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DATE:  January 15, 2020 
 
TO:   Joint Standing Committee on Education & Cultural Affairs 

FROM:  Samantha Warren, University of Maine System Director of Government & 
Community Relations, on behalf of the Public Higher Education Systems 
Coordinating Committee 

RE:  Chapter 56, Resolve To Determine Ways To Increase the Number of 
Recipients under the Tuition Waiver Program for Participants in 
Foster Care (LD 1566) 
 

There are currently 2,356 Mainers of traditional college-going age (18-25) who are in 

foster care or have been adopted through the State’s foster care system or were/are in 

permanency guardianships. Yet just 3 percent of these individuals are currently 

benefiting from the program that allows them to attend Maine’s public universities, 

community colleges or maritime academy without having to pay for tuition. That’s 

because under current State statute, only 30 new tuition waivers are granted each year.  

In response to the increasing number of young Mainers in State custody and the 

growing gap between the limited number of available waivers and the interest among 

foster and adopted children/wards to pursue postsecondary education, in 2019 Sen. 

Russell Black submitted LD 1566, An Act To Increase the Number of Recipients Under 

the Tuition Waiver Program for Participants in Foster Care, which sought to double from 

30 to 60 the number of new waivers granted each year. Because of the fiscal impact to 

the University of Maine System (UMS) and Maine Community College System (MCCS) 

and concerns that the proposed increase in waivers might still not address the extent of 

the need, the 129th Legislature asked the Public Higher Education Systems 

Coordinating Committee (HECC) to review and report back on the barriers to utilization 

of the 30-year-old tuition waiver program (Resolve 2019, Chapter 56). The UMS, which 

currently enrolls nearly three-quarters of waiver recipients, led this study on behalf of 

the HECC. 

The findings detailed on the pages that follow make clear the transformative power of 

this waiver and of access to affordable, quality postsecondary education in Maine for 

those who have been in State care. This report also brings in to sharp focus that the 

current number of waivers is increasingly not meeting demand, especially as the 

number of youth in State care climbs and more Mainers understand the importance of 

obtaining a postsecondary degree or credential to getting a good-paying job that allows 

them to be financially independent. Beyond needed State investment to expand the 

waiver program to increase college attainment, workforce readiness and self-

sufficiency for these underserved students, investments in targeted services and 

supports are also needed to foster improved outcomes. In the meantime, the 

organizations that work with this vulnerable population and/or the waiver program have 
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made several changes to its administration to better align with other deadlines in the 

college admissions process and to ensure applicants who do not receive the waiver due 

to availability are connected to other financial aid resources that improve their likelihood 

of attendance.   

FOSTER CARE TUTITION WAIVER PROGRAM HISTORY 

In 1999, then Rep. Michael Brennan presented to the Joint Standing Committee on 

Education & Cultural Affairs LD 708, An Act to Provide Educational Opportunities for 

Persons Who Resided in Foster Care as Children. The bill proposed to provide tuition 

waivers to attend Maine’s public postsecondary institutions to any person 17 or 18 years 

of age who resided in a foster family home for at least one year. Ultimately, the enacted 

law (PL 1999, Chapter 216) limited the number of waivers to 25 and required the waiver 

recipient be in foster care at the time of graduation and have unmet needs remaining 

after all other financial resources including loans, grants and other State and federal 

funds were considered. The Finance Authority of Maine (FAME) was designated to 

administer the waiver program but has never been appropriated funds to do so.  

The following year, the law was clarified to remove the unmet need provisions of the bill 

and make clear that 25 new foster children would be eligible for a tuition waiver in each 

year (PL 1999, Chapter 774). Also enacted was the expectation that still stands today 

that Maine’s public postsecondary educational institutions must absorb the reduction in 

tuition revenues that results from providing a tuition waiver and may not request 

additional General Fund appropriations from the Legislature to offset the revenue loss.  

In 2003, the number of new waivers granted each year was expanded to 30 (PL 2003, 

Chapter 187), though the original legislative proposal that year (LD 326) was 35. In 

2005, those who had been adopted through the State’s foster care system or are a ward 

of a permanency guardian also became eligible for the waiver (PL 2005, Chapter 471).  

CURRENT WAIVER APPLICATION PROCESS & USAGE 

On Feb.1 of each year, FAME places the application for the foster care tuition waiver 

program on its website, thus opening the application admissions period. In addition to 

the completed program application, those seeking the waiver must provide proof of 

acceptance or enrollment in an undergraduate degree program at an eligible institution 

and have filed their FAFSA. FAME verifies eligibility with the Maine Department of 

Health and Human Service (DHHS) upon receipt of an application.  

The first 30 completed applications submitted by mail by eligible applicants are offered 

the waiver, which is renewable for up to five years or the equivalent prior to the receipt 

of a baccalaureate degree. It is important to note that if a student does not have a letter 

of acceptance and/or has not filed their FAFSA, their application is deemed incomplete 

and thus not considered until all requirements are met. Those who apply for the award 



3 | P a g e  
 

but are not among the first-come, first-served are notified via mail by FAME that they 

have been put on a waiting list and encouraged to apply again in a future year. 

