Governor's Economic Recovery Committee

<u>The Governor's Economic Recovery Committee</u> was appointed by Governor Mills on May 6, 2020 through <u>Executive Order 51</u>.

The Committee is engaging economic experts and industry and sector representatives from across Maine to develop specific policy recommendations to stabilize the state's economy and build a bridge to future prosperity in the wake of the COVID-19 pandemic.

Based on the framework of the <u>state's 10-year Economic Plan</u>, the committee's work will focus on two strategies regarding Maine's economy:

• Stabilize and Support

This strategy will consider what resources and strategies the different sectors of Maine's economy will need to survive the COVID-19 crisis, how they can be well positioned to compete for federal stimulus, and what immediate challenges around workforce, regulation, infrastructure or other economic issues should be addressed.

• Sustain and Grow

This strategy will consider how to bridge the COVID-19 economic crisis to Maine's 10-year economic plan, prepare Maine's economy to thrive, and evaluate what actions are needed to remove barriers and seize market and stimulus opportunities to grow the state's workforce, improve its regulatory environment, and support key infrastructure and innovation initiatives.

The committee does not have a mandate to advise on the public health response to COVID-19 or the re-opening plan.

Six broad sectors of the economy will be highlighted by the committee's work. For each sector, working groups will consider the following questions:

- 1. What is the status of the industry right now?
- 2. What (if anything) does this sector need to survive the current crisis?
- 3. How do we prepare this sector to thrive as envisioned by state's 10-year economic development strategy?

Timeline

The Committee's work will come in two parts, recognizing that sectors may work on different timelines depending on their status:

- An initial report by **July 15, 2020**, for stabilization and support recommendations in response to the current economic emergency.
- A final report on **Dec. 1, 2020**, for sustainability and growth recommendations that bridge the COVID-19 response to the <u>State's 10-year economic development strategy</u> released last year.

The Committee may also continue to meet after delivering its final report if requested by the Governor.

All Members and Subcommittees

Committee Co-Chairs:

Laurie Lachance: A native of Dover-Foxcroft, Maine, Laurie Lachance is Thomas College's 5th President and the first female and alumna to lead the College in its 126-year history. From 2004-2012, Laurie served as President and CEO of the Maine Development Foundation. Prior to MDF, Laurie served three governors as the Maine State Economist.

Josh Broder: A native of Cumberland, Maine, Josh Broder serves as CEO of Tilson, a leading information infrastructure development firm which under his leadership has grown from less than 10 employees to more than 500. Prior to joining Tilson, Josh served as an Army Signal Office on missions in Europe, the Middle East, and Central Asia where he was awarded a bronze star for his service.

Hospitality, Tourism, and Retail

Chair: Bob Montgomery-Rice, President and CEO of Bangor Savings Bank Luke Holden, Founder and CEO of Luke's Lobster Meredith Strang Burgess, President and CEO of Burgess Advertising and Marketing Curtis Picard, President and CEO of Retail Association of Maine Jean Ginn Marvin, Owner of Nonantum Resort, Board Chair, Maine Community College Board of Trustees Senator Michael Carpenter, D-Aroostook Adam Lee, Chairman, Lee Auto Malls

Education and Workforce

Chair: James Herbert, President of the University of New England U.S. Rep. Jared Golden Designee Dana Connors, President of the Maine Chamber of Commerce James Myall, Policy Analyst for the Maine Center for Economic Policy Representative Joshua Morris, R-Turner Angela Okafor, Councilor, City of Bangor Joe Cassidy, President of Southern Maine Community College

Infrastructure (Transportation, construction, broadband, and banking)

Chair: Susan Corbett, Founder and Director of the National Digital Equity Center U.S. Sen. Susan Collins Designee Kevin Raye, Realtor and Former Senate President Senator Lisa Keim, R-Oxford Jessica Masse, Partner, Design Lab Lee Umphrey, President & CEO of Eastern Maine Development Corporation Lincoln Jeffers, Economic Development Director for the City of Lewiston

Innovation (Life sciences, tech, energy, start-up ecosystem)

Chair: Betsy Biemann, CEO of Coastal Enterprises Inc. U.S. Sen. Angus King Designee Vaughan Woodruff, Owner of InSource Renewables Deanna Sherman, President and CEO of Dead River Company Representative Brian Hubbell, D-Bar Harbor Ben Waxman, Co-Founder American Roots Tim Agnew, Masthead Venture Partners Chanel Lewis, Head of Global Diversity & Inclusion, IDEXX

Healthcare, nonprofits, childcare & support services

Chair: Bill Burke, Chair of the MaineHealth Board of Trustees and the Portland Sea Dogs Tae Chong, Councilor, City of Portland, and Social Enterprise & Workforce Development Manager for Catholic Charities Maine Jennifer Hutchins, Executive Director of the Maine Association of Nonprofits Rebecca Wyke, President of the University of Maine at Augusta Barbara Crowley M.D., Executive Vice President, MaineGeneral Health Wick Johnson, President of Kennebec Technologies

Manufacturing and Natural Resource-Based Industries

Chair: Larry Shaw, CEO of MMG Insurance U.S. Rep. Chellie Pingree Designee Sam May, Maine Harvest Federal Credit Union Board Chair Steve Schley, Board Chair, FOR Maine Initiative Bob Dorko, Utilities & Recovery Manager at Sappi North America Susan Hammond, Executive Director, Four Directions Alan Perry, Owner, Farm Technologies Network Matt Schlobohm, Executive Director of the Maine AFL-CIO