employers during the highest-earning quarter of the base period and have been employed for the previous 12 weeks	 50% of the premium from the employee's wages; for each following year rate is adjusted based on the insurance fund's expenditures, not to exceed 1.2% Employers with fewer than 10 employees are not required to pay the employer portion of premiums Up to 12 weeks of paid leave upon the birth of a child or placement of a child with the employee for adoption or foster care; to care for a family member with a serious health condition; for the employee's own serious health condition; to serve as an organ or bone marrow donor; because of any qualifying exigency arising out of a family member being on active duty or an impending call or order to active duty in the U.S. Armed Forces Up to two additional weeks of paid leave may be taken for a serious health condition resulting in incapacitation that occurs during a pregnancy Weekly benefit rate is 95% of employees' AWW for employees paid wages less than or equal to the state minimum wage multiplied by 40 plus 60% of the amount by which the employees' AWW exceeds the state minimum wage multiplied by 40 for employees paid more than the state minimum wage multiplied by 40 for employees paid more than the state minimum wage Funded by employee contributions; contribution rate set by Paid Family and Medical Leave Insurance Authority, not to exceed 0.5% 	individual with whom the employee has a significant personal bond that is or is like a family relationship Child, spouse, sibling, grandparent, grandchild, parent or parent-in-law; or an individual related to the employee by blood or affinity whose close association the employee shows to be the equivalent of those family relationships
District of Columbia D.C. Act 21-682	All employers, excluding D.C. and federal employers Employees of a covered employer who spend more than 50% of their work time for that employer working in D.C. or whose employment for a covered	 Up to 8 weeks of paid leave for the birth, adoption, fostering or assuming legal guardianship of a child Up to 6 weeks of paid leave to care for a family member with a serious health condition Up to 2 weeks of paid leave for an employee's own serious health condition Weekly benefit rate is 90% of AWW for employees who earn an AWW that is equal to or less than 150% of the District's minimum wage multiplied by 40 	A biological, adopted or foster child, stepchild, legal ward, child of a domestic partner or a person to whom the employee stands in loco parentis; a biological, foster or adoptive parent, a parent-in- law, a stepparent, a legal guardian or other person who

	Coverage/Eligibility	Family Medical Leave Provisions	Provides Leave to Care For:
	employer is based in D.C. and who regularly spend a substantial amount of that work time in D.C. and not more than 50% of work time in another jurisdiction; must have been a covered employee for some or all of 52 calendar weeks Self-employed individuals may opt into program	 Weekly benefit rate is 90% of 150% of the District's minimum wage multiplied by 40, plus 50% of the amount by which the employee's AWW exceeds 150% of the District's minimum wage multiplied by 40, for employees who earn an AWW that is greater than 150% of the District's minimum wage multiplied by 40 Maximum weekly benefit is \$1,000; beginning October 1, 2021, annual increase based on CPI Funded by 0.62% employer payroll tax 	stood in local parentis when the employee was a child; a spouse, a domestic partner, a grandparent or a sibling
Massachusetts <u>Acts 2018, Chapter 121</u> Unemployment Benefits, <u>https://www.mass.gov/service-</u> <u>details/check-eligibility-for-</u> <u>unemployment-benefits</u>	All employers, including state and political subdivisions Employees and self- employed individuals who have earned at least \$5,400 during the last four calendar quarters or 30 times the weekly unemployment benefit amount	 Up to 12 weeks of paid family leave to bond with a child during the first 12 months after the child's birth or the first 12 months after the placement of the child for adoption or foster care Up to 12 weeks of paid family leave due to any qualifying exigency arising out of the fact that a family member is on active duty or has been notified of an impending call or order to active duty in the Armed Forces Up to 26 weeks of paid family leave to care for a family member who is a covered service member Up to 12 weeks of paid family leave to care for a family member with a serious health condition Up to 20 weeks of paid medical leave for an employee's own serious health condition Maximum of 26 weeks, in the aggregate, of family and medical leave in the same benefit year No benefits are paid during the first seven calendar days of leave, but employees may use accrued sick or vacation pay or other paid leave Weekly benefit amount is 80% of the portion of an employee's AWW that is equal to or less than 50% of the state AWW and 50% of the state AWW 	A biological, adopted or foster child, a stepchild or legal ward, a child to whom the employee stands in loco parentis or a person to whom the employee stood in loco parentis when the person was a minor child; a spouse, domestic partner, parent or parent of a spouse or domestic partner, a person who stood in loco parentis when the employee was a minor child; a grandchild, grandparent or sibling