While there is no application deadline, because there are a limited number of waivers, 

FAME removes the application from its website as soon as it receives more than it can 

award. As a result, it is impossible to gauge the extent of the interest and need that 

exists for this tuition waiver. However, in just the handful of days between when it is 

posted and removed, FAME has received an average of 62 applications over the last 

three years, though a handful are incomplete or from students later determined to be 

ineligible.   

Demographics of Recent New Waiver Recipients  

 2016-17 2017-18 2018-19 

ELIGIBILITY REASON    

IN FOSTER CARE 7 5 4 

ADOPTED 20 23 25 

PERM. GUARDIANSHIP 3 1 1 

UNKNOWN N/A 1 N/A 

AGE AT INITIAL AWARD    

17 15 10 9 

18 12 11 13 

19 2 4 6 

20 N/A 2 1 

21 N/A N/A N/A 

22 N/A N/A N/A 

23 1 N/A N/A 

24 N/A N/A N/A 

25 N/A 1 N/A 

Other N/A 2 1 
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GENDER 2016-17 2017-18 2018-19 

FEMALE 20 16 20 

MALE 10 14 10 

 

The UMS has historically enrolled the majority of tuition waiver recipients. For the most 

recent academic year for which data is available (2017-18), the amount waived was 

$358,722. More than one-third ($147,576) was waived by the University of Maine, with 

the University of Maine at Farmington waiving $71,740 that year and the University of 

Southern Maine waiving $49,322. The remainder was divided relatively equally among 

the four other small System campuses. Meanwhile, the MCCS which historically has 

served between one-third and one-quarter of recipients, waived approximately $80,000 

in 2018-19.  

 

 

RECOMMENDATIONS TO REDUCE WAIVER BARRIERS 

In seeking to better understand the program and develop recommendations for 

improvement, the UMS convened multiple meetings between July 2019 and January 

2020 with relevant stakeholders, including FAME, JMG (formerly Jobs for Maine’s 

Graduates), Maine DHHS, including the Office of Child and Family Services and Office 
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for Family Independence, MCCS and foster families.  Key findings from those 

conversations include: 

◊ Maine’s tuition waiver program is critical to raising college aspirations and 

attainment among a population of high-need students who would otherwise be 

less likely to consider and pursue postsecondary education and the opportunities 

it creates for them to realize a more stable, fulfilling, independent future.   

According to 2014 data from the National 

Working Group on Foster Care and 

Education, 84 percent of foster youth ages 

17 and 18 want to go to college but only 20 

percent who graduate from high school will 

actually do so and the majority will never 

earn their four-year degree.  

Maine is one of 20 or so states with a tuition 

waiver program for this population (please 

see attached policy brief from Education 

Commission of the States). Another 10 or 

so states offer scholarships and grants, 

including the State of Washington which 

provides a scholarship of up to $4,500 annually to help those who have experienced 

foster care or unaccompanied homelessness with college costs, and also provides 

priority consideration for that state’s grant and work study programs. These State-

supported aid programs are an important complement to federal resources including 

those that may extend placement and related benefits (e.g. MaineCare) for those older 

than 18 if they are pursuing postsecondary education. Six states offer benefits beyond 

tuition and required fees, including the All Iowa Opportunity Foster Care Grant, which 

may cover room, board, books and supplies, transportation and other personal living 

expenses.  

◊ The demand far exceeds the availability of tuition waivers, though it is impossible 

to determine by how much given the limited application window. 

◊ Youth in foster care as well as families who have adopted/entered permanency 

guardianship through Maine’s foster care program may have an expectation that 

the tuition waiver is guaranteed. During testimony on LD 1566, a former school 

superintendent who had adopted three relatives said, “When they were adopted it was 

understood that there was a tuition waiver program that would help pay for their college 

costs. I was surprised when my niece did not get the tuition waiver. Education is a route 

to breaking the cycle of abuse and often poverty. l am shocked that the State of Maine 

randomly divides these children into those who get help and encouragement, and those 

who don't.” While the waiver may have historically been available to all applicants, in 

“I looked forward to college and my 

successful future and that was what got 

me through all my dark days in my last 

months of foster care. The tuition waiver 

gave me a chance to go get my 

dreams…It breaks my heart to know that 

some who have aged out of the foster care 

system don’t have the same opportunity 

because there are only so many waivers.” 

- Foster Care Tuition Waiver Recipient 
Attending Kennebec Valley Community College 

(Testimony on LD 1566) 
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recent years the program has been a victim of its own success, as it has provided hope 

and opportunity to more foster and adopted youth and thus generated increased 

demand for the benefit.  

◊ Expanding the number of tuition waivers without additive State funding would 

be burdensome to Maine’s public postsecondary institutions, which already write-

off approximately $450,000 annually to support the current recipients. 

Given this, the Legislature may want to consider appropriating State funding to support 

the program. There was agreement among stakeholders that ideally, the tuition waiver 

would be available to any foster or adopted youth who aspired to attend college in 

Maine and who applied during an extended application period and met eligibility 

requirements. This would provide certainty at a critical time of transition to a population 

that has experienced incredible instability, leading to improved educational and 

workforce outcomes that benefit the individual, our communities and the state’s 

economy. 

