












§1812-G and §1812-J Direct Care Workers

Behavior specialists

Behavior health professionals

Certified residential care aides

Certified residental medication 
aides

Direct support professionals

Mental health rehabilitation 

technicians

Mental health support 

specialists

Other qualified mental health 

professionals

Personal care or support 

specialists

Registered medical assistants

Residential care specialists

Community health workers

Other DCW
s as identified in 

rule

§9054 employers:

Child care facilities X X X X X
Child placing agencies
Children's residential care facilities X X X X X X
Family child care providers
Nursery schools X X
Hospice providers X X X X
Home health care providers X X X X X
Nursing facilities X X X X X X X X
Personal care agencies X X X X
Placement agencies
Temporary nurse agencies X X X
Adult day care agencies X X X X X X X
Assisted housing programs X X X X X
Residential care facilities X X X X X X X X X
Intermediate care facilities X X X X X X X X X
Mental health services: facilities X X X X X X X X X X
Mental health services: community service providers X X X X X X
Drug treatment centers X X X X X

Other position titles: Ch 101
Home Health Aide (CNA) 40/43
Employment Specialist 17
Certified Intentional Peer Support Specialist (CIPSS) 18
Other entities employing direct care workers: 
Temporary nurse agencies 

MBCC Employers v DCW positions



Web link/Data Source Agency Searches for: Notes: Rapback? 42 USC 
§9858f

Quick check: (CCDBG)
Professional and 
Occupational Licensing

https://www.pfr.maine.gov/almsonline/alm
squery/SearchCase.aspx 

DPFR License status and 
disciplinary actions (consent 
agreements)

All OPOR licensees, including medical 
professionals

CNA/DCW Registry https://www.pfr.maine.gov/almsonline/alm
squery/SearchCase.aspx

DLC Annotated CNAs/DCWs

MaineCare Excluded 
Providers

https://mainecare.maine.gov/mhpviewer.as
px?FID=MEEX 

OMS Program Integrity Excluded 
Providers 

Maine Sex Offender 
Registry

http://sor.informe.org/ DPS/Informe Registered sex offenders X*

Exclusions Database: Office 
of Inspector General

https://exclusions.oig.hhs.gov/ US DHHS-OIG Fraud Different dataset than the MaineCare Excluded 
providers

National Sex Offender 
Public Website (NSOPW)

https://www.nsopw.gov/ US DOJ Registered sex offenders X

Criminal history:
Maine State Bureau of 
Identification 

https://www5.informe.org/online/pcr/ DPS/Informe Criminal Convictions Rap sheets contain a record of: misdemeanor 
convictions; felony convictions; past arrests; 
current pending charges; dismissed charges; and 
acquitted charges.

X X*

Function inactive:
Child Protective 
Services/Out of Home 
Investigations: 
MACWIS/WELFRE

Manual selection (program can issue request 
electronically)

OCFS Abuse/neglect findings: 
Substantiated/indicated

Child Protective Records Research 800-452-1999 X*

Adult Protective Services No accessible database OADS Abuse/neglect indings: 
Substantiated/indicated

Bureau of Motor Vehicles https://www.maine.gov/bmv/drc/ SOS Driver's record check (3 or 
10 year period)

MVR (Motor Vehicle Report) includes: Status of 
drivers license; Traffic accidents; Driving record 
points; Traffic law violations, convictions, and 
fines; DUI’s in public record; Whether a driver’s 
license is currently valid, suspended or canceled.

*= And each state where the individal resided in the preceding 5 years
Desired, but not currently active: 

MBCC Functionalities



Web link/Data Source Agency Searches for: Notes: Rapback? 42 USC 
§9858f

National Instant Criminal 
Background Check System 
(NICS); National Data 
Exchange (N-DEx) System

National Crime Information Center 
(firearms)

FBI Biometrically-based national 
conviction data

Next Generation Identification (NGI) X X

IdentoGo https://www.identogo.com/ Private agency Electronically scanned 
finderprinting service: state 
and federal employees

Under development X

MBCC Functionalities



§9054 employers: DHHS Rule(s) Additional Maine Statute(s) CMS Conditions of Participation OMS Rule(s)

Hospice providers
10-144 CMR Ch. 120 Regulations Concerning the 
Licensing and Functioning of Hospice Programs

22 MRS §7706. Criminal background checks Appendix M. Hospice Section 43: Hospice Services

Home health care 
providers

10-144 CMR Ch. 119 Regulations Governing the 
Licensing and Functioning of Home Health Care 
Services

Appendix B. Home Health Agencies Section 40: Home Health Services

10-144 CMR Ch. 110 Regulations Governing the 
Licensing and Functioning of Skilled Nursing Facilities 
and Nursing Facilities

Appendix P Survey Protocol for Long-Term 
Care Facilities; Appendix PP. Interpretive 
Guidelines 

Section 67: Nursing Facility Services

10-144 CMR Ch. 128 Certified Nursing Assistant and 
Direct Care Worker Registry Rule

Personal care agencies
10-144 CMR Ch. 129 Rules and Regulations Governing 
In-Home Personal Care and Support Workers

22 MRS §1717. Registration of personal care 
agencies and placement agencies

Section 96: Private Duty Nursing and Personal Care 
Services

Placement agencies
10-148 CMR Ch. 12 Rules for Permanency 
Guardianship

22 MRS §7706. Criminal background checks

Temporary nurse 
agencies

No specific rule 22 MRS §2137. Criminal background checks
Section 96: Private Duty Nursing and Personal Care 
Services

Adult day care agencies
10-144 CMR Ch. 117 Regulations Governing the 
Licensing and Functioning of Adult Day Services 
Programs

22 MRS §7706. Criminal background checks
Section 19: Home and Community Benefits for the 
Elderly and Adults with Disabilities

Assisted housing 
programs

22 MRS §7706. Criminal background checks Section 97: Private Non-Medical Institution Services

Residential care facilities 22 MRS §7706. Criminal background checks
Section 21: Home and Community Benefits for 
Members with Intellectual Disabilities or Autism 
Spectrum Disorder
Section 102: Rehabilitative Services

Intermediate care 
facilities

10-144 CMR Ch. 118 Regulations Governing the 
Licensing and Functioning of Intermediate Care 
Facilities for Persons with Mental Retardation

22 MRS §7706. Criminal background checks

Appendix J. Survey Procedures and 
Interpretive Guidelines for Intermediate Care 
Facilities for Persons with Mental 
Retardation

Section 50: ICF-MR Services

14-193 CMR Ch. 6 Licensing of Mental Health Facilities
Appendix AA. Psychiatric Hospitals--
Interpretive Guidelines and Survey 
Procedures

Section 46: Psychiatric Hospital Services

14-193 CMR Ch. 6A Licensing of Mental Health 
Facilities: PNMI

Section 107: Psychiatric Residential Treatment 
Facility Services

Mental health services: 
community service 
providers

34-B MRS §1225. Criminal background checks
Appendix K. Comprehensive Outpatient 
Rehabilitation Facilities—Interpretive 
Guidelines

Section 65: Behavioral Health Services

Section 29: Support Services for Adults with 
Intellectual Disabilities or Autism Spectrum Disorder

Drug treatment centers
14-118 CMR Ch. 5 Regulations for Licensing and 
Certifying of Substance Abuse Treatment Programs

22 MRS §7706. Criminal background checks

Child care facilities
10-148 CMR Ch. 32 Rules for the Licensing of Child 
Care Facilities

22 MRS §7706. Criminal background checks
Section 94: Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis 
and Treatment Services (EPSDT)

34-B MRS §1225. Criminal background checks

Nursing facilities

10-144 CMR Ch. 113 Regulations Governing the 
Licensing and Functioning of Assisted Housing 
Programs

Mental health services: 
facilities 

Employers v regulation



§9054 employers: DHHS Rule(s) Additional Maine Statute(s) CMS Conditions of Participation OMS Rule(s)
10-148 CMR Ch. 19 Rules Providing for Licensing of 
Child Placing Agencies With and Without Adoption 
Programs, including Addendum, Home Certification 
Process

22 MRS §7706. Criminal background checks

10-148 CMR Ch. 19-A Rules for the Licensure of 
Private Non-medical Institutions-Child Placing 
Agencies With and Without Adoption Programs

22 MRS §7706. Criminal background checks

10-148 CMR Ch. 20 Rules for Licensing of Child Placing 
Agencies With only Respite Care Programs

22 MRS §7706. Criminal background checks

10-144 CMR Ch. 36 Children's Residential Care 
Licensing Rule

22 MRS §7706. Criminal background checks

10-148 CMR Ch. 8 Rules for the Licensure of Shelter 
for Homeless Children

22 MRS §7706. Criminal background checks

10-148 CMR Ch. 9 Rules for the Licensure of 
Emergency Shelters for Children

22 MRS §7706. Criminal background checks

Family child care 
providers

10-144 CMR Ch. 33 Family Child Care Provider 
Licensing Rule

22 MRS §7706. Criminal background checks

Nursery schools
10-148 CMR Ch. 36 Rules for the Licensing of Nursery 
Schools

22 MRS §7706. Criminal background checks

Potential DCW, but not 
mandated: 

Hospitals
 10-14 CMR Ch. 112 RegulaƟons for the Licensing of 

Hospitals
22 MRS §1724. Criminal background checks Appendix A. Hospitals Ch. II - Section 45: Hospital Services

Child care- all types 10-148 CMR Ch. 6 Child Care Subsidy Policy Manual
 10-148 CMR Ch. 16 & 15 Rules for the Licensing of 

Family Foster Homes for Children, including Ch. 15, 
Rules Providing for the Licensing of Specialized 
Children's Foster Homes
10-148 CMR Ch. 17 Rules for Licensing of Family 
Foster Homes Providing Respite Care for Children

Targeted Case 
Management

14-197 CMR Ch. 10 Certification Requirements for 
Agencies Seeking to Provide Community Based 
Targeted Case Management for Adults with Mental 
Retardation and Autism

Ch. II - Section 13: Targeted Case Management 
Services

ESRD
10-144 CMR Ch. 126 Regulations Governing the 
Licensing and Functioning of End Stage Renal Disease 
Units/Facilities

Ambulatory Surgery 
Center

10-144 CMR Ch. 125 Regulations Governing the 
Licensing of Ambulatory Surgical Facilities

Foster Care

Child placing agencies

Children's residential 
care facilities

Employers v regulation



Position Title MaineCare Rule(s)
Behavioral health professionals Section 28 Rehabilitative and Community Support Services for Children with Cognitive Impairments and Functional Limitations  No background checks esxplicit in rule.
Behavior specialists
Certified residental medication aides Section 17 Community Support Services 
Certified residential care aides
Community health workers
Direct support professionals: Section 65 Section 65 Behavioral Health Services

 65.09-2Direct Support Professional (DSP)
A DSP is a person who:

 A.Successfully completed the Direct Support Professional curriculum as adopted by DHHS, or demonstrated proficiency through DHHS’s approved Assessment of Prior Learning, or has successfully completed the 
curriculum from the Maine College of Direct Support within six (6) months of date of hire.
Prior to providing services to a member alone, a DSP must have completed the following four modules from the College of Direct Support, including computer based and live sessions:

 1.IntroducƟon to Developmental DisabiliƟes
 2.Professionalism
 3.Individual Rights and Choice 
 4.Maltreatment

Documentation of completion must be retained in the personnel record.
 B.Completed the following Department-approved trainings, within the first six (6) months from date of hire and thereaŌer every thirty six (36) months;
 C.
 1.The RegulaƟons Regarding Reportable Events, Adult ProtecƟve InvesƟgaƟons and SubstanƟaƟon Hearings (14-197, Ch. 12)
 2.RegulaƟons Governing Behavioral Support, ModificaƟon and Management for People with Intellectual DisabiliƟes or AuƟsm in Maine (14-197, Ch. 5)
 3.Rights and Basic ProtecƟons of a Person with an Intellectual Disability or AuƟsm (Title 34-B §5605)
 4.Grievance Training (must be completed before working with members).
 D.Has a background check consistent with SecƟon 21.10-10;
 E.Has an adult protecƟve and child protecƟve record check;
 E.Is at least eighteen (18) years of age; 
 F.Graduated from high school or acquired a GED;
 G.Has current CPR and First Aid CerƟficaƟon.
 H.Prior to administering medicaƟon, a DSP is legally authorized to assist with the administraƟon of medicaƟon if the DSP is cerƟfied as a CerƟfied Nursing Assistant-MedicaƟons (CNA-M); as a CerƟfied ResidenƟal 

Medication Aide (CRMA), or a Registered Nurse (RN), or otherwise has been trained to administer medications through a training program specifically for Family-Centered or Shared Living model homes and 
authorized, certified, or approved by DHHS. 

