LD 243 An Act To Amend the Composition of the Piscataquis County Budget Committee

To:Members, Joint Standing Committee on State and Local GovernmentFrom:Lynne Caswell, Esq., Legislative AnalystDate:February 24, 2021

SUMMARY

This bill allows a Piscataquis County Commissioner to appoint one resident of the unorganized territories to the county's budget committee.

TESTIMONY

Sponsor: Senator Paul Davis - bill submitted at the request of the Piscataquis County Commissioners

Proponents: (written only; Rep Paul Stearns; Maine County Commissioners Association, by Stephen Gorden, President)

Provides for better representation of the unorganized territories

Opponents: Carole Boothroyd, Eric Boothroyd (written only Jane Conroy, member, County Budget Advisory Committee, Selectperson, Dover-Foxcroft)

- Proposed Amendment submitted by Carole Boothroyd (supported by other opponents):
 - Caucus of voters to select budget committee members
 - Memberships = 1 municipal official + 1 resident of municipality + 1 UT resident;
 - legislative delegate added at 10th, nonvoting member (similar to Lincoln County)

NFNA none

POTENTIAL ISSUES / TECHNICAL PROBLEMS

A. Of the 3 members from each commissioner district, one must be a municipal official and one must be a representative of the general public. All 3 members shall <u>must</u> be appointed by the county commissioners of the district.

INFORMATION REQUESTS

Piscataquis County Manager, Mike Williams was invited to share information with the committee. Some of the requested information is found on Attachment A.

FISCAL IMPACT - Preliminary (OFPR)

None provided as of this date

Piscataquis County has three County Commissioners who are elected for four-year terms. The Current County Commissioners are:

District 1:

James White ~ Elected November 2018. Term expires 12/31/2022.

District 1 includes the towns of Abbott, Blanchard Twp, Guilford, Kingsbury Plt, Monson, Parkman, Sangerville, Shirley, Wellington, and Willimantic.

District 2:

Andrew R. Torbett ~ Elected November 2020. Term expires 12/31/2024

District 2 includes the towns of Atkinson Twp, Bowerbank, Dover-Foxcroft, Medford, Orneville Twp, and Sebec.

District 3:

Wayne Erkkinen ~ Elected November 2020. Term expires 12/31/2024.

District 3 includes the towns of Barnard Twp, Beaver Cove, Big Moose Twp, Brownville, Cove Point Twp, Ebeemee Twp, Elliotsville Twp, Frenchtown Twp, Greenville, Harford's Point Twp, Katahdin Iron Works Twp, Kineo Twp, Lake View Plt, Lily Bay Twp, Milo, Moosehead Jct Twp, Shawtown Twp, Spencer Bay Twp, Williamsburg Twp and all other unorganized territories not otherwise listed.

PISCATAQUIS COUNTY BUDGET ADVISORY COMMITTEE 2020

Name	Municipality	Category	Years left	
Wouter Van Beek	Commissioner White's Dis Abbot	s trict (#1) Third member	1	
William Thompson	Guilford	Municipal officer	2	
Open		General public	?	
	Commissioner Annis' District (#2)			
Carlson Williams	Dover-Foxcroft	Third Member	2	
Chris Maas	Dover-Foxcroft	General Public	3	
Jane Conroy	Dover-Foxcroft	Municipal Officer	1	
	Commissioner Erkkinen's District (#3)			
Shawn Mitchell	Brownville	Municipal Officer	2	
Scott Snell	Big Moose Twp	UT Rep	3	
Fred Trask	Milo	General public	1	