SENATE

GEOFFREY M. GRATWICK, DISTRICT 9, CHAIR NED CLAXTON, DISTRICT 20 MARIANNE MOORE, DISTRICT 6



HOUSE

PATRICIA HYMANSON, YORK, CHAIR MARGARET CRAVEN, LEWISTON ANNE C. PERRY, CALAIS COLLEEN M. MADIGAN, WATERVILLE RACHEL TALBOT ROSS, PORTLAND MICHELE MEYER, ELIOT HOLLY B. STOVER, BOOTHBAY BETH A. O'CONNOR, BERWICK KATHY IRENE JAVNER, CHESTER ABIGAIL W. GRIFFIN, LEVANT

STATE OF MAINE ONE HUNDRED AND TWENTY-NINTH LEGISLATURE COMMITTEE ON HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES

MEMORANDUM

- TO: Senator Catherine Breen, Senate Chair Representative Drew Gattine, House Chair Joint Standing Committee on Appropriations, and Financial Affairs
- FROM: Senator Geoffrey M. Gratwick, Senate Chair Representative Patricia Hymanson, House Chair Joint Standing Committee on Health and Human Services
- DATE: March 3, 2020
- SUBJECT:LD 2126: An Act Making Supplemental Appropriations and Allocations for the
Expenditures of State Government, General Fund and Other Funds and Changing
Certain Provisions of the Law Necessary to the Proper Operations of State
Government for the Fiscal Years Ending June 30, 2020 and June 30, 2021

The Health and Human Services Committee is pleased to provide its recommendations on LD 2126, the supplemental budget bill. Committee votes are contained in the attached spreadsheets.

In addition to the initiatives proposed in the supplemental budget, a majority of the Committee voted to include an initiative that would amend Title 22, section 14, subsection 2-I, paragraph A relating to the estate recovery initiatives in Lines 39-40 of the Green document. This language would be consistent with the amended language in LD 1954, An Act to Amend the Laws Governing Estate Recovery Under the MaineCare Program. We will submit the amendment on LD 1954 to you when it is completed.

Committee members are prepared to discuss this report with you. Thank you for your consideration.

cc: Health and Human Services Committee members
Commissioner Jeanne M. Lambrew, Department of Health and Human Services
Molly Bogart, Government Relations Director, Department of Health and Human Services
Maureen Dawson, OFPR
Luke Lazure, OFPR
Anna Broome, OPLA
Erin Dooling, OPLA

ANNA BROOME, LEGISLATIVE ANALYST ERIN DOOLING, LEGISLATIVE ANALYST ALLISON BERNIER, COMMITTEE CLERK