Direct support professionals: Section 18 Section 18 Home and Community-Based Services for Adults with Brain Injury                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                        
18.10-9 Background Check Criteria- Providers must conduct criminal and child and adult protective services background checks on all prospective employees, persons contracted or hired, consultants, volunteers, 
students, and other persons who may provide services under this Section. Background checks on persons professionally licensed by the State of Maine must include a confirmation that the licensee is in good 
standing with the appropriate licensing board or entity. 
The provider shall not hire or retain in any capacity any person who may directly provide services to a member under this section if that person has a record of:

 A.any criminal convicƟon that involves abuse, neglect or exploitaƟon;
 B.any criminal convicƟon in connecƟon to intenƟonal or knowing conduct that caused, threatened, solicited or created the substanƟal risk of bodily injury to another person;
  C.any criminal convicƟon resulƟng from a sexual act, contact, touching or solicitaƟon in connecƟon with any vicƟm; or
 D.any other criminal convicƟon, classified as Class A, B or C or the equivalent of any of these, or any criminal convicƟon based upon reckless conduct that caused, threatened, solicited or created the substanƟal risk 

of bodily injury to another person within the preceding two (2) years; or
 E.any criminal convicƟon within Title 29-A, chapter 23, subchapter 2, arƟcle 1, or Title 29-A, chapter 23, subchapter 5.

Employment of individuals with records of such convictions more than five (5) years prior to the time of the background check is a matter within the provider's discretion after consideration of the individual's 
criminal record in relation to the nature of the position. The member receiving services must be prior notified and approve the receipt of services from such staff in writing if the provider decides to hire a staff 
person with a conviction. 

The provider shall contact child and adult protective services (including the Office of Aging and Disability Services) units within DHHS, within the parameters of current applicable state and federal law, to obtain any 
record of substantiated allegations of abuse, neglect or exploitation against an employment applicant before hiring the same. In the case of a child or adult protective services investigation substantiating abuse, 
neglect or exploitation by a prospective employee of the provider, it is the provider’s responsibility to decide what hiring action to take in response to that substantiation, while acting in accordance with licensing 
standards. 

MaineCare BGC requirements



Position Title MaineCare Rule(s)
Direct support professionals: Section 21 Section 21 Home and Community Benefits for Members with Intellectual Disabilities or Autism Spectrum Disorder

 21.10-8 Background Check Criteria

  The provider must conduct background checks every two (2) years on all prospecƟve employees, persons contracted or hired, consultants, volunteers, students, and other persons who maybe providing direct 
support services under this Section. A background check is required for any adult who may be providing direct or indirect services where the member receives Shared Living or Family-Centered Support. Background 
checks are required for any adult residing in a Family-Centered or Shared Living Home. Background checks on persons professionally licensed by the State of Maine will include a confirmation that the licensee is in 
good standing with the appropriate licensing board or entity. The provider shall not hire or retain in any capacity any person who may directly provide services to a member under this Section if that person has a 
record of:

 A.any criminal convicƟon that involves abuse, neglect or exploitaƟon;
 B.any criminal convicƟon in connecƟon to intenƟonal or knowing conduct that caused, threatened, solicited or created the substanƟal risk of bodily injury to another person;
 C.any criminal convicƟon resulƟng from a sexual act, contact, touching or solicitaƟon in connecƟon to any vicƟm; or
 D.any other criminal convicƟon, classified as Class A, B or C or the equivalent of any of these, or any reckless conduct that caused, threatened, solicited or created the substanƟal risk of bodily injury to another 

person within the preceding two (2) years or; 
 E.a habitual offender status under 29-A, M.R.S. §2551-A.

 The provider shall contact child and adult protecƟve services (including OADS and the Office of Child and Family Services) units within State government to obtain any record of substanƟated allegaƟons of abuse, 
neglect or exploitation against an employment applicant before hiring the same. In the case of a child or adult protective services investigation substantiating abuse, neglect or exploitation by a prospective 
employee of the provider, it is the provider’s responsibility to decide what hiring action to take in response to that substantiation, while acting in accordance with licensing standards. Within sixty (60) days of the 
effective date of this rule, all staff and all adults residing with a member must have all background checks completed. All background checks must be completed every twenty-four (24) months thereafter. Costs for 
background checks are the provider’s responsibility.

Direct support professionals: Section 29 Section 29 Support Services for Adults with Intellectual Disabilities or Autism Spectrum Disorder                                                                                                                                                                                                                          
29.10-6  Background Check Criteria: The provider must conduct background checks every two years on all employees, persons contracted or hired, consultants, volunteers, students, and other persons who may 
provide services under this Section. A background check is required for any adult who may be providing direct or indirect services where the member receives Shared Living. Background checks are required for any 
adult residing in a Shared Living Home. Background checks must be completed before a hire is finalized and prior to the employee working with members. Background checks on persons professionally licensed by 
the State of Maine will include a confirmation that the licensee is in good standing with the appropriate licensing board or entity. The provider shall not hire or retain in any capacity any person who may directly 
provide services to a member under this Section if that person has a record of:

 A.any criminal convicƟon that involves abuse, neglect or exploitaƟon; or

 B.any criminal convicƟon in connecƟon to intenƟonal or knowing conduct that caused, threatened, solicited or created the substanƟal risk of bodily injury to another person;

 C.any criminal convicƟon resulƟng from a sexual act, contact, touching or solicitaƟon in connecƟon to any vicƟm; or
any other criminal conviction, classified as Class A, B or C or the equivalent of any of these, or any reckless conduct that caused, threatened, solicited or created the substantial risk of bodily injury to another person 
within the preceding two (2) years; or

 E.any criminal convicƟon within Title 29-A, chapter 23, subchapter 2, arƟcle 1, or Title 29-A, chapter 23, subchapter 5.

The provider shall contact child and adult protective services (including OADS and the Office of Child and Family Services) units within State government to obtain any record of substantiated allegations of abuse, 
neglect or exploitation against an employment applicant before hiring the same. In the case of a child or adult protective services investigation substantiating abuse, neglect or exploitation by an employee of the 
provider, it is the provider’s responsibility to decide what hiring action to take in response to that substantiation, while acting in accordance with licensing standards. Within 60 days of the effective date of this rule, 
all staff and all adults residing with a member must have all background checks completed. All background checks must be completed every twenty-four (24) months thereafter. Costs for background checks are the 
responsibility of the provider.

MaineCare BGC requirements



Position Title MaineCare Rule(s)
Direct support professionals: Section 20 Section 20 Home and Community Based Waiver for Adults with Other Related Conditions

 20.10-16Background Check Criteria- Providers must conduct background checks on all prospecƟve employees, persons contracted or hired, consultants, volunteers, students, and other persons who may provide services under this 
Section. Background checks on persons professionally licensed by the State of Maine will include a confirmation that the licensee is in good standing with the appropriate licensing board or entity. 
The provider shall not hire or retain in any capacity any person who may directly provide services to a member under this section if that person has a record of:

 A.any criminal convicƟon that involves abuse, neglect or exploitaƟon;
 B.any criminal convicƟon in connecƟon to intenƟonal or knowing conduct that caused, threatened, solicited or created the substanƟal risk of bodily injury to another person;
 C.any criminal convicƟon resulƟng from a sexual act, contact, touching or solicitaƟon in connecƟon with any vicƟm; or
 D.any other criminal convicƟon, classified as Class A, B or C or the equivalent of any of these, or any criminal convicƟon based upon reckless conduct that caused, threatened, solicited or created the substanƟal risk of bodily injury to 

another person within the preceding two (2) years; or
 E.any criminal convicƟon within Title 29-A, chapter 23, subchapter 2, arƟcle 1, or Title 29-A, chapter 23, subchapter 5. Employment of individuals with records of such convicƟons more than five (5) years prior to the Ɵme of the 

background check is a matter within the provider's discretion after consideration of the individual's criminal record in relation to the nature of the position. The member receiving services must approve the employment of such staff in 
writing if the provider decides to hire a staff person with a conviction. 

The provider shall contact child and adult protective services (including the Office of Aging and Disability Services) units within DHHS to obtain any record of substantiated allegations of abuse, neglect or exploitation against an 
employment applicant before hiring the same. In the case of a child or adult protective services investigation substantiating abuse, neglect or exploitation by a prospective employee of the provider, it is the provider’s responsibility to 
decide what hiring action to take in response to that substantiation, while acting in accordance with licensing standards. 

Mental health rehabilitation technicians (MHRT-
1, MHRT/C)

Section 17 Community Support Services No background check requirements explicit in rule.

Mental health support specialists
Other qualified mental health professionals Section 46 Psychiatric Hospital Services    No explicit background check requirements. Lists:    46.01-6Mental Health Clinician   A Mental Health Clinician means a Physician, Psychiatrist, Clinical Psychologist, Licensed 

Clinical Social Worker (LCSW), Licensed Master Social Worker, Licensed Master Social Worker Conditional Clinical (LMSW-CC), Licensed Clinical Professional Counselor (LCPC), Licensed Professional Counselor (LPC), 
Licensed Marriage Family Therapist (LMFT), Advanced Practice Registered Nurse Psychiatric and Mental Health Practitioner (APRN-PMH-NP), or an Advanced Practice Registered Nurse Psychiatric and Mental Health 
Clinical Nurse Specialist (APRN-PMH-CNS) when practicing within their scope of licensure to make a diagnosis.

Personal care or support specialists Section 12 Consumer-Directed Attendant Services   
 C.AƩendant

An attendant must be at least seventeen (17) years old and have the ability to assist with Activities of Daily Living. An attendant cannot be an individual who has a notation on the Maine Registry of Certified Nursing 
Assistants of (a) any criminal convictions, except for Class D and Class E convictions over ten (10) years old that did not involve as a victim of the act, a patient, client, or resident of a health care entity; or (b) any 
specific documented findings by the State Survey Agency of abuse, neglect or misappropriation of property of a resident, client or patient.

Registered medical assistants
Residential care specialists

Other DCWs as identified in rule:
Spouse or the parent of a minor child Section 96 Private Duty Nursing and Personal Care Services

“Special circumstances nursing” allows a relative, including a spouse or the parent of a minor child, to be paid to provide nursing services to the Member under this Section. To qualify for this coverage the Member’s relative must meet 
the requirements in (1) and (2) below.
 
1.  The relative must: (all of the following are required)

 a.meet all licensing, training, reporƟng and other requirements otherwise specified in this SecƟon; and
 b.be employed by a licensed home health agency; and
 c.abide by the requirement that an independent nurse or physician must conduct any required assessments and/or develop the plan of care; and
 d.implement the Member’s authorized plan of care; and
 e.if applicable, expect to conƟnue non-reimbursed family caregiver responsibiliƟes; and
 f.pass a criminal background check. The family nursing provider must not have any criminal convicƟons, except for Class D and Class E convicƟons over 10 years old that did not involve as a vicƟm of the act a paƟent, client, or resident 

of a health care entity; or any specific documented findings by the State Survey Agency of abuse, neglect, or misappropriation of property of a resident, client, or patient.