Stakeholders also agreed that benefits should not differ between foster youth and those 

who have been adopted/entered permanency guardianship as that may be a 

disincentive to families to provide legal permanence to children and youth in Maine’s 

foster care. Additionally, it is widely understood that any youth who has been taken into 

Maine DHHS custody has faced significant childhood trauma, and, as a result typically 

face higher developmental and learning barriers that necessitate strong supports to 

successfully transition into adulthood. There is an assumption that because those who 

have been adopted/entered permanency guardianship have greater supports than those 

who remain in care, they are more likely to know about the waiver program and have 

help in submitting the application in a timely manner. However, while in 2018-19 those 

who had been adopted received six times the number of waivers than those who were 

still in State care, the number of those who have been adopted between the ages of 18-

25 is 14 times the number of current foster youth in that same age range. 

Maine DHHS representatives were of the opinion that there should continue to be no 

earnings limits for waiver recipients and their adoptive families as the Department has 

been able to promote the waiver to potential adoptive and permanency guardians as an 

incentive to permanency. This is especially important given the number of children in 

Maine awaiting placement. According to recently released data, foster children here are 

in State care for an average of 21 months, the third-longest duration in the nation. 

Furthermore, for families who provide legal permanence for older children, they may not 

have a meaningful amount of time to save for college regardless of their income.  

The fiscal impact of having universal waiver access is unknown. There are other states 

that have tuition waiver programs for foster youth that are not capped that could help 

inform the cost estimates, including Oklahoma and Texas, though there are nuances to 

eligibility in those programs. For example, Rhode Island’s Higher Education Opportunity 



7 | P a g e  
 

Incentive Grant Program is for those still in State custody and New Mexico’s tuition 

waiver is for those transitioning out of State or Tribal custody.  

Because foster youth are much less likely than 

their peers to graduate from high school and then 

go onto college, it is assumed that a minority of 

those eligible would actually apply. There are 

currently 2,356 Mainers between the ages of 18 

and 25 who are in foster care (152) or who have 

been adopted or were minor wards of a 

permanency guardian (2,204). National data 

suggests that just 10 percent of foster youth 

attend college. If Maine did expand or make 

universal tuition waivers, it should likely impose 

upper-age limitations as it is currently one of just 

five states without this parameter. For example, 

Connecticut benefit recipients must start their 

subsidized academic program prior to their 21st 

birthday and remain eligible for assistance until 

the end of the school year in which he/she turns 

23 years of age. Most recipients in Maine are 19 

or younger when they first receive the waiver. As 

a result, age restrictions would not likely limit benefit access but would manage help the 

State’s potential financial exposure.  

Stakeholders discussed at length whether an expanded tuition waiver should be a “last-

dollar” scholarship that is limited to covering unmet need after all other financial aid is 

exhausted, as is done in some other states including New Jersey, North Carolina and 

Oregon. There was concern that this may force a student to have unrealistic added out-

of-pocket costs for things like room, board and books that otherwise would have been 

covered by a program like Pell if it did not have to be applied against the cost of tuition. 

Furthermore, it was agreed that the simplicity of the one-stop tuition waiver as it is 

currently designed is important, especially to youth who may perceive the financial aid 

process as overwhelming and/or lack adult support to navigate these systems and 

otherwise may not consider college. One model worthwhile of further exploration is 

West Virginia, which provides last-dollar foster care tuition waivers that cover tuition and 

fees after other sources of financial aid dedicated solely to tuition and fees are 

exhausted.  

State-Specific Foster Care Tuition 
Waiver Programs In New England: 

Connecticut: State-funded subsidy 
for tuition, fees and room and board 
equivalent to the costs of Central CT 
State University (foster) or UConn 
(adopted), after other financial aid. 

Massachusetts: Eligible students are 
entitled to a tuition and fee waiver 
equal to 100% resident tuition rate 
after other federal scholarships and 
grants. Cost paid by the State and not 
institution.   

New Hampshire: New Hampshire 
provides a total of 30 new and 
renewal tuition and fee waivers that 
may be adjusted based on other aid 
each year, (15 for universities and 15 
for community colleges).  

Vermont: State-funded scholarship 
typically between $1,000-$2,000. 
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Investments to lower the barriers for foster care pursuing and attaining post-secondary 

education must consider both enrollment and retention. Less than 3 percent of Maine 

youth in the foster care system successfully graduate from college.1 Given that many 

youth who have been in foster care lag behind their peers in academic achievement 

given stress, trauma, high mobility, physical and developmental disabilities from abuse 

and neglect, fragmented services and supports, and many other impacts of adversity, 

any consideration of funding for postsecondary education must also consider investing 

in aligned supports. For example, when Nevada established its foster care tuition waiver 

program, it also created a foster youth ambassador, who coordinates with agencies and 

institutions and is a point of contact for students.  