	Coverage/Eligibility	Family Medical Leave Provisions	Provides Leave to Care For:
New Jersey NJ Statutes §§43:21-27, 43:21-30, 43:21-39, 43:21-39, 43:21-39, 1 and 43:21-40 NJ Department of Labor and Workforce Development, https://www.myleavebenefits.nj.gov/labor/myleavebenefits/worker/tdi/	All private employers; governmental entities or their instrumentalities may elect to participate in the program Employees who have worked 20 calendar weeks earning at least \$200 weekly or who have earned a combined total of \$11,000 during the 52 weeks prior to leave	 Maximum benefit amount of \$850 per week; adjusted annually to an amount equal to 64% of the state AWW Funded by 0.63% employer-paid and employee-paid payroll tax; employers with less than 25 employees are not required to pay the employer portion of premiums Employers may deduct from employees' wages the full amount of the premium for family leave and 40% of the premium for medical leave Up to 12 weeks of paid family temporary disability leave to care for a family member with a serious health condition, to be with a child during the first 12 months after the child's birth or the first 12 months after the placement of the child for adoption or as a foster child; to engage in activities on behalf of the employee or employee's family member resulting from the employee or family member being a victim of domestic violence or a sexually violent offense; or in the event of a state of emergency declared by the Governor, or when indicated to be needed by the Commissioner of Health or other public health authority, an epidemic of a communicable disease, a known or suspected exposure to the communicable disease, or efforts to prevent spread of the communicable disease, to provide in-home care or treatment of a family member Benefit amount is 85% of employee's AWW, up to \$903 per week Any paid family leave that runs concurrently with FMLA or NJFLA and other types of available leave must be used before taking paid family leave Leave may be paid, unpaid or a combination of both Funded by employee-paid payroll taxes (0.28% of the first \$138,200 in covered wages in 2021; 0.14% of the first \$151,900 in covered wages in 2022) Administered through the state's PDI program 	Biological, adopted or foster child, stepchild or legal ward; child of a domestic partner; child of a civil union partner; sibling, grandparent, grandchild, spouse, domestic partner, civil union partner, parent, parent-in-law or any other individual that the employee shows to have a close association with the employee which is the equivalent of a family relationship

	Coverage/Eligibility	Family Medical Leave Provisions	Provides Leave to Care For:
New York	All private employers;	• Leave may be used to provide care, including physical	Biological, adopted or foster
S6406C, Part SS (page 90)	public employers may opt in	or psychological care, for a family member with a	child, stepchild, a legal ward,
<u>50400C, Part 55 (page 90)</u>		serious health condition, to bond with a child during	a child of a domestic partner
NY Paid Family Leave	Employees, full-time or	the first 12 months after the child's birth or the first 12	or the person to whom the
Ivi I and I anniy Leave	part-time, who have worked	months after placement of the child for adoption or	employee stands in loco
	26 or more consecutive weeks for a covered	foster care or because of any qualifying exigency	parentis; spouse or domestic partner; biological, foster or
	employer	arising out of the fact that the employee's spouse, domestic partner, child or parent is on active duty or	adoptive parent, parent-in-
	employer	has been notified of an impending call or order to	law, stepparent, legal guardian
		active duty in the U.S. Armed Forces	or other persons who stood in
		 Maximum leave allowed every 52-week period is 	local parentis when the
		increased over a period of four years: 8 weeks (starting	employee was a child; or
		January 1, 2018); 10 weeks (starting January 1, 2019);	grandparent or grandchild
		10 weeks (starting January 1, 2020); 12 weeks (starting	
		January 1, 2021)	
		• Maximum benefit amount is 50% of an employee's	
		AWW (maximum 50% of the state's AWW) starting in	
		2018; increases annually to 55% in 2019, 60% in 2020	
		and 67% in 2021	
		• Funded through employee-paid payroll taxes (0.511% of an employee's gross wages each pay period;	
		maximum annual contribution is \$423.71 in 2022)	
		 Administered through the state's PDI program 	
Oregon	All employers, including	 Up to 12 weeks of paid leave to care for and bond with 	Biological, adopted or foster
(Premiums collected beginning	state and political	a child during the first year after the child's birth or	child, stepchild or legal ward;
January 1, 2022; benefits available	subdivisions, except for	during the first year after the placement of the child	child of a spouse or domestic
beginning January 1, 2023)	federal and tribal	through foster care or adoption; to care for a family	partner; person who is or was
	governments; self-employed	member with a serious health condition; for the	in a relationship of in local
<u>HB 2005</u> (2019)	individuals and independent	employee's own serious health condition; for certain	parentis with the employee or
	contractors may opt in	purposes arising out of the employee or employee's	employee's spouse or
		minor child or dependent experiencing domestic	domestic partner; child's
	Employees who have earned	violence, harassment, sexual assault or stalking	spouse or domestic partner;
	at least \$1,000 during the base year or alternate base	• Up to 2 additional weeks of paid leave may be taken if	employee's spouse or domestic partner; biological,
	year and have paid into the	the employee experiences limitations related to	adoptive or foster parent,
	Paid Family and Medical	pregnancy, childbirth or a related medical condition, including, but not limited to, lactation	stepparent or legal guardian;
	Leave Insurance Fund	including, but not initial to, factation	parent of a spouse or domestic