Certified Nursing Assistant
Employment Specialist?Certified Employment 
Specialist

The provider shall contact child and adult protective services (including the Office of Aging and Disability Services) units within DHHS to obtain any record of substantiated allegations of abuse, neglect or exploitation against an 
employment applicant before hiring the same. In the case of a child or adult protective services investigation substantiating abuse, neglect or exploitation by a prospective employee of the provider, it is the provider’s responsibility to 
decide what hiring action to take in response to that substantiation, while acting in accordance with licensing standards. 

Certified Intentional Peer Support Specialist 
(CIPSS) 

Section 92, Section 65

Family or Youth Support Specialist Section 92 

MaineCare BGC requirements



Position Title MaineCare Rule(s)
Section 40 Home Health Services   40.01-12Home Health Aide Services are those in-home services that are provided by a cerƟfied home health aide and which are delegated and supervised by a registered nurse. A 
certified home health aide must have satisfactorily completed a training program for certified nurse assistants, consistent with the rules and regulations of the Maine State Board of Nursing. Home health aides 
employed by a Home Health Agency must also have completed an agency orientation as defined by the regulations Governing the Licensing and Functioning of Home Health Care Services.

Section 43 Hospice Services
  43.05-1Covered Services    E.Home Health Aide Services furnished by cerƟfied home health aides and cerƟfied nursing assistants. Home health aides may provide personal care and household services essenƟal to 

the comfort and cleanliness of the member and maintaining a safe and healthy environment to allow implementation of the plan of care. Aide services must be provided under the general supervision of a registered 
nurse.

Qualified Mental Retardation Professional 
(QMRP)

Section 50 ICF-MR Services 

Brain injury-title(s) unknown Section 102 Rehabilitative Services 102.08-5 Professional and Other Qualified Staff N. Other Qualified Staff.  Other qualified staff are staff members, other than professional staff defined above, who have 
appropriate education, training, and experience in treatment of individuals with brain injury as approved by CARF, have a satisfactory criminal background check annually, and work under documented supervision, 
conducted at least monthly, by the professionals defined above.

Certified home health aide

MaineCare BGC requirements



Rule Chapter: Title Background Check Requirements State Operations Manual (if applicable)
10-144 Ch 110 Regulations Governing the 

Licensing and Functioning of 
Skilled Nursing Facilities and 
Nursing Facilities

8.D.1. Employee Record on File a. Employment History A record shall be completed for each employee, kept on file in the facility, and shall be available to Department 
personnel for inspection. Each record shall contain documentation of references and checks, dates of employment, home address, education or background, social security 
number, occupational license number if applicable, past experience or type of employment, where previously employed, type of position employed for in this facility and 
last day employed (if no longer in present facility). The current occupational license number, when applicable, shall be on file.

Appendix PP. GUIDANCE Employment 
Facilities must be thorough in their investigations of the histories of prospective staff. In addition to inquiry of the State nurse aide registry or licensing 
authorities, the facility should check information from previous and/or current employers and make reasonable efforts to uncover information about any 
past criminal prosecutions. It has been reported that former nurse aides with a finding of abuse, neglect, misappropriation of resident property, 
exploitation, or mistreatment may seek employment in other departments of a facility, such as maintenance or laundry services/department, or at 
another nursing home in a non-nursing capacity. Some States may have additional requirements for criminal background checks and State law may 
prohibit persons convicted of certain crimes from working in a long-term care facility. The State Survey Agency may use its own authority for assuring 
facility compliance such as the use of the National Background Check Program or specific State licensure requirements that may address criminal 
background checks. In addition, some facilities may have more stringent hiring restrictions than what is required by State or Federal law.

10-144 Ch 112 Regulations for the Licensing of 
Hospitals

2.17.1 Violations of federal conditions of participation.  When a violation under Section 3.1 has occurred, and a federal statement of deficiencies is issued to the applicant 
or licensee, the plan of correction accepted by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services shall be accepted by the department.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                 
3.1          Federal standards and certification requirements.  All applicants and licensees must comply with the federal standards and certification requirements for hospitals, 
adopted by the United States Department of Health and Human Services Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) as set forth in 42 C.F.R. §482.1 through 
§482.104 and §485.601 through §485.647, revised as of October 1, 2007, which is incorporated herein by reference. 

3.1.1       Copies of the federal standards and certification requirements can be found at 42 C.F.R. §482.1 through §482.104 and §485.601 through §485.647 , revised as of 
October 1, 2007, or may be obtained from the Maine Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Licensing and Regulatory Services, 11 State House Station, 
Augusta, Maine 04333, or the Maine Office of the Secretary of State, 101 State House Station, Augusta, Maine 04333. 

3.1.2       A violation of any of the federal standards and certification requirements constitutes a violation of the state of Maine Rules for the Licensing of Hospitals, 10-144 
C.M.R. Ch. 112.  

Survey Procedures §482.13(c)(3)  Screen. Persons with a record of abuse or neglect should not be hired or retained as employees. Survey Procedures 
§482.13(c)(3)
• Examine the extent to which the hospital has a system in place to protect patients from abuse, neglect and harassment of all forms, whether from staff, 
other patients, visitors or other persons. In particular, determine the extent to which the hospital addresses the following issues. Does the hospital 
conduct criminal background checks as allowed by State law for all potential new hires?

10-144 Ch 133 Regulations Governing the 
Licensing and Functioning of 
Assisted Housing Programs

 8.3Prohibited Employment.  The facility may not hire as unlicensed assisƟve personnel as defined in secƟon 2.57 an individual who is prohibited from employment as a 
certified nursing assistant as outlined below and in section 8.4:

 8.3.1An individual may not be employed in a hospital, nursing facility, home health agency or assisted housing program as a cerƟfied nursing assistant if that individual has 
been convicted in a court of law of a crime involving abuse, neglect or misappropriation of property in a health care setting; and

 8.3.2An individual may not be employed in a hospital, nursing facility, home health agency or assisted housing program as a cerƟfied nursing assistant if that individual:
 8.3.2.1Has been the subject of a complaint involving abuse or neglect that was substanƟated by the department pursuant to its responsibility to license hospitals, nursing 

facilities, home health agencies and assisted housing programs and that was entered on the Maine Registry of Certified Nursing Assistants; or
 8.3.2.2Has been the subject of a complaint involving the misappropriaƟon of property in a health care seƫng that was substanƟated by the department and entered on 

the Maine Registry of Certified Nursing Assistants.
 8.4Time Limit on ConsideraƟon of Prior Criminal ConvicƟon:  Except as otherwise provided in this secƟon, an individual may not be employed in a hospital, nursing facility, 

home health agency or assisted housing program as a certified nursing assistant if that individual has a prior criminal conviction within the last 10 years of:
 8.4.1A crime for which incarceraƟon of 3 years or more may be imposed under the laws of the state in which the convicƟon occurred;
 8.4.2A crime for which incarceraƟon of less than 3 years may be imposed under the laws of the state in which the convicƟon occurred involving sexual misconduct or 

involving abuse, neglect or exploitation in a setting other than a health care setting.
 8.5ExcepƟon:  The restricƟons on employment under secƟons 8.3.1 and 8.3.2 do not apply to an individual listed and acƟve on the Maine Registry of CerƟfied Nursing 

Assistants prior to the effective date of Title 22 M.R.S.A. §1812G(8) as long as the individual meets other state and federal requirements for certified nursing assistants and 
continues to maintain an active status by timely re-registration as required by the rules.

 8.6NoƟficaƟon:  A nursing assistant training program must noƟfy applicants to that program of the restricƟons under 8.3.1 and 8.3.2 prior to the acceptance of any 
applicant.

Appendix PP - Guidance to Surveyors for Long Term Care Facilities  §483.12(a) The facility must—
§483.12(a)(3) Not employ or otherwise engage individuals who—
(i) Have been found guilty of abuse, neglect, exploitation, misappropriation of property, or mistreatment by a court of law;
(ii) Have had a finding entered into the State nurse aide registry concerning abuse, neglect, exploitation, mistreatment of residents or misappropriation of 
their property; or
(iii) Have a disciplinary action in effect against his or her professional license by a state licensure body as a result of a finding of abuse, neglect, 
exploitation, mistreatment of residents or misappropriation of resident property.

§483.12(a)(4) Report to the State nurse aide registry or licensing authorities any knowledge it has of actions by a court of law against an employee, which 
would indicate unfitness for service as a nurse aide or other facility staff.                                                GUIDANCE
Employment
NOTE: For purposes of this guidance, “staff” includes employees, the medical director, consultants, contractors, volunteers. Staff would also include 
caregivers who provide care and services to residents on behalf of the facility, students in the facility’s nurse aide training program, and students from 
affiliated academic institutions, including therapy, social, and activity programs.

Facilities must be thorough in their investigations of the histories of prospective staff. In addition to inquiry of the State nurse aide registry or licensing 
authorities, the facility should check information from previous and/or current employers and make reasonable efforts to uncover information about any 
past criminal prosecutions. It has been reported that former nurse aides with a finding of abuse, neglect, misappropriation of resident property, 
exploitation, or mistreatment may seek employment in other departments of a facility, such as maintenance or laundry services/department, or at 
another nursing home in a non-nursing capacity.

Some States may have additional requirements for criminal background checks and State law may prohibit persons convicted of certain crimes from 
working in a long-term care facility. The State Survey Agency may use its own authority for assuring facility compliance such as the use of the National 
Background Check Program or specific State licensure requirements that may address criminal background checks. In addition, some
facilities may have more stringent hiring restrictions than what is required by State or
Federal law.
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10-144 Ch 117 Regulations Governing the 

Licensing and Functioning of Adult 
Day Services Programs

4.1 Administrator Requirements.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                       
 4.1.2.1.Record and reputaƟon for honest and lawful conduct in business and personal affairs. The provider shall authorize the Department to review the records of 

professional licensing boards or registers, any criminal record, child protective record or adult protective record necessary to determine compliance with these rules;5.6 
Personnel Records

5.6.1 Employee Records. A record shall be completed for each staff member, kept on file at the program site or at the agency central office, and shall be available to 
Department personnel for inspection. Each record shall contain documentation of references and background checks, dates of employment, date of birth, home address 
and telephone number, education or background, social security number, past experience or type of employment, where previously employed, job description of position 
employed for in this program and the current occupational license number, when applicable, record of participation in in-service, orientation or other training programs, 
results of annual personnel evaluations, disciplinary actions, illness and injury records, and date of and reason for terminating employment. Records shall be kept at least 
two (2) years after termination of employment. Records may be computerized.

10-144 Ch 118 Regulations Governing the 
Licensing and Functioning of 
Intermediate Care Facilities for 
Persons with Mental Retardation

6.D.7  Personnel Records

a. A record must be completed for each employee, and must be available to the Department for review.  This record must contain date of employment, birth date, home 
address,
education and background, social security number, occupational license number if applicable, and whatever other information the facility deems appropriate for the 
position.

§483.420(d)(1)(iii) The facility must prohibit the employment of individuals with a conviction or prior employment history of child or client abuse, neglect 
or mistreatment.

Guidance §483.420(d)(1)(iii)
The facility is required to screen potential employees for a prior employment history of child or client abuse, neglect or mistreatment, as well as for any 
conviction based on those offenses. The abuse, neglect or mistreatment must have been directed toward a child or a client/resident/patient of a health 
care facility in order for the prohibition of employment to apply.