Maine’s public colleges and universities have extensive navigational and other 

academic, financial, and social/emotional supports. However, foster and adopted youth 

would greatly benefit from trained adults who understand the distinctive challenges they 

face and the unique resources available to them including federal transition funds 

administered by Maine DHHS, among them the Education and Training Voucher (ETV) 

and Chaffee Foster Care Independent Program. Increasingly, JMG Specialists are those 

trusted tutors and mentors to Maine foster and adopted youth. Student-centered with a 

strong presence in Maine’s middle, high and postsecondary schools, if adequately 

funded JMG is uniquely positioned to take on an expanded role supporting tuition 

waiver recipients to start, stay and complete college and transition to the workforce and 

independence. In partnership with Maine DHHS, JMG now proactively enrolls any foster 

care youth who is attending a high school where there is a JMG program, and JMG 

Specialists play a significant role in supporting foster care youth in post-secondary 

planning.  

While FAME does not receive any funding to administer the waiver, if the program was 

expanded beyond 30 waivers, administrative costs should also be appropriately 

subsidized by the State.  

CONCLUSIONS AND NEXT STEPS 

With the understanding that Legislative changes to the program would take time, the 

UMS, FAME, JMG and DHHS have worked to determine process improvements that 

would better serve applicants in the meantime.   

The first change students will notice in 2020 is that the application period will open on 

March 1, instead of Feb. 1. Because a completed application requires a college 

                                                                 
1 Burt S. Barnow, Amy Buck, Kirk O’Brien, Peter Pecora, Mei Ling Ellis, and Eric Steiner, “Effective Services for Improving Education and Employment Outcomes 

For Children And Alumni Of Foster Care Service: Correlates and Educational and Employment Outcomes,” Child & Family Social Work (2013): 159. 
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acceptance letter – which many Maine students may not have by Feb. 1 unless they 

applied to college early decision – and the FAFSA to be submitted – which many Maine 

students may not have not done by Feb. 1 – there was a concern that the applicant pool 

may not be representative of the entire eligible student population.  

While there was concern that moving the application availability later would result in an 

increase in submissions that would have to be denied because of the waiver cap, 

ultimately it was agreed that the benefits of moving the application period later justified 

the change, especially because it better aligns with the March 1 priority FAFSA filling 

date that many Maine colleges and universities use. The Youth Transition Program 

Manager at Maine DHHS who verifies eligibility has committed to accelerating that 

Department’s process to ensure successful applicants are still notified by mid-April as 

was past practice.  

Secondly, based on feedback shared during the public hearing on LD 1566 and in the 

conversations with students and families that followed, it was determined that more 

could be done to positively communicate with and support those who had been 

unsuccessful in receiving the waiver due to its limited availability. Many of these 

students may be eligible for numerous other institutional, State and federal financial aid 

resources that would allow them to access quality public postsecondary education in 

Maine for little or even no cost. For example, as part of $92 million in institutional aid it is 

making directly available to its students in the current academic year, the UMS has a 

promise program at four of its campuses that allows Pell-eligible students to pay no out-

of-pocket tuition or fees.  

Starting this year, the letter that applicants receive letting them know they have not been 

granted the waiver will make clear that there are other financial resources available to 

them and let them know of the specific individual at FAME or JMG who will be directly 

reaching out to assist them in finding and securing other aid. JMG specialists will 

contact those individuals with whom they have a prior relationship while a regional 

FAME college access counselor will contact those without an established JMG 

connection. We believe this will send these students an important, positive message 

that college is accessible to them and that there are knowledgeable, caring adults who 

are committed to their success, thus increasing their likelihood of college attendance 

and completion.   

Maine is currently experiencing a significant increase in the number of youth in State 

care, due in part to the opioid epidemic. At the same time, it is also promoting policies 

that increase postsecondary degree and credential attainment to help more Maine 

adults attain a credential of value (60 percent by 2025 goal). As a result, this is an 
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opportune time to consider meaningful expansion of this in-demand benefit that has 

greatly improved college-going among foster and adopted youth over the last three 

decades. The new 10-year State economic plan has among its strategies increasing the 

labor force participation of existing residents, especially young people disengaged from 

school and work. The UMS and MCCS as well as our partners at FAME, JMG and 

Maine DHHS stand ready to work together with the Legislature to expand and enhance 

financial and other resources that foster college access, persistence and 

degree/credential attainment, fulfillment and independence among the Maine students 

who most need our support. 
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Many students have concerns about the 
affordability of college, which may interfere 
with their potential success. However, 
foster care alumni have unique needs when 
making the transition into postsecondary 
enrollment. Compared to completion rates 

for the general population, postsecondary 
education outcomes for youth with foster 
care experience lag behind.1 Nearly 60 
percent of the general population will obtain 
a bachelor’s degree, compared with only 3 
percent of foster care alumni.2 Similarly, 
foster care alumni have lower high school  

graduation rates than their non-foster peers 
– 46 percent compared to 82.3 percent.3 
As a result of these perpetual educational 
inequities, it is important to consider 
policies aimed at addressing disparate 
postsecondary access and attainment rates.