	Coverage/Eligibility	Family Medical Leave Provisions	Provides Leave to Care For:
Rhode Island RI Gen. Laws §§28-41-34, 28-41-35 and 28-41-40 Department of Labor and Training, Temporary Disability Insurance/Temporary Caregivers Insurance (TDI/TCI) for Employers; TDI/TCI FAQ	All private sector employers; public sector employers; public sector employers may opt in Employees who have earned at least \$13,800 in the base period Employees who earned at least \$2,300 in one of the base period quarters, earned base period taxable wages of at least 1 ½ times the highest quarter of earnings and who earned base period taxable wages of at least \$4,600	 Benefit amount is 100% of employees' AWW for employees with AWW equal to or less than 65% of the state AWW; or the sum of 65% of the state AWW plus 50% of the employees' AWW that is greater than 65% of the state AWW for employees with an AWW greater than 65% of the state AWW Minimum benefit amount is 5% of state AWW; maximum benefit amount is 120% of state AWW Funded jointly by employee and employer payroll contributions; maximum contribution rate of 1% of employee's wages, up to a maximum of \$132,900; employee pays 60% and employer pays 40% Rate adjusted annually based on fund's expenditures Employers with fewer than 25 employees are not required to pay the employer portion of contributions 4 weeks of paid leave for bonding with a newborn child or a child newly placed for adoption or foster care with the employee or domestic partner or to care for a child, parent, parent-in-law, grandparent, spouse or domestic partner with a serious health condition Weekly benefit rate is equal to 4.62% of wages paid in highest quarter of base period (minimum benefit of \$107 and maximum of \$978 per week) Funded by employee payroll taxes (1.3% of employee's first \$74,000 in wages) Administered through the state's PDI program 	partner; person with whom the employee or employee's spouse or domestic partner was or is in an relationship of local parentis; grandparent or grandparent's spouse or domestic partner; sibling or stepsibling or sibling's or stepsibling's spouse or domestic partner; or any individuals related by blood or affinity whose close association with the employee is the equivalent of a family relationship Biological, adopted or foster child, stepchild, legal ward, child of a domestic partner or child to whom the employee stands in local parentis; grandchild, grandparent, biological, foster or adoptive parent, parent-in-law or person who stands in loco parentis to the employee or employee's spouse or domestic partner; spouse or domestic partner

Coverage/Eligibility Family Medical Leave Provisions Provides Leave to Care For: Washington * All private and public • Up to 12 weeks to provide care, including Biological, adopted or foster employers, except for psychological or physical care, for a family member child, stepchild or child to Chapter 5, Laws of 2017: Chapter federal employers; selfwhom the employee stands in with a serious health condition or because of any 13, Laws of 2019; RCW employed individuals or loco parentis, is a legal qualifying exigency arising out of the fact that a family 50A.05.010, 50A.10.010, independent contractors guardian or is a de facto member is on active duty or has been notified of an 50A.10.030, 50A.15.010 and may opt in parent; biological, adoptive, impending call or order to active duty in the U.S. 50A.15.020 de facto or foster parent, Armed Forces Employees who have stepparent or legal guardian of • Up to 12 weeks of paid leave to bond with a child Washington Paid Family and an employee or the worked for at least 820 during the first 12 months after birth or the first 12 Medical Leave hours during the qualifying employee's spouse or an months after placement of a child individual who stood in loco period (first 4 of the last 5 • Up to 12 weeks for an employee's own serious health completed calendar condition; may be extended an additional 2 times the parentis to an employee when quarters) the employee was a child; typical workweek hours if the employee experiences a grandchild, grandparent, serious health condition with a pregnancy that results sibling, spouse or domestic in incapacity partner; also includes any • Weekly benefit for employees with an AWW equal to individual who regularly or less than one-half of the state AWW is 90% of the resides in the employee's employees' AWW home or where the • Weekly benefit for employees with an AWW greater relationship creates an than one-half of the state AWW is the sum of 90% of expectation that the employee one-half of the state AWW and 50% of the difference care for the person, and that of the employees' AWW and one-half of the state individual depends on the AWW employee for care • Minimum benefit of \$100 per week (or the employees' full wage if employees' average weekly wage is less than \$100) and maximum of \$1,000 per week • Funded by employer and employee payroll taxes (for 2021, 0.4% of employees' gross wages; employees pay 63.33% and employers pay 36.67%) • Employers with fewer than 50 employees are not required to pay the employer portion of the premiums

State Paid Family and Medical Leave Laws

Sources: NCSL, state paid family leave websites, state Legislature bill information websites and state statutes

*Chapter 5, Laws of 2017 repealed and replaced Washington's paid family leave law passed in 2007 that was originally to take effect in October 2009, but the law's implementation was indefinitely postponed until a funding mechanism was developed and funds were appropriated. Chapter 13, Laws of 2019 recodified the paid family leave law into a new chapter in Title 50A. The Washington Paid Family and Medical Leave Program began offering benefits in 2020.