No one with a conviction or substantiated allegation of child or client abuse, neglect or mistreatment regardless of employment date, is employed by the 
facility. This requirement also applies to acts of abuse, neglect or mistreatment committed by a current ICF/IID employee outside the jurisdiction of the 
ICF/IID (e.g., in the community or in another health care facility). The facility must follow state guidelines or requirements for background checks to assure 
that they make every effort to check new employee’s background. Where the facility has terminated an employee based upon confirmation that abuse, 
neglect or mistreatment occurred during the employee’s performance, and the termination decision was overturned by either arbitration finding or a 
court finding, the employee must be returned to a position which does not involve direct contact between that employee and clients of the facility.

A person who abused a resident in a nursing facility, and as a result, is barred from employment in the nursing home setting would also be prohibited 
from employment in the ICF/IID. While facilities are not required to periodically screen existing employees, if the facility becomes aware that such action 
has been taken against an employee, the facility is required to prohibit continued employment. This is also true of any conviction in a court of law for 
child, elder, or client (resident, patient) abuse, neglect or mistreatment. Therefore, conviction for abusing one's own child is also a reason employment 
would be prohibited. 

10-144 Ch 119 Regulations Governing the 
Licensing and Functioning of Home 
Health Care Services

 6.C.2.The agency may not employ an individual who:
 a.Has been found by the State Survey Agency to have abused, neglected or misappropriated the property of an individual, corporaƟon or enƟty in a health care seƫng, 

and annotated on the Maine Registry of Certified Nursing Assistants; or
 b.Has been convicted in a court of law of a crime involving abuse, neglect or misappropriaƟon of the property of an individual, corporaƟon or enƟty in a health care 

setting, or 
 c.Has a prior criminal convicƟon within the last ten (10) years of:
 (1)A crime for which incarceraƟon of three (3) years or more may be imposed under the laws of the State in which the convicƟon occurred; or 
 (2)A crime for which incarceraƟon of less than three (3) years may be imposed under the laws of the State in which the convicƟon occurred involving sexual misconduct or 

involving abuse, neglect, or exploitation in a setting other than a health care setting.

Appendix B - Guidance to Surveyors: Home Health Agencies                                                                                                                       §484.100 Condition of 
participation: Compliance with Federal, State, and local laws and regulations related to the health and safety of patients.

The HHA and its staff must operate and furnish services in compliance with all applicable federal, state, and local laws and regulations related to the 
health and safety of patients. If state or local law provides licensing of HHAs, the HHA must be licensed.

Interpretive Guidelines §484.100
Non-compliance with this condition includes: 1) the agency is not currently licensed per State requirements; or 2) the HHA has been cited by a Federal 
program (other than CMS), or a State or local authority for a non-compliance with licensing requirements. The Federal, State or local authority has made a 
final determination after all administrative procedures have been completed; all appeals have been finalized; and the findings of the noncompliance with 
the laws/regulations were upheld and enforced.

10-144 Ch 120 Regulations Concerning the 
Licensing and Functioning of 
Hospice Programs

 6.A.2.Policies and procedures:  Hospice programs shall develop and maintain policies and procedures that address the following:
 b.Screening;

Apendix M - Guidance to Surveyors: Hospice                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                           
L795
§418.114(d) Standard: Criminal background checks
(1) The hospice must obtain a criminal background check on all hospice employees who have direct patient contact or access to patient records. Hospice 
contracts must require that all contracted entities obtain criminal background checks on contracted employees who have direct patient contact or access 
to patient records.

L796
§418.114(d)(2) - Criminal background checks must be obtained in accordance with State requirements. In the absence of State requirements, criminal 
background checks must be obtained within three months of the date of employment for all states that the individual has lived or worked in the past 3 
years.
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10-144 Ch 129 Rules and Regulations Governing In-

Home Personal Care and Support 
Workers

 3.B.HIRING
 Prior to hiring an individual, the agency must contact the Maine Registry of CerƟfied Nursing Assistant to ascertain if the individual has worked as a cerƟfied nursing 
assistant; and if the individual has been the subject of an annotation for a substantiated complaint or conviction of abuse, neglect, or misappropriation of funds in a health 
care setting. A Personal Care Services Provider may employ an individual for at least the length of time that is required to complete a Registry check.

14-118 Ch 5 Regulations for Licensing and 
Certifying of Substance Abuse 
Treatment Programs

12. Reference and Background Checks.
12.1 The agency shall conduct background checks on all prospective employees, persons contracted or hired, consultants, volunteers, and students. This shall include, but 
not necessarily be limited to, background checks through the State Bureau of Investigation, Child Protective Services, Adult Protective Services, the Out-of-home 
Investigations Unit (OOH), formerly the Institutional Abuse Unit, the Maine Registry of Certified Nursing Assistants and other similar registers, the Bureau of Motor Vehicles, 
and such other relevant and available registers, sources of information or databases.
12.1.1 Such background checks shall be conducted at the agency’s expense.
12.1.2 The agency shall not hire any person who has a prior criminal conviction or disciplinary action by a professional licensing, registration or accrediting body that 
pertains to client abuse or exploitation.  See Title 5 M.R.S.A. §5301 et seq.
12.1.3 In the case of an Adult or Child Protective Services, or the Out-of-Home Investigations Unit (OOH), formerly the Institutional Abuse Unit, investigation substantiating 
abuse, neglect, or exploitation by an employee of the agency, it is the agency’s responsibility to decide what personnel action to take in response to said report, in 
accordance with licensing standards.
12.1.4 When the operation of a motor vehicle is expected or reasonably anticipated in the course of an employee, volunteer, or student’s work, the agency shall conduct a 
check of the driving record.  The agency shall not permit an employee, volunteer, or student to transport clients if they have a conviction for operating under the influence 
or any other accident or violation that indicates an unsafe driving history within the past three (3) years.
12.1.5 The agency shall acquire and retain evidence that all persons who in the completion of their duties are required or could be reasonably anticipated to operate a 
motor vehicle, have valid driver’s license appropriate to the class of vehicle to be used.  If a staff person, in the course of work, is operating a vehicle not provided by the 
agency, evidence of registration, inspection, and insurance shall be maintained.  Such evidence shall be acquired at the commencement of the person’s employment and 
shall be maintained and reviewed periodically.
12.1.6 Employment of any individual shall be contingent upon results of the background checks.  Background checks must be completed before the employee has any client 
contact without another individual present.
12.1.7 If a positive check is discovered, the agency must have a policy and procedure on how this will be addressed.

14-191 Ch 8 Rules for Facilities Providing Adult 
Day Programs 

[No relevant content]

14-193 Ch 6 Licensing of Mental Health 
Facilities

HRM.8.A.5 documentation regarding the individual's criminal abuse history (e.g., checking with SBI, DHS).

HRM.8.A.5.a If checks with SBI or DHS produce information regarding an employee, the agency will document in the personnel file its assessment of the seriousness of the 
information provided and take appropriate actions if indicated.

Appendix N-Psychiatric Residential Treatment Facilities (PRTF) Interpretive Guidance: No content regarding background checks. 

14-193 Ch 6A Licensing of Mental Health 
Facilities: PNMI

CS.20 There is documented evidence that community support workers are licensed or certified to deliver mental health services as approved by the Division of Licensing at 
DHHS.

14-197 CMR Ch. 10  Certification Requirements for 
Agencies Seeking to Provide 
Community Based Targeted Case 
Management for Adults with 
Mental Retardation and Autism

 D.Recruitment and SelecƟon of Employees

 1.General Criteria

 a.The agency shall not hire or retain in any capacity any person who has a prior criminal convicƟon or disciplinary acƟon by a professional licensing, registraƟon or 
accrediting body, that pertains to consumer abuse, neglect, or exploitation.

 b.For those staff who have other types of criminal convicƟons or negaƟve work history known to the agency, the agency shall document in the individual's personnel file 
the crime and/or other sanctions, the agency's assessment of the seriousness of the information provided and the agency's rationale for hiring and/or retaining the 
individual. The agency shall specifically address issues of professional misfeasance, malfeasance, malpractice or other related misconduct; convictions or findings in which 
substance use or the use of firearms or other weapons were elements; and criminal convictions in which the actual or threatened infliction of personal injury upon another 
was an element.
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Rule Chapter: Title Background Check Requirements State Operations Manual (if applicable)
10-148 Ch 7 Rules for the Authorization of 

Background Checks for Prospective 
Adoptive Parents

 3.PROCEDURES
 a.The Department shall, upon receipt of an applicaƟon to adopt from any family or individual, conduct background checks for each perspecƟve adopƟve parent of a minor 

child in custody. The background check must include criminal history record information obtained from the Maine Criminal Justice Information System and the Federal 
Bureau of Investigation.

 1.The criminal history record informaƟon from the Maine Criminal JusƟce InformaƟon System must include a record of Maine convicƟon data.
 2.The criminal history record informaƟon obtained from the Federal Bureau of InvesƟgaƟon must include other state and naƟonal criminal history record informaƟon.
 b.Each prospecƟve adopƟve parent shall submit to having fingerprints taken. The State Police shall forward those fingerprints to the State Bureau of IdenƟficaƟon so that 

the bureau can conduct state and national criminal history checks.
 c.The subject of a criminal history record check may inspect and review the criminal history record informaƟon pursuant to applicable state or federal law.
 d.State and federal criminal history record informaƟon may be used by the Department for the purpose of screening prospecƟve adopƟve parents to ensure the safety and 

well-being of children placed for adoption by the Department.
 e.InformaƟon obtained through the criminal history checks is confidenƟal and for official use only and may not be disseminated outside the Department except to licensed 

agencies conducting the home study assessments or courts where the petitions to adopt are filed.
 f.An applicant/s applicaƟon will be denied if the applicant/s has any felony convicƟon of child abuse or neglect, spousal abuse, a crime against a child or children (including 

child pornography) or a crime involving violence, including rape, sexual assault, or homicide, but not including other physical assault or battery. An applicant/s application 
will be denied if the applicant/s has, within the five years prior to the application date (or after the application date) been convicted of a felony involving physical assault, 
battery or a drug related offense. In the case of any other criminal convictions, the Department has the sole discretion to determine whether it will approve the application, 
consent to the proposed adoption, or provide adoption assistance (consistent with the laws and rules for adoption assistance). This paragraph shall not be construed to 
prohibit the Department from denying an application because of criminal offenses not listed in this paragraph.

 g.The informaƟon from the criminal history check will be provided to the Probate Court upon filing the peƟƟon to adopt or upon any request to the District Court for 
Permanency Guardianship.

 h.The established fee for the fingerprint process will be the responsibility of the prospecƟve adopƟve family. In special circumstances that would present a barrier to the 
adoption of a specific child, an adoptive family may request assistance from the Department. Approval is required from the DHHS District Program Administrator for any 
financial assistance toward the fingerprint fee related to the adoption or permanency guardianship of a specific child.

10-148 Ch 8 Rules for the Licensure of Shelter 
for Homeless Children

 4.Personnel QualificaƟons-and ResponsibiliƟes
 a.General Criteria
 i.Moral Character

 (a)The facility shall not involve any person in the operaƟon administraƟon, ownership or in the provision of services to children in care who lacks good moral character.  
The following offenses shall be prima facie evidence of a lack of good moral character:

 (i)ConvicƟon of any crime involving a substanƟal misrepresentaƟon of any material fact to the public:
 (ii)ConvicƟon of any crime which involves a violent act or a threat of a violent act against a person.
 (iii)ConvicƟon of any crime consƟtuƟng a sexual offense;
 (iv)History of substanƟated child or adult abuse, neglect or exploitaƟon under the child and adult protecƟon laws of this or any other state.
 (b)If the facility determines that a person idenƟfied as lacking good moral character is rehabilitated and that the children in care would not be endangered by the person's 

involvement, documentation of evidence shall be placed in the personnel file prior to that person's involvement in any capacity as stated above.
10-148 Ch 9 Rules for the Licensure of 

Emergency Shelters for Children
 6.Personnel QualificaƟons-and ResponsibiliƟes
 a.General Criteria
 i.Moral Character

 (a)The facility shall not involve any person in the operaƟon administraƟon, ownership or in the provision of services to children in care who lacks good moral character.  
The following offenses shall be prima facie evidence of a lack of good moral character:

 (i)ConvicƟon of any crime involving a substanƟal misrepresentaƟon of any material fact to the public:
 (ii)ConvicƟon of any crime which involves a violent act or a threat of a violent act against a person.
 (iii)ConvicƟon of any crime consƟtuƟng a sexual offense;
 (iv)History of substanƟated child or adult abuse, neglect or exploitaƟon under the child and adult protecƟon laws of this or any other state.
 (b)If the facility determines that a person idenƟfied as lacking good moral character is rehabilitated and that the children in care would not be endangered by the person's 

involvement, documentation of evidence shall be placed in the personnel file prior to that person's involvement in any capacity as stated above.
10-148 Ch 15 and 16 Rules for the Licensing of Family 

Foster Homes for Children
 H.At the Ɵme of iniƟal applicaƟon, the applicant(s) shall undergo fingerprinƟng in order to allow the Department to submit required fingerprint-based checks of naƟonal 

crime information databases.