A 2016 Education Commission of the States 
special report, Strengthening Policies for 
Foster Youth Postsecondary Attainment, 
reviews how state policies can increase 
higher education access for foster youth 
and highlights states’ autonomy to develop 
initiatives to best support this population. 
In an effort to provide ongoing support 
for state policymakers and education 
leaders, this 50-State Review expands on 
the mentioned report to focus specifically 
on state-based tuition assistance programs 
for foster youth. This comparison of various 
state tuition assistance programs can serve 
as a tool to better understand the supports 
for this vulnerable student population and 
provide a guidepost for possible policy 
redesign.

Six states provide 
financial assistance 
beyond tuition and 
mandatory fees. 
This additional 
support can include 
books, supplies, 
room and board, 
and transportation 
expenses.

Of the 28 states with 
tuition assistance 
programs, all but 
five states – Maine, 
Michigan, New York, 
Virginia and West 
Virginia – include an 
upper-age limit in the 
eligibility requirements 
for state-level tuition 
assistance programs for 
former foster youth.

Tuition Assistance Programs for Foster 
Youth Pursuing Postsecondary Education
EMILY PARKER AND MOLLY SARUBBI

50-STATE 
REVIEW

FOCUS IN. 
Study up  
on important  
education policies.

TWENTY-EIGHT STATES OFFER 
SOME TYPE OF STATE-LEVEL 

TUITION ASSISTANCE PROGRAM 
FOR FORMER FOSTER YOUTH 
SEEKING A POSTSECONDARY 

CREDENTIAL. TWENTY STATES 
UTILIZE TUITION WAIVERS AND 

EIGHT STATES OFFER GRANTS OR 
SCHOLARSHIPS.

http://www.ecs.org/strengthening-policies-for-foster-youth-postsecondary-attainment/
http://www.ecs.org/strengthening-policies-for-foster-youth-postsecondary-attainment/
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Overview of Tuition 
Assistance Programs
State-based tuition assistance programs are not the only 
policies in place to help foster youth attain a postsecondary 
credential. Additional federal, state and institution-level 
policies exist that intentionally target foster youth. 

State-based tuition assistance programs 
act as a form of stability aid, creating an 
additional layer of financial support not 

always met by larger  
national funding streams.

This support can be integral in the postsecondary access 
and persistence for underrepresented student populations. 
In 2003, tuition assistance programs geared specifically for 
foster youth began to appear, however, a recent scan of the 
national legislature confirms that to date, 28 states have 
some form of tuition assistance for foster youth. 

The most common policy design is for states or institutions 
to award a tuition waiver to former foster youth. There are 
20 state-level tuition waivers for former foster youth and 
eight grants or scholarships. The map below indicates 
which states have state-level tuition assistance programs. 

Eligibility Criteria
Although no two tuition assistance programs are identical 
across states, some common requirements exist. For 
example, students must submit the Free Application 
for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA), maintain satisfactory 

academic performance to be eligible for and to maintain the 
award, and use the tuition assistance at a public community 
college or four-year institution. However, when digging into 
the specific eligibility requirements of each program, the 
details often vary significantly from state to state. 

Eligibility requirements for tuition assistance programs vary 
in a number of ways including upper-age limits for program 
participation, the age or amount of time when the student 
was in foster care, what the tuition assistance includes and/
or covers, and limitations on the amount of funding or the 
number of awards. Additionally, some programs further 
constrict student eligibility through more stringent criteria, 
such as personal financial requirements or additional forms 
or scholarship applications.

ELIGIBILITY CRITERIA
COMMON REQUIREMENTS

ADDITIONAL ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS

FAFSA

REPORT CARD

MATH
SCIENCE
HISTORY

SPANISH

A
A
B
A

PUBLIC COLLEGE

Maintain 
satisfactory
academic 
performance

Submit the 
FAFSA

Use tuition 
assistance at
 an eligible
institution

Age limits for program participation

Amount of time student was in 
foster care

What the tuition includes/covers

Amount of funding/number of awards

Personal financial requirements 

Additional scholarship applications
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The following state examples show the range of support 
that state-level tuition assistance can provide.

Oregon
The Oregon tuition waiver for foster youth and former 
foster youth covers tuition and required fees remaining 
after funds from the Pell Grant, the Oregon Opportunity 
Grant and other institutional aid have been applied at 
any Oregon public institution. Students must have spent 
at least six months in the foster care system between the 
ages of 14 and 21 to meet eligibility requirements. The 
Oregon program, in addition to the academic and financial 
requirements, also requires recipients to perform 30 hours 
of community service each academic year.4 These stringent 
requirements to access the Oregon tuition waiver result in 
very few students actually applying for and receiving the 
tuition waiver. Because Oregon has other, less rigorous 
financial aid programs, such as the Oregon Opportunity 
Grant, the remaining costs at a public institution may not 
justify the community service requirement. When designing 
tuition assistance programs for foster youth, states should 
consider the whole financial aid landscape in their state to 
best identify unmet need and not duplicate efforts. 

