CONSTITUTION OF THE STATE OF MAINE 2013 ARRANGEMENT

Article III.

Distribution of Powers.

Section 1. Powers distributed. The powers of this government shall be divided into 3 distinct departments, the legislative, executive and judicial.

Section 2. To be kept separate. No person or persons, belonging to one of these departments, shall exercise any of the powers properly belonging to either of the others, except in the cases herein expressly directed or permitted.

Article V.

Part First.

Executive Power.

Section 11. Power to pardon and remit penalties, etc.; conditions. The Governor shall have power to remit after conviction all forfeitures and penalties, and to grant reprieves, commutations and pardons, except in cases of impeachment, upon such conditions, and with such restrictions and limitations as may be deemed proper, subject to such regulations as may be provided by law, relative to the manner of applying for pardons. Such power to grant reprieves, commutations and pardons shall include offenses of juvenile delinquency.

G:\STUDIES\STUDIES 2021\Criminal Records Review\Me Const Art 3 and Art 5 (11).docx (10/15/2021 9:44:00 AM)