 I.At the Ɵme of iniƟal or renewal applicaƟon, the applicant shall submit releases signed by each adult member of the household and at the discreƟon of the Department 
shall submit releases signed by any person who frequents the home who may have unsupervised access to the foster children permitting the Department to request 
criminal history records from the Department(s) of Public Safety, State Police, Bureau of Identification; or other law enforcement agencies from any past or present 
residence including out of state law enforcement agencies. 

10-148 Ch 17 Rules for Licensing of Family Foster 
Homes Providing Respite Care for 
Children

 2.LICENSING PROCEDURES                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                
 F.At the Ɵme of applicaƟon the applicant shall submit releases signed by each adult member of the household permiƫng the Department to request criminal history 

records from the Department of Public Safety, State Police, Bureau of Identification.

 G.Upon receipt of the applicaƟon, the Department shall request criminal history records from the Department of Public Safety, State Police, Bureau of IdenƟficaƟon for 
each adult member of the household of the applicant.
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10-144 Ch 36 Rules for the Licensure of 

Residential Child Care Facilities
 B. BACKGROUND CHECKS

 1.Background check. The facility must conduct background checks for direct access workers and: 
 a.The facility must conduct background checks for each direct access worker, student, intern or volunteer in accordance with the Maine Background Check Center Act at 

22 MRS Ch. 1691 and any rules promulgated in accordance with this Act.
 b.A comprehensive background check must include, in addiƟon to the Maine Background Check Center’s Maine criminal history convicƟons informaƟon from the State 

Bureau of Identification system and the rules promulgated under this Act, the following: 
 i.Maine Child ProtecƟve records and out-of-home invesƟgaƟon reports; 
 ii.Sex offender registry reports; and 
 iii.Licensing boards or registry records, if applicable; and
 iv.Maine Bureau of Motor Vehicles. Check the driving record of personnel whose job responsibiliƟes are expected, or reasonably anƟcipated to, include the operaƟon of a 

motor vehicle. Individuals may not transport the residents for a period of three years after the date of a motor vehicle-related conviction, accident or moving violation 
related to operating under the influence of intoxicants or with an excessive alcohol level.

 2.Frequency of background checks. The background check must be conducted in accordance with the Maine Background Check Center Act and rules promulgated as a 
result of this Act at 22 MRS §9054(5).

 3.Disqualifying offenses. The facility must not involve any person in the operaƟon, administraƟon, ownership or in the provision of services to residents in care if that 
person has a history that may endanger residents. Prima facie evidence of such a history, includes, but is not limited to, the offenses listed in 22 MRS §9054(11) and any 
rules promulgated from the Maine Background Check Center Act at 22 MRS Ch. 1691. Disqualifying offenses also include evidence of a current substance use disorder.

 4.DocumentaƟon of RehabilitaƟon. If the facility determines that a person idenƟfied by the above criteria is rehabilitated and that the residents in care would not be 
endangered by the person's involvement, documentation of evidence must be placed in the personnel file prior to that person's involvement in any capacity and must 
complete the waiver process pursuant to the Maine Background Check Center Act and rules promulgated under that act .

10-148 Ch 19 Rules Providing for Licensing of 
Child Placing Agencies With and 
Without Adoption Programs, 
including Addendum, Home 
Certification Process

 2.LICENSING PROCEDURES                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                    
 G.At the Ɵme of applicaƟons the Department will request criminal history records from the Department of Public Safety, Bureau of IdenƟficaƟon, for all persons who are 

making application for a license.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                        
 10.PERSONNEL

 E.The governing body shall demonstrate to the saƟsfacƟon of the Department that all staff have the following qualiƟes to carry out their duƟes:
 (3)Good moral character.

The governing body may do this by requesting medical, psychiatric or psychological reports criminal records and references which are current and specific to the position 
being applied for.

 12.REQUIREMENTS FOR SERVICES TO ADOPTIVE APPLICANTS
 B.ApplicaƟon
 (6)Releases signed by each adult member of the household permiƫng the child placing agency to request criminal history records from the Department of Public Safety, 

State Police, Bureau of Identification, and to request child protective screenings from the Department of Human Services, or releases signed by each adult member of the 
household directly to the Departments named above authorizing release of criminal history records to the child placing agency and to the Department of Human Services 
authorizing release of child protective information to the child placing agency and shall obtain those reports.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                 

 ADDENDUM TO CHAPTER 19:        2.CERTIFICATION PROCEDURES
 A.Pre-adopƟve parent/s who make applicaƟon for home cerƟficaƟon for children under 18 years of age and who have been determined to be in compliance with 

applicable certification requirements may receive a certificate from the Agency conducting the review. The certificate shall be issued when a:
    (1)home study (including criminal and child abuse background checks) has been completed and approved, and(2)the Agency has determined that the pre-adopƟve 

parent/s are suitable candidates for legal risk adoption.
10-148 Ch 19-A Rules for the Licensure of Private 

Non-medical Institutions-Child 
Placing AgenciesWith and Without 
Adoption Programs

 2.LICENSING PROCEDURES
 G.At the Ɵme of applicaƟons the Department will request criminal history records from the Department of Public Safety, Bureau of IdenƟficaƟon, for all persons who are 

making application for a license.
 10.PERSONNEL

 E.The governing body shall demonstrate to the saƟsfacƟon of the Department that all staff have the following qualiƟes to carry out their duƟes:
 (1)Sufficiently good physical, mental, and emoƟonal health to carry out their duƟes,
 (2)Competence in working with children and families, and
 (3)Good moral character.

The governing body may do this by requesting medical, psychiatric or psychological reports criminal records and references which are current and specific to the position 
being applied for.
The Department may request the information referred to in this section for review and approval if no governing body exists.

 12.REQUIREMENTS FOR SERVICES TO ADOPTIVE APPLICANTS
  B.ApplicaƟon6)Releases signed by each adult member of the household permiƫng the child placing PNMI- Child Placing Agency to request criminal history records from 

the Department of Public Safety, State Police, Bureau of Identification, and to request child protective screenings from the Department of Health and Human Services, or 
releases signed by each adult member of the household directly to the Departments named above authorizing release of criminal history records to the PNMI- Child Placing 
Agency and to the Department of Health and Human Services authorizing release of child protective information to the PNMI- Child Placing Agency and shall obtain those 
reports.

 23.HOME CERTIFICATION PROCESS FOR THE PURPOSE OF LEGAL RISK ADOPTION ONLY
 A.CerƟficaƟon Procedures
 1)Pre-adopƟve parent/s who make applicaƟon for home cerƟficaƟon for children under 18 years of age and who have been determined to be in compliance with 

applicable certification requirements may receive a certificate from the PNMI- Child Placing Agency conducting the review. The certificate shall be issued when a:
 (a)home study (including criminal and child abuse background checks) has been completed and approved, and
 (b)the PNMI- Child Placing Agency has determined that the pre-adopƟve parent/s are suitable candidates for legal risk adopƟon.
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10-148 Ch 20 Rules for Licensing of Child Placing 

Agencies With only Respite Care 
Programs

 2.LICENSING PROCEDURES
 G.At the Ɵme of applicaƟon, the Department will request criminal history records from the Department of Public Safety, State Police, Bureau of IdenƟficaƟon for all 

persons who are making application for a license.

 10.PERSONNEL
 E.The Department shall determine and the governing body shall demonstrate to the saƟsfacƟon of the Department that all staff have the following qualiƟes to carry out 

his or her duties:
 1.Sufficiently good physical, mental, and emoƟonal health to carry out their duƟes.
 2.Competence in working with children and families.
 3.Good moral character.

The governing body may do this by requesting medical, psychiatric or psychological reports, criminal records and references which are current and specific to the position 
being applied for.

10-148 Ch 32 Rules for the Licensing of Child 
Care Facilities

 2.21.Criminal history and child protecƟon reports. Criminal history reports, out of home abuse invesƟgaƟon reports and child protecƟon reports must be obtained for each 
individual applicant for a license, and for each paid, unpaid, temporary, or regular staff member, director, or volunteer, in a Child Care Facility as required by Section 11. 
Criminal history reports, out of home abuse investigation reports, and child protection reports must also be obtained for governing body members, trustees, partners, 
corporate officers, owners or operators who serve in a child caring capacity at the facility.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                     

 11.2.3.7.Record of SBI (State Bureau of IdenƟficaƟon) criminal history report. This must be applied for prior to or at the Ɵme of employment;
 11.2.3.8.Annual motor vehicle check for all persons employed in any Child Care Facility in a capacity involving the transporƟng of minors as stated in the Child ProtecƟon 

Act, Title 17 M.R.S.A. chapter 92;

10-148 Ch 33 Rules for the Certification of Family 
Child Care Providers

 E.Components of a comprehensive background check. Upon noƟficaƟon by the Maine Background Check Center Program, licensees must request comprehensive 
background checks for providers and other individuals who have unsupervised access to children who are served. A comprehensive background check includes the following 
database searches: 

 1.Federal Bureau of InvesƟgaƟon fingerprint check;
 2.NaƟonal Crime InformaƟon Center’s NaƟonal Sex Offender Registry;
 3.The following records and registries in Maine:
 a.The Maine Criminal History Record InformaƟon using the State Bureau of IdenƟficaƟon’s Automated Fingerprint IdenƟficaƟon System;
 b.The Maine Sex Offender Registry;
 c.Maine child protecƟve records and out-of-home invesƟgaƟon reports; 
 d.Maine adult protecƟve records; and
 e.Licensing boards or registry records, if applicable.
 4.A search of the following records and registries in each state, other than Maine, where an individual resided during the preceding five years:
 a.State criminal records or registries; 
 b.State sex offender records or registries; and
 c.State child abuse and neglect records or registries.
 F. Frequency of background checks. The iniƟal background check shall be conducted according to the schedule established by the Maine Background Check Center, and at 

least every five years thereafter.
10-148 Ch 36 Rules for the Licensing of Nursery 

Schools
U.        Criminal history and child protection reports. Criminal history, out of home abuse investigation reports and child protection reports shall be obtained for each 
individual applicant for a license, and for each paid, unpaid, temporary or regular staff member, director, or volunteer, in a Nursery School. Criminal history, out of home 
abuse investigation reports and child protection reports shall also be obtained for governing body members, trustees, partners, corporate officers, owners or operators who 
serve in a child caring capacity at the Nursery School.

DHHS Rule-SOM



Regulated entity Statute Content Internal reference
Behavioral health 34-B MRS §1225 §1225. Criminal background checks

Beginning October 1, 2010, a facility or health care provider subject to the licensing provisions of section 1203-A, 
prior to hiring an individual who will work in direct contact with a consumer or who has direct access to a consumer's 
property, personally identifiable information, financial information or resources, shall obtain a comprehensive 
background check in accordance with applicable federal and state laws. The comprehensive background check must 
include, at a minimum, criminal history record information from the Department of Public Safety, State Bureau of 
Identification. A facility or provider licensed under section 1203-A is subject to the employment restrictions set out in 
Title 22, section 1812-G and other applicable federal and state laws when employing direct access personnel, as 
defined in Title 22, section 1717, subsection 1, paragraph A-2. The facility or health care provider shall pay for the 
criminal background check required by this section. 