Connecticut
Connecticut has two separate programs for former foster 
youth – one for students adopted from foster care and 
one for students in foster care on their 18th birthday. The 
combination of these two programs cover much of the 
foster care spectrum, but exclude students who were in 
foster care, but were reunited with their birth family prior 
to their 18th birthday. However, the tuition assistance 
program for students in foster care on their 18th birthday 
(and not adopted or reunited with their birth family) has 
an application requirement that can be restrictive to 

foster youth. According to state policy, applicants must 
“exhibit adequate social skills and demonstrate appropriate 
behavior, as assessed by the adolescent Social Worker and 
the case history.”5 

Iowa
The Iowa tuition assistance program differs from that of 
Oregon and Connecticut because it is a grant and not a 
tuition waiver, and allows the state to cover the full cost 
of attendance, not just tuition and required fees. While 
most tuition assistance programs cover only tuition and 
mandatory fees, the All Iowa Opportunity Foster Care Grant 
is an example of one of the six states nationally that provide 
support beyond the cost of tuition and mandatory fees. 
Iowa covers the cost of tuition, fees, books and supplies, 
dorms and off-campus housing, meal plans, transportation 
and personal living expenses. This program provides a 
generous benefit to students, eliminating many of the 
financial barriers that foster youth face when seeking a 
postsecondary credential. In order to apply, students 
must submit both the FAFSA and the Iowa Financial Aid 
Application.

Tuition Assistance Programs  
by State
The following chart lists each of the 28 states with state-
level tuition assistance programs for foster youth. It also 
details the age by which students must take advantage 
of the tuition assistance program, the requirement for the 
duration of their time in care, the financial support provided 
by the program, the number of credit hours required to 
qualify for the tuition assistance, and additional details 
about the program. This interactive data visualization 
provides an in-depth look at the tuition assistance programs 
and the number of youth in care.

http://www.ecs.org/state-level-tuition-assistance-programs-for-foster-youth-in-postsecondary-education
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Tuition Assistance Programs by State
State Name of Program Age Limit Foster Care Requirement Financial Support Enrollment 

Requirement Additional Notes

Alaska

University of Alaska 
Presidential Foster Youth 
Tuition Waiver

CCS HB 302

21 In care after 16th birthday Tuition

Must apply for two 
additional scholarships

Capped at 20 scholarships 
per year

Arizona
Arizona Tuition Waiver for 
those formerly in foster care

§ 15-1809
23 In care after 16th birthday Tuition and mandatory fees

5-year pilot program 
started in 2015

Total personal assets must 
be less than $10,000

Connecticut

College Assistance/ 
Postsecondary Education 
Assistance for Adopted 
Children Tuition Waiver

Policy Manual: Post Adoption 
Services Chapter 48-20-2

Apply by 21, 
receive funding 
until 23

Adopted before 18th birthday and after 
Dec. 31, 2004

Tuition, fees, and room and board 
equivalent to the cost of tuition, 
fees, and room and board at the 
University of Connecticut Storrs 
Campus

$500 personal contribution 
per year

Post-Secondary Education 
Program Tuition Waiver

Policy 42-20-20

23

Must enroll 
immediately 
following 
high school 
completion

In care on 18th birthday

Tuition, fees, room and board 
(on campus), and/or off campus 
stipend, books, equipment, supplies 
and materials

Full-time 
only

Must “exhibit adequate 
social skills and 
demonstrate appropriate 
behavior, as assessed by 
the adolescent Social 
Worker”

Florida
Tuition and Fee Exemption 
Tuition Waiver

West’s F.S.A. § 1009.25
28

Under 18 and in care, over 18 and in care 
on 18th birthday, spent six months in care 
after 16, or adopted after May 5, 1997

Tuition and fees
Full-time 
only

Capped at 54 FTE 
students or 1 percent of 
the institution’s total FTE 
enrollment, whichever is 
greater, at each institution

Illinois

Department of Children 
and Family Services (DCFS) 
Scholarship Program

89 Ill. Adm. Code 312.100

23
Currently in care, aged out of care at 18, in 
care immediately before being adopted or 
in the KinGap program

Tuition and fees
12-credit hour 
minimum

Maximum of 48 
scholarships each year, four 
of which are awarded to 
children of veterans

Iowa
All Iowa Opportunity Foster 
Care Grant

I.C.A. § 261.6

Enrolled by 23, 
receive funding 
until 24

Aged out at 18, but in care at 18 or legally 
adopted after 16

Tuition, fees, books and supplies, 
dorms or off-campus housing, meal 
plans, transportation and personal 
living expenses

Full-time or 
Part-time

Prorated to 
reflect the 
number of 
hours

Grant amounts up to 
$9,010 per year

Must submit Iowa Financial 
Aid Application

http://www.akleg.gov/basis/Bill/Text/26?Hsid=HB0302D
http://www.azleg.gov/ars/15/01809.htm
http://www.ct.gov/dcf/cwp/view.asp?a=2639&Q=379242
http://www.ct.gov/dcf/cwp/view.asp?a=2639&Q=379242
http://www.ct.gov/dcf/lib/dcf/policy/pdf/42-20-20.pdf
http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&Search_String=&URL=1000-1099/1009/Sections/1009.25.html
http://www.ilga.gov/commission/jcar/admincode/089/08900312sections.html
https://coolice.legis.iowa.gov/Cool-ICE/default.asp?category=billinfo&service=IowaCode&ga=82&input=261.6
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State Name of Program Age Limit Foster Care Requirement Financial Support Enrollment 
Requirement Additional Notes