The department may adopt rules necessary to implement this section. Rules adopted pursuant to this section are 
routine technical rules as defined in Title 5, chapter 375, subchapter 2-A.

§1203-A. Licenses
Licenses to operate, conduct or maintain an agency or facility for the provision of mental health services as defined in section 
3601 or for the provision of treatment as defined in chapter 6, subchapter 2, including facilities that are private nonmedical 
institutions, are governed as follows. 

Residential care facility; assisted 
housing program,  drug treatment 
center; children's home; child 
placing agency; any type of child 
care facility; adult day care 
program; hospice

22 MRS §7706 §7706. Criminal background checks
Beginning October 1, 2010, a facility or health care provider subject to the licensing or certification processes of 
chapter 1663, a nursery school subject to chapter 1675 or a hospice provider subject to chapter 1681, prior to hiring 
an individual who will work in direct contact with a consumer, or who has direct access to a consumer's property, 
personally identifiable information, financial information or resources, shall obtain a comprehensive background 
check in accordance with applicable federal and state laws. The comprehensive background check must include, at a 
minimum, criminal history record information from the Department of Public Safety, State Bureau of Identification. 
The entity seeking to employ the individual shall pay for the criminal background check required by this section. 
The department may adopt rules necessary to implement this section. Rules adopted pursuant to this section are 
routine technical rules as defined in Title 5, chapter 375, subchapter 2-A.

Facility or healthcare provider 
subject to licensing requirements of 
Chapter 405, 412 and 419

22 MRS §1724 §1724. Criminal background checks
Beginning October 1, 2010, a facility or health care provider subject to the licensing or certification processes of 
chapter 405, 412 or 419 shall obtain, prior to hiring an individual who will work in direct contact with a consumer, 
criminal history record information on that individual, including, at a minimum, criminal history record information 
from the Department of Public Safety, State Bureau of Identification. A facility or provider subject to licensing under 
chapter 419 shall conduct a comprehensive background check for individuals employed in positions that have direct 
access to a consumer's property, personally identifiable information, financial information or resources in accordance 
with applicable federal and state laws. The comprehensive background check must be conducted in accordance with 
state law and rules adopted by the department. The facility or health care provider shall pay for the comprehensive 
or criminal background check required by this section as applicable. 
The department may adopt rules necessary to implement this section. Rules adopted pursuant to this section are 
routine technical rules as defined in Title 5, chapter 375, subchapter 2-A.

Chapter 405: LICENSING OF HOSPITALS AND INSTITUTIONS (hospital,sanatorium, convalescent home, rest home, nursing home, 
ambulatory surgical facilityor other institution for the hospitalization or nursing care of human beings ); Chapter 412: LICENSING 
OF END-STAGE RENAL DISEASE FACILITIES; Chapter 419: HOME HEALTH SERVICES

Temporary nursing agencies 22 MRS §§2137, 2138 §2137. Criminal background checks
Beginning October 1, 2010, a temporary nurse agency, prior to hiring, employing or placing an individual who will 
work in direct contact with a consumer or who has direct access to a consumer's property, personally identifiable 
information, financial information or resources, shall obtain a comprehensive background check in accordance with 
applicable federal and state laws. The comprehensive background check must include, at a minimum, criminal history 
record information from the Department of Public Safety, State Bureau of Identification. The temporary nurse agency 
shall pay for the criminal background check required by this section. [2015, c. 196, §10 (AMD); 2015, c. 299, §18 
(AMD).]

The department may adopt rules necessary to implement this section. Rules adopted pursuant to this section are 
routine technical rules as defined in Title 5, chapter 375, subchapter 2-A. 

§2138. Prohibited employment based on disqualifying offenses A temporary nurse agency shall conduct a comprehensive 
background check for direct access personnel, as defined in section 1717, subsection 1, paragraph A-2, in accordance with state 
law and rules adopted by the department and is subject to the employment restrictions set out in section 1812-G and other 
applicable federal and state laws when hiring, employing or placing direct access personnel, including a certified nursing assistant 
or a direct care worker.  The department may adopt rules necessary to implement this section. Rules adopted pursuant to this 
section are routine technical rules as defined in Title 5, chapter 375, subchapter 2-A. 

Personal care agencies 22 MRS §1717 3. Prohibited employment based on disqualifying offenses.  A personal care agency or a placement agency shall 
conduct a comprehensive background check for direct access personnel in accordance with state law and rules 
adopted by the department and is subject to the employment restrictions set out in section 1812-G and other 
applicable federal and state laws when hiring, employing or placing direct access personnel, including, but not limited 
to, a certified nursing assistant or a direct care worker. 

Adult day care 22 MRS §8606 1. Prohibited employment based on disqualifying offenses.  An adult day care program shall conduct a comprehensive 
background check for direct access personnel, as defined in section 1717, subsection 1, paragraph A-2, in accordance 
with state law and rules adopted by the department and is subject to the employment restrictions set out in section 
1812-G and other applicable federal and state laws when hiring, employing or placing direct access personnel, 
including, but not limited to, a certified nursing assistant or a direct care worker.

A-2. "Direct access personnel" means individuals employed in positions that have direct access. 
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Veterans' adult day health care 
program

22 MRS §9005 1. Prohibited employment based on disqualifying offenses.  A veterans' adult day health care program shall conduct a 
comprehensive background check for direct access personnel, as defined in section 1717, subsection 1, paragraph A-
2, in accordance with state law and rules adopted by the department and is subject to the employment restrictions 
set out in section 1812-G and other applicable federal and state laws when hiring, employing or placing direct access 
personnel, including, but not limited to, a certified nursing assistant or a direct care worker.

CNA and DCW Registry 22 MRS §1812-G 6-A. Background check.  Certified nursing assistants and direct care workers are subject to a background check as 
defined by rules adopted by the department and according to the following:
A. A training program for certified nursing assistants or direct care workers must secure or pay for a background 
check on each individual who applies for enrollment. The individual's current name and all previous names are 
subject to the background check. A copy of the background check is given to the individual who, upon successful 
completion of the training, submits it with an application to be listed on the registry as a certified nursing assistant or 
a registered direct care worker.
(1) Prior to enrolling an individual, a training program for certified nursing assistants or direct care workers must 
notify individuals that a background check will be conducted and that certain disqualifying offenses, including 
criminal convictions, may prohibit an individual from working as a certified nursing assistant or a direct care worker. 
B. Pursuant to sections 1717, 1724, 2137, 2149-A, 7706, 8606 and 9005 and Title 34-B, section 1225, licensed, 
certified or registered providers shall secure and pay for a background check prior to hiring an individual who will 
work in direct contact with clients, patients or residents, including a certified nursing assistant or a direct care 
worker. 
C. The department may secure a background check on certified nursing assistants and registered direct care workers 
on the registry every 2 years. 
D. A person or other legal entity that is not otherwise licensed by the department and that employs or places a 
certified nursing assistant or direct care worker to provide services allowing direct access shall secure and pay for a 
background check in accordance with state law and rules adopted by the department. 

Kinship placement 22 MRS §4005-G 5. Background check.   Within 14 days of receiving information about a relative pursuant to subsection 4, the 
department shall conduct a background check on that relative unless the relative has informed the department that 
the relative does not want to provide a residential placement for the child or to serve as a safe resource under 
subsection 4, paragraph C for the child. The background check must include, at a minimum, obtaining public criminal 
history record information as defined in Title 16, section 703, subsection 8 from the Maine Criminal Justice 
Information System and determining whether the relative has been the subject of a child abuse and neglect finding in 
this or another state.
Notwithstanding any other provision of this chapter, the department is not required to consider residential 
placement of the child with a relative or use a relative as a safe resource under subsection 4, paragraph C if:
A. The department has substantiated any report of child abuse or neglect regarding that relative or a substantially 
equivalent determination regarding that relative has been made in another state; or 
B. The relative has been convicted of a criminal offense relevant to the relative's ability to provide a safe placement 
for the child or serve as a safe resource under subsection 4, paragraph C.

16 MRS §703 8. Public criminal history record information.   "Public criminal history record information" means criminal history 
record information that is not confidential criminal history record information, including information recorded pursuant to 
section 706.

Out of home child abuse 
investigation 

22 MRS §8354 2. Investigate. H. Notwithstanding Title 20-A, section 6101, subsection 2, when the investigation team is conducting 
an investigation of a person at the Maine Educational Center for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing and the Governor 
Baxter School for the Deaf who is subject to licensure by the Department of Education, the Maine Educational Center 
for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing and the Governor Baxter School for the Deaf and the Department of Education shall 
disclose the following information to the investigation team:
(1) Background checks related to the person;                                                                                                             3. 
Investigative powers of commissioner.   The following are investigative powers of the commissioner.B. The 
commissioner may obtain confidential criminal history record information and other criminal history record 
information under Title 16, chapter 7 that the commissioner considers relevant to an investigation of out-of-home 
child abuse or neglect or a suspicious child death. 

Marijuana caregivers and 
dispensaries

22 MRS §2425 1-A. (CONFLICT: Text as amended by PL 2017, c. 447, §16) Criminal history record check.   An applicant for a registry 
identification card who is a primary caregiver, an employee of a primary caregiver or a person authorized to engage 
in marijuana extraction under section 2423-F, subsection 3 or who is a principal officer, board member or employee 
of a registered dispensary, marijuana testing facility or manufacturing facility must undergo a criminal history record 
check annually.
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Children's residential 
treatment

22 §8110 3 §8110. Criminal history record checks for employees of children's residential care facilities
1. Definitions. As used in this section, unless the context otherwise indicates, the following terms have the following meanings.
A. "Federal Bureau of Investigation" means the United States Department of Justice, Federal Bureau of Investigation.
B. "State Police" means the Department of Public Safety, Bureau of State Police.
2. Criminal history; information about criminal records and data obtained. The department shall obtain, in print or electronic format, criminal history record information containing a 
record of public criminal history record information as defined in Title 16, section 703, subsection 8, from the Maine Criminal Justice Information System, established pursuant to 
Title 16, section 631, and the Federal Bureau of Investigation, for any staff member of a children's residential care facility in order to comply with the federal family first prevention 
services legislation. For purposes of this section, "staff member" means an individual who is employed by, or has applied for and may be offered employment at, a children's 
residential care facility, including a contract employee or self-employed individual, whether or not the individual has direct contact with children. "Staff member" does not include a 
contractor performing maintenance or repairs at the children's residential care facility who does not have unsupervised access to children at the facility.
3. Fingerprint-based criminal history obtained. A staff member shall consent to and have the staff member's fingerprints taken. The State Police shall take or cause to be taken the 
fingerprints of a staff member who has consented under this subsection and shall forward the fingerprints to the Department of Public Safety so that the Department of Public Safety 
may conduct a state and national criminal history record check on the person. The Department of Public Safety shall forward the results obtained to the department. The State Police 
shall assess a fee set annually by the Department of Public Safety to be paid by the children's residential care facility or the staff member for each criminal history record check 
required to be performed under this section. Except for the portion of the payment that constitutes the processing fee charged by the Federal Bureau of Investigation, all money 
received by the State Police under this subsection must be paid to the Treasurer of State, who shall apply the money to the expenses of administration of this section by the 
Department of Public Safety.
4. Updates to information. The department may request a subsequent criminal history record check under subsection 3 on a staff member as the department determines 
appropriate, including continuous notifications of updated criminal history record information if a service providing notifications of updated criminal history record information 
becomes available.

 Caregivers administering 
medical marijuana on 
school grounds

22 §2425-A 3-A 3-A. Criminal history record check for caregivers administering medical marijuana on school grounds.   The department shall request a criminal history record check for a caregiver 
designated under section 2423-A, subsection 1, paragraph F-1, subparagraph (4), except for a caregiver who is a parent, a legal guardian or a person having legal custody of the 
qualifying patient. The department may not issue a registry identification card to an applicant who is not permitted to have a disqualifying drug offense or who would be denied an 
approval, credential, certification, authorization or renewal under Title 20-A, section 6103 or 13011 based on that criminal history record check.
The criminal history record check requested under this subsection must include criminal history record information obtained from the Maine Criminal Justice Information System 
established in Title 16, section 631 and the Federal Bureau of Investigation. The following provisions apply.
A. The criminal history record information obtained from the Maine Criminal Justice Information System must include a record of public criminal history record information as 
defined in Title 16, section 703, subsection 8. 
B. The criminal history record information obtained from the Federal Bureau of Investigation must include other state and national criminal history record information. 
C. A person subject to a criminal history record check under this section shall submit to having fingerprints taken. The State Police, upon payment of the fee, shall take or cause to be 
taken the person's fingerprints and shall forward the fingerprints to the State Bureau of Identification so that the bureau can conduct state and national criminal history record 
checks. Except for the portion of the payment, if any, that constitutes the processing fee charged by the Federal Bureau of Investigation, all money received by the State Police for 
purposes of this paragraph must be paid over to the Treasurer of State. The money must be applied to the expenses of administration incurred by the Department of Public Safety. 
D. The subject of a Federal Bureau of Investigation criminal history record check may obtain a copy of the criminal history record check by following the procedures outlined in 28 
Code of Federal Regulations, Sections 16.32 and 16.33. The subject of a state criminal history record check may inspect and review the criminal history record information pursuant 
to Title 16, section 709. 
E. State and federal criminal history record information may be used by the department for the purpose of screening a child care provider or child care staff member in accordance 
with this chapter. 
F. Information obtained pursuant to this subsection is confidential. The results of criminal history record checks received by the department are for official use only and may not be 
disseminated to any other person or entity. 
G. If a person is no longer subject to this chapter that person may request in writing that the State Bureau of Identification remove the person's fingerprints from the bureau's 
fingerprint file. In response to a written request, the bureau shall remove the person's fingerprints from the fingerprint file and provide written confirmation of that removal. 
The department, with the Department of Public Safety, Bureau of State Police, State Bureau of Identification, shall adopt rules to implement this subsection. Rules adopted pursuant 
to this subsection are routine technical rules as defined in Title 5, chapter 375, subchapter 2-A.
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Child Care Providers 22 §8302-A 1 and 3 1. Rules for child care facilities.  Rules for child care facilities must include, but are not limited to, rules pertaining to the following:                                                                                                                                                                                                         

J. Requiring a criminal background check that meets the requirements of 42 United States Code, Section 9858f(b) for each child care staff member. For the purposes of this 
paragraph, "child care staff member" means an individual:
(1) Who is employed by a child care facility for compensation, including a contract employee or self-employed individual; or
(2) Whose activities involve the care or supervision of children for a child care facility or unsupervised access to children who are cared for or supervised by a child care facility.
"Child care staff member" does not include an individual who is related to all children for whom child care services are provided or a contractor performing maintenance and repairs 
at the child care facility who does not have unsupervised access to children who are cared for or supervised by the child care facility.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                    
2. Rules for family child care providers.  Rules for family child care providers must include, and are limited to, rules pertaining to the following:                                                                                                                                                                                   
K. Requiring a criminal background check that meets the requirements of 42 United States Code, Section 9858f(b) for a family child care provider and each child care staff member. 
For the purposes of this paragraph, "child care staff member" means an individual:
(1) Who is employed by a family child care provider for compensation, including a contract employee or self-employed individual;
(2) Whose activities involve the care or supervision of children for a family child care provider or unsupervised access to children who are cared for or supervised by a family child 
care provider; or
(3) Who is 18 years of age or older and who resides in the home of a family child care provider.
"Child care staff member" does not include an individual who is related to all children for whom child care services are provided or a contractor performing maintenance and repairs 
at the home of a family child care provider who does not have unsupervised access to children who are cared for or supervised by the family child care provider.

Child Care Providers 22 §8302-C 1 §8302-C. Investigation
A child care provider and any child care staff member subject to a criminal background check pursuant to sections 8302-A and 8302-B must pass a background check conducted in 
accordance with this section and rules adopted by the department under section 8302-A. As used in this section, "child care provider" means a person who provides child care in a 
child care facility, a family child care provider and a person who provides day care in that person's home for one or 2 children whose care is paid for by state or federal funds. As used 
in this section, "child care staff member" has the same meaning as described in section 8302-A, subsection 1, paragraph J and section 8302-A, subsection 2, paragraph K. 

1. Investigation.   In accordance with the rules adopted by the department, the department shall request a criminal background check for a child care provider and child care staff 
members of the child care provider. The criminal background check must include criminal history record information obtained from the Maine Criminal Justice Information System 
and the Federal Bureau of Investigation. The following provisions apply.
A. The criminal history record information obtained from the Maine Criminal Justice Information System must include a record of public criminal history record information as 
defined in Title 16, section 703, subsection 8. 
B. The criminal history record information obtained from the Federal Bureau of Investigation must include other state and national criminal history record information. 
C. A person subject to a criminal background check under this section shall submit to having fingerprints taken. The State Police, upon payment of the fee, shall take or cause to be 
taken the person's fingerprints and shall forward the fingerprints to the State Bureau of Identification so that the bureau can conduct state and national criminal history record 
checks. Except for the portion of the payment, if any, that constitutes the processing fee charged by the Federal Bureau of Investigation, all money received by the State Police for 
purposes of this paragraph must be paid over to the Treasurer of State. The money must be applied to the expenses of administration incurred by the Department of Public Safety. 
D. The subject of a Federal Bureau of Investigation criminal history record check may obtain a copy of the criminal history record check by following the procedures outlined in 28 
Code of Federal Regulations, Sections 16.32 and 16.33. The subject of a state criminal history record check may inspect and review the criminal history record information pursuant 
to Title 16, section 709. 
E. State and federal criminal history record information may be used by the department for the purpose of screening a child care provider or child care staff member in accordance 
with this chapter. 
F. Information obtained pursuant to this subsection is confidential. The results of criminal background checks received by the department are for official use only and may not be 
disseminated to any other person or entity. 
G. If a person is no longer subject to this chapter that person may request in writing that the State Bureau of Identification remove the person's fingerprints from the bureau's 
fingerprint file. In response to a written request, the bureau shall remove the person's fingerprints from the fingerprint file and provide written confirmation of that removal. 
The department, with the State Bureau of Identification, shall adopt rules to implement this subsection. Rules adopted pursuant to this subsection are routine technical rules as 
defined in Title 5, chapter 375, subchapter 2-A.
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Adoptive parents 22 §4038-E 7 7. Background checks for each permanency guardian seeking to adopt the child.   The department may, pursuant to rules adopted by the department, at any time before the filing of 

the petition for adoption from permanency guardianship, conduct background checks of each permanency guardian of the child and a home study.
A. The department may, pursuant to rules adopted pursuant to Title 18-C, section 9-304, subsection 2, request a background check for each permanency guardian. The background 
check must include criminal history record information obtained from the Maine Criminal Justice Information System and the Federal Bureau of Investigation.
(1) The criminal history record information obtained from the Maine Criminal Justice Information System must include a record of public criminal history record information as 
defined in Title 16, section 703, subsection 8.
(2) The criminal history record information obtained from the Federal Bureau of Investigation must include other state and national criminal history record information.
(3) Each permanency guardian of the child shall submit to having fingerprints taken. The State Police, upon receipt of the fingerprint card, may charge the department for the 
expenses incurred in processing state and national criminal history record checks. The State Police shall take or cause to be taken the applicant's fingerprints and shall forward the 
fingerprints to the State Bureau of Identification so that the bureau can conduct state and national criminal history record checks. Except for the portion of the payment, if any, that 
constitutes the processing fee charged by the Federal Bureau of Investigation, all money received by the State Police for purposes of this paragraph must be paid over to the 
Treasurer of State. The money must be applied to the expenses of administration incurred by the Department of Public Safety.
(4) The subject of a Federal Bureau of Investigation criminal history record check may obtain a copy of the criminal history record check by following the procedures outlined in 28 
Code of Federal Regulations, Sections 16.32 and 16.33. The subject of a state criminal history record check may inspect and review the criminal history record information pursuant 
to Title 16, section 709.
(5) State and federal criminal history record information may be used by the department for the purpose of screening each permanency guardian in determining whether the 
adoption is in the best interests of the child.
(6) Information obtained pursuant to this paragraph is confidential. The results of background checks received by the department are for official use only and may not be 
disseminated outside the department except to a court considering an adoption petition under this section. 

Permanacy guardianship 22 §4038-C As part of the permanency plan, the District Court may appoint a person or persons as guardian of a minor, to be known as a permanency guardian. "Permanency guardian," when 
used in this section and in section 4038-D and Title 20-A, section 12572, means the person or persons appointed as the permanency guardian. 
1. Criteria.  The District Court may appoint a person to be a permanency guardian only if the court finds that the prospective permanency guardian: E. Has submitted to having 
fingerprints taken for the purposes of a national criminal history record check.

Nurses 32 §2111 §2111. Criminal history record information; fees
1. Background check.   The board shall request a background check for each person who submits an application for initial licensure or licensure by endorsement under this chapter, 
including an application for multistate licensure under subchapter 2-A. The background check must include criminal history record information obtained from the Maine Criminal 
Justice Information System and the Federal Bureau of Investigation. The following provisions apply.
A. The criminal history record information obtained from the Maine Criminal Justice Information System must include a record of public criminal history record information as 
defined in Title 16, section 703, subsection 8. 
B. The criminal history record information obtained from the Federal Bureau of Investigation must include other state and national criminal history record information. 
C. An applicant shall submit to having fingerprints taken. The State Police, upon payment of a fee established by the board by rule by the applicant, shall take or cause to be taken the 
applicant's fingerprints and shall forward the fingerprints to the State Bureau of Identification so that the bureau can conduct state and national criminal history record checks. 
Except for the portion of the payment, if any, that constitutes the processing fee charged by the Federal Bureau of Investigation, all money received by the State Police for purposes 
of this paragraph must be paid over to the Treasurer of State. The money must be applied to the expenses of administration incurred by the Department of Public Safety. 
D. The subject of a Federal Bureau of Investigation criminal history record check may obtain a copy of the criminal history record check by following the procedures outlined in 28 
Code of Federal Regulations, Sections 16.32 and 16.33. The subject of a state criminal history record check may inspect and review the criminal history record information pursuant 
to Title 16, section 709. 
E. State and federal criminal history record information may be used by the board for the purpose of screening each applicant. A board action against an applicant under this 
subsection is subject to the provisions of Title 5, chapter 341. 
F. Information obtained pursuant to this subsection is confidential. The results of background checks received by the board are for official use only and may not be disseminated to 
the Interstate Commission of Nurse Licensure Compact Administrators established in section 2177 or to any other person or entity. 
G. An applicant whose license has expired and who has not applied for renewal may request in writing that the State Bureau of Identification remove the applicant's fingerprints 
from the bureau's fingerprint file. In response to a written request, the bureau shall remove the applicant's fingerprints from the fingerprint file and provide written confirmation of 
that removal.