Kansas

Kansas Foster Child 
Educational Assistance 
Tuition Waiver Program

Kansas 2016 statute 75-53,112

23
In care on 18th birthday, graduated high 
school while in care, adopted after 16th 
birthday, left care after 16th birthday

Tuition, fees, option for additional 
expenses if funding allows

Kentucky

Kentucky Foster or Adopted 
Children Tuition Waiver 
Program

KRS § 164.2847

Must enroll 
up to four 
years after 
high school 
graduation

Currently in care, in care at 18, adopted 
from state foster care (adopted by a 
family who receives state adoption 
assistance or participating in a state-
funded independent living program)

Tuition and mandatory fees
Full-time or 
Part-time

Maine
Post-Secondary Education 
Tuition Waiver

20-A M.R.S.A. § 12572
No age limit

In care or adopted from care at time of 
high school graduation Tuition only

Full-time 
only

Submit an application form 
to the Finance Authority of 
Maine

Capped at 30 new students 
per year

Maryland
Tuition Waiver for Foster Care 
Recipients

§15–106.
Enroll by 25

In care on 18th birthday, in care on 13th 
birthday and placed into guardianship, 
adopted after 13th birthday, or be the 
younger sibling of a student who fits 
qualification 1 or 2.

Tuition and mandatory fees
Full-time or 
Part-time

Massachusetts

Department of Children 
and Famlies Adopted Child 
Tuition Waiver and Fee 
Assistance Program

24
Adopted by an eligible Massachusetts 
state employee or by an eligible 
Massachusetts resident through the DCF

Tuition and fees
Full-time or 
Part-time

DCF Foster Child Tuition 
Waiver and Fee Assistance 
Program

24
In care at least six months before 18, not 
have been adopted or returned home

Tuition and fees

Michigan
Fostering Futures Scholarship

M.C.L.A. 722.1021 through 
722.1031

No age limit In care on or after 13th birthday
Tuition, fees, room and board, 
books, supplies and equipment

Full-time or 
Part-time

Minnesota

MNSCU Tuition Waiver 
for Persons Under the 
Guardianship of the 
Commissioner of Human 
Services

Procedure 5.12.2 Tuition 
Waivers, Deferrals, and 
Retroactive Drops

21
Currently under the guardianship of the 
commissioner of human services

Tuition

Decentralized. Up to the 
president of each college 
or university

Must contribute toward 
their expenses by gainful 
employment if able to work

http://kslegislature.org/li/b2017_18/statute/075_000_0000_chapter/075_053_0000_article/075_053_0112_section/075_053_0112_k/
http://www.lrc.ky.gov/statutes/statute.aspx?id=43492
http://legislature.maine.gov/legis/statutes/20-A/title20-Asec12572.html
http://www.mgaleg.maryland.gov/2016rs/statute_google/ged/ged.pdf
http://www.mass.edu/osfa/programs/dcfadopted.asp
http://www.mass.edu/osfa/programs/dcfadopted.asp
http://www.mass.edu/osfa/programs/dcfadopted.asp
http://www.mass.edu/osfa/programs/dcfadopted.asp
http://www.mass.edu/osfa/programs/dcffoster.asp
http://www.mass.edu/osfa/programs/dcffoster.asp
http://www.mass.edu/osfa/programs/dcffoster.asp
http://www.legislature.mi.gov/(S(4lvxbkjn2rakou11dqhfpeta))/mileg.aspx?page=GetMCLDocument&objectname=mcl-722-1027b
http://www.legislature.mi.gov/(S(4lvxbkjn2rakou11dqhfpeta))/mileg.aspx?page=GetMCLDocument&objectname=mcl-722-1027b
http://www.mnscu.edu/board/procedure/512p2.html
http://www.mnscu.edu/board/procedure/512p2.html
http://www.mnscu.edu/board/procedure/512p2.html
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State Name of Program Age Limit Foster Care Requirement Financial Support Enrollment 
Requirement Additional Notes

Missouri
Missouri Reach Tuition Waiver

V.A.M.S. 173.270.1

Must apply 
by the third 
anniversary of 
discharge date, 
graduated 
high school, 
obtainedGED 
or 21st birthday

In care before 18th birthday or when 
-graduated high school

Tuition and fees

Students must apply to 
the coordinating board 
for higher education for a 
determination of eligibility

100 hrs of community 
service/internship each 
year of award

New 
Hampshire

Tuition Waiver for Children 
in State Foster Care or 
Guardianship

§ 187-A:20-b

Less than 23

In care for the immediate six-month 
period prior to 18th birthday, in care at 
the time of 18th birthday, adopted while 
in care or in an out-of-home placement at 
time of 17th birthday

Tuition only

NH offers additional room/board 
scholarship independent of tuition 
waiver

Full-time 
only

12 credit 
minimum

Capped at 10 tuition 
waivers for the NH 
University System and 10 
waivers for the Community 
College System