Maine Background Check 
Center Act 

22 §9053. 5. Background check report.   "Background check report" means a comprehensive report generated by the Background Check Center based on a search and analysis of data stored in 
federal and state criminal record repositories, registry databases or agencies, including, but not limited to, the Federal Bureau of Investigation; the Department of Public Safety, State 
Bureau of Identification; abuse and neglect, sex offender and employment-related registries; professional licensing authorities; and Medicare and Medicaid exclusion databases. The 
background check report informs a provider when an offense appears in an individual's record that may disqualify the individual from employment as a direct access worker.
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Amusements and Sports: 
Powers and duties of 
department (slot machine 
operators, casino operators)

8 §1005 2(D) D. Exchange fingerprint data with, and receive criminal history record information from, the Federal Bureau of Investigation for use in considering an applicant for a license issued 
pursuant to the provisions of this chapter

Conservation: License, fees 
and requirements; youth 
camp trip leader exception 
(guide licenses)

12 §12853 4-A 4-A. Background check.   The commissioner shall request a background check for each person who applies for a guide license under this section. The background check must include 
criminal history record information obtained from the Maine Criminal Justice Information System established in Title 16, section 631 and the Federal Bureau of Investigation.

Crimes: Commercial beano 
hall

17 §328 2(A) A. The applicant shall submit 2 fingerprint cards bearing the legible rolled and flat impression of the fingerprints of the owner, if the owner is an individual, of any owner who owns or 
controls a 50% or greater interest in the corporation, partnership or the unincorporated association, and, of the manager, if the manager is not the owner as previously described, 
prepared by a state or local public law enforcement agency to be forwarded to the State Bureau of Identification for the purpose of conducting state and national criminal history 
record checks.

Osteopaths: Background 
check for expedited 
licensure through the 
Interstate Medical Licensure 
Compact

32 §2571-A §2571-A. Background check for expedited licensure through the Interstate Medical Licensure Compact
1. Background check.  The board shall request a background check for an individual licensed under this chapter who applies for an expedited license under section 18506. The 
background check must include criminal history record information obtained from the Maine Criminal Justice Information System and the Federal Bureau of Investigation.
A. The criminal history record information obtained from the Maine Criminal Justice Information System must include a record of public criminal history record information as 
defined in Title 16, section 703, subsection 8. 
B. The criminal history record information obtained from the Federal Bureau of Investigation must include other state and national criminal history record information. 
C. An applicant shall submit to having fingerprints taken. The State Police, upon payment by the applicant, shall take or cause to be taken the applicant's fingerprints and shall 
forward the fingerprints to the State Bureau of Identification so that the bureau can conduct state and national criminal history record checks. Except for the portion of the payment, 
if any, that constitutes the processing fee charged by the Federal Bureau of Investigation, all money received by the State Police for purposes of this paragraph must be paid over to 
the Treasurer of State. The money must be applied to the expenses of administration incurred by the Department of Public Safety. 
D. The subject of a Federal Bureau of Investigation criminal history record check may obtain a copy of the criminal history record check by following the procedures outlined in 28 
Code of Federal Regulations, Sections 16.32 and 16.33. The subject of a state criminal history record check may inspect and review the criminal history record information pursuant 
to Title 16, section 709. 
E. State and federal criminal history record information of an applicant may be used by the board for the purpose of screening that applicant. 
F. Information obtained pursuant to this subsection is confidential. The results of background checks received by the board are for official use only and may not be disseminated to 
the Interstate Medical Licensure Compact Commission, established in section 18512, or to any other person or entity. 
G. An individual whose expedited licensure through the Interstate Medical Licensure Compact under chapter 145 has expired and who has not applied for renewal may request in 
writing that the State Bureau of Identification remove the individual's fingerprints from the bureau's fingerprint file. In response to a written request, the bureau shall remove the 
individual's fingerprints from the fingerprint file and provide written confirmation of that removal. 

Board of licensure in 
medicine

32 §3275-A Same as above.

Application for and issuance 
of expedited license 
(physician seeking licensure)

32 §18506

General qualifications (real 
estate appraisers)

32 §14021

Taxation 36 §194-C National criminal history record information of providers of contract services (tax assessors)
Probate 18-C §9-304 Investigation; guardian ad litem; registry
Education 20-A §6103: Criminal history record information conviction data (DOE)
Adult Use Marijuana 28-B §204 Criminal history record check (marijuana vendors)
Maine Consumer Credit 
Code

9-A §13-110 Authority to require license (mortgage loan originators)

Other Titles

ME Fingerprinting statutes



Term 42 CFR 488.301 22 MRS §1812-G 22 MRS §3472 10-149 CMR Ch. 5, Section 11 10-197 CMR Ch. 12 10-144 CMR Ch. 113
Adult Protective Services Act Office of Elder Services Program Manual                                  

“Statutory definitions are indicated by an *.”
Regulations Regarding Reportable Events, Adult 
Protective Investigations and Substantiation Hearings 
Regarding Persons with Mental Retardation or Autism 

Regulations Governing the Licensing and 
Functioning of Assisted Housing Programs: 
Assisted Living Programs

LL. Neglect means a threat to the health or welfare of 
an adult with mental retardation or autism by physical 
or mental injury or impairment, deprivation of essential 
needs or lack of protection from these. Neglect 
includes:

(1) the failure by a provider agency to perform a duty 
that is a work expectation that directly impacts health 
and safety. For example, if an individual in a provider 
agency’s care requires assistance to change wet 
clothing, failing to assist him/her in a timely fashion is 
neglect;

(2) the failure to provide adequate shelter, clothes, food 
and water, emotional support when needed, personal 
care, medical attention or necessary medication, or 
glasses, dentures, hearing aids, walkers, etc.;

(3) situations where a caregiver is under the influence 
of drugs or alcohol at the time he/she is providing care 
and unable to meet the needs of the person served;

(4) when the caregiver is emotionally distraught to the 
extent that he/she is unable to meet the needs of the 
person served; or

(5) failure to address dangerous situations that could 
hurt an adult with mental retardation or autism, such as 
failing to cordon off areas where there is falling ice or 
broken stairs.

9. Exploitation.  "Exploitation" means the 
illegal or improper use of an incapacitated or 
dependent adult or that adult's resources for 
another's profit or advantage.

Misappropriation of 
property

Misappropriation of resident property means 
the deliberate misplacement, exploitation, or 
wrongful, temporary or permanent use of a 
resident's belongings or money without the 
resident's consent.

Abuse Abuse is the willful infliction of injury, 
unreasonable confinement, intimidation, or 
punishment with resulting physical harm, pain 
or mental anguish. Abuse also includes the 
deprivation by an individual, including a 
caretaker, of goods or services that are 
necessary to attain or maintain physical, 
mental, and psychosocial well-being. Instances 
of abuse of all residents, irrespective of any 
mental or physical condition, cause physical 
harm, pain or mental anguish. It includes 
verbal abuse, sexual abuse, physical abuse, 
and mental abuse including abuse facilitated 
or enabled through the use of technology. 
Willful, as used in this definition of abuse, 
means the individual must have acted 
deliberately, not that the individual must have 
intended to inflict injury or harm.

A. "Abuse" means the infliction of 
injury, unreasonable confinement, 
intimidation or cruel punishment 
that causes or is likely to cause 
physical harm or pain or mental 
anguish; sexual abuse or sexual 
exploitation; or the intentional, 
knowing or reckless deprivation of 
essential needs. "Abuse" includes 
acts and omissions.

1. Abuse.  "Abuse" means the infliction of 
injury, unreasonable confinement, 
intimidation or cruel punishment that causes 
or is likely to cause physical harm or pain or 
mental anguish; sexual abuse or sexual 
exploitation; financial exploitation; or the 
intentional, knowing or reckless deprivation 
of essential needs. "Abuse" includes acts and 
omissions.

(*1) Abuse is the infliction of injury, 
unreasonable confinement, intimidation or cruel 
punishment that causes or is likely to cause 
physical harm or pain or mental anguish; sexual 
abuse or exploitation; or the intentional, 
knowing or reckless deprivation of essential 
needs. Abuse includes acts and omissions.

Neglect Neglect is the failure of the facility, its 
employees or service providers to provide 
goods and services to a resident that are 
necessary to avoid physical harm, pain, mental 
anguish, or emotional distress.

I. "Neglect" means a threat to a 
person's health or welfare by 
failure to provide goods or 
services necessary to avoid 
physical or mental injury or 
impairment or the threat of injury 
or impairment.

11. Neglect.  "Neglect" means a threat to an 
adult's health or welfare by physical or 
mental injury or impairment, deprivation of 
essential needs or lack of protection from 
these

(*24) Neglect is a threat to an adult’s health or 
welfare by physical or mental injury or 
impairment, deprivation of essential needs or 
lack of protection from these.

H. "Misappropriation of property" 
means the deliberate 
misplacement, exploitation or 
wrongful, temporary or 
permanent use of a client's, 
patient's or resident's belongings 

(*16) Exploitation is the illegal or improper use 
of an incapacitated or dependent adult or that 
adult’s resources for another’s profit or 
advantage.

U. Exploitation means the illegal or improper use of an 
adult with mental retardation or autism or that adult’s 
resources for another's profit or advantage. It includes 
taking advantage of or using an individual’s limitations 
to illegally, improperly, or unfairly deprive him/her of 
money, property, or reimbursement, wages, or 

2.21 “Exploitation” means the illegal or 
improper use of an incapacitated or 
dependent adult or his/her resources for 
another’s profit or advantage.

2.1 “Abuse” means the infliction of injury, 
unreasonable confinement, intimidation or 
cruel punishment with resulting physical harm 
or pain or mental anguish, sexual abuse or 
exploitation, or the willful deprivation of 
essential needs.

2.32 “Neglect” means a threat to an adult’s 
health or welfare by physical or mental injury 
or impairment, deprivation of essential needs 
or lack of protection from these threats.

A. Abuse means the infliction of injury, unreasonable 
confinement, intimidation or cruel punishment that 
causes or is likely to cause physical harm or pain or 
mental anguish; sexual abuse or exploitation; or 
depriving an adult with mental retardation or autism of 
essential needs and doing so intentionally, knowingly or 
recklessly. Injuries need not be intentionally inflicted to 
be reportable, and need not leave visible marks or 
bruises. NOTE: Treatment of an incapacitated or 
dependent adult by an accredited practitioner of a 
recognized religious organization is not considered to 
be abuse, neglect or exploitation solely because such 
treatment is by spiritual means . See 22 M.R.S.A. §3476.



Term 42 CFR 488.301 22 MRS §1812-G 22 MRS §3472 10-149 CMR Ch. 5, Section 11 10-197 CMR Ch. 12 10-144 CMR Ch. 113
9-A. Financial exploitation.  "Financial 
exploitation" means the use of deception, 
intimidation, undue influence, force or other 
unlawful means to obtain control over the 
property of a dependent adult for another's 
profit or advantage.

Sexual abuse or 
exploitation

15. Sexual abuse or sexual exploitation.  
"Sexual abuse or sexual exploitation" means 
contact or interaction of a sexual nature 
involving an incapacitated or dependent 
adult without that adult's informed consent.

(*33) Sexual abuse or exploitation is contact or 
interaction of a sexual nature involving an 
incapacitated or dependent adult without that 
adult’s informed consent.

ZZ. Sexual abuse or exploitation means contact or 
interaction of a sexual nature involving an incapacitated 
or dependent adult without the adult’s informed 
consent. Sexual exploitation may include exposing an 
incapacitated or dependent adult with mental 
retardation or autism to pornographic material, if the 
person does not have the capacity to consent, or, if 
capable of consent, did not consent. Sexual activity 
between a dependent person and a paid provider of 
service, whether consensual or not, constitutes sexual 
abuse or exploitation.

or money without that person's 
consent.

compensation due. Some examples of exploitation are: 
using a person to do work and paying them little or 
nothing; manipulating an aggressive individual into 
hurting someone; or offering to give a person who does 
not understand the value of money TWO one dollar bills 
in exchange for ONE twenty dollar bill.
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