New Jersey New Jersey Foster Care 
(NJFC) Scholars Program 16-23 years

In care nine months before 16, living in 
transitional housing

Tuition and fees only
Full-time 
only

New Mexico
Foster child tuition and fee 
waiver eligibility; notification

N. M. S. A. 1978, § 21-1-4.7
25

In care (including legal custody of NM 
Indian nation) between 14-1, or when 
graduated high school /obtained GED

Tuition and limited fees only

New York

Foster Youth College Success 
Initiative

McKinney’s Education Law § 
6456

No upper-age 
limit

In care by 18, any time after 13th birthday

Tuition, fees, books, transportation, 
housing, summer college prep, 
including advising, tutoring and 
academic assistance

North Carolina
North Carolina Foster Youth 
Tuition Waiver

N.C.G.S.A. § 115B-2
24

Ward of the state by 18 and eligible for 
North Carolina Education and Training 
Voucher 

Tuition

Oklahoma
Oklahoma Successful 
Adulthood (OKSA) program

340:75-6-110

26

Must apply 
within three 
years of 
high school 
graduation

In care at least nine months between ages 
16-18

Tuition only

Oregon
Free College Tuition for 
Former Foster Youth

ORS 350.300
25

Spent six months in foster care between 
ages 14-21, enroll in program within three 
years of leaving care or graduating high 
school, whichever comes first

Tuition and fees only
30 hours of community 
service each academic year

http://www.moga.mo.gov/mostatutes/stathtml/17300002701.html?&me=173.270
http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/xv/187-A/187-A-20-b.htm
http://www.nj.gov/dcf/home/foster_scholars_program.html
http://www.nj.gov/dcf/home/foster_scholars_program.html
https://www.nmlegis.gov/Sessions/14%20Regular/final/SB0206.pdf
https://www.nysenate.gov/legislation/laws/EDN/6456
https://www.nysenate.gov/legislation/laws/EDN/6456
http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_115B/GS_115B-2.html
http://www.okdhs.org/library/policy/Pages/oac340075060110000.aspx
https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/ors/ors350.html
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State Name of Program Age Limit Foster Care Requirement Financial Support Enrollment 
Requirement Additional Notes

Rhode Island
Higher Education Opportunity 
Grant

RI § 42-72.8-2

Enroll by 21, 
receive funding 
through 23

In care before 18th birthday, for at least 24 
months or in care between 16-18

Supplements federal, state and 
institutional scholarships, grants 
and loans

Full-time 
only

Tennessee
Tennessee HOPE Foster Child 
Tuition Grant

T. C. A. § 49-4-933

Four years after 
high school 
graduation, 
six years after 
admittance 
to an eligible 
institution

In care for at least one year after 14th 
birthday, adopted after 14 or was placed 
in permanent care after 14th birthday

Cost of attendance less other gift 
aid, not to exceed tuition and fees

Texas

College Tuition and Fee 
Waiver

V.T.C.A., Education Code § 
54.367

25

In care between 14-18, adopted on or 
after Sept. 1, 2009, age 14 and reunified 
after June 1, 2016, in care and had dual 
enrollment in high school and higher 
education

Tuition and fees

Utah
Tuition Waivers for Children in 
Long-Term Foster Care

U.C.A. 1953 § 53B-8d-103
22

Aggregate time in care of at least 24 
months

Tuition
Full-time or 
Part-time

Virginia

Comprehensive community 
colleges (grants for 
tuition and fees for certain 
individuals)

VA Code Ann. § 23.1-601

No age limit
In care at 18 and receive high school 
diploma

Tuition and fees

Full-time or 
Part-time

Minimum six 
credits per 
semester

Community colleges only

Washington
Passport To College Tuition 
Waiver Program

RCWA 28B.117.030
26

Aged out of system after 2007, spent one 
year in care after 16

Tuition and fees of highest-priced 
state institution and not surpass 
need

Full-time or 
Part-time

West Virginia
West Virginia Tuition Waiver

§ 18B-10-7b
No age limit

In state care at least one year prior to 
waiver award

Tuition and fees

Full-time or 
Part-time

Prorated 
based on 
number of 
hours

http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/Statutes/title42/42-72.8/42-72.8-2.HTM
https://www.tn.gov/collegepays/article/tennessee-hope-foster-child-tuition-grant
http://www.dfps.state.tx.us/Child_Protection/Youth_and_Young_Adults/Post_Secondary_Education/college_tuition_waiver.asp
http://www.dfps.state.tx.us/Child_Protection/Youth_and_Young_Adults/Post_Secondary_Education/college_tuition_waiver.asp
http://le.utah.gov/~2000/bills/hbillamd/HB0193.pdf
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title23.1/chapter6/section23.1-601/
http://app.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=28B.117.030
http://www.legis.state.wv.us/WVCODE/ChapterEntire.cfm?chap=18b&art=10
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Final Thoughts

Both federal and state-level policymakers have paid varying 
levels of attention to the broad issue of postsecondary 
degree attainment, and foster youth have benefited from 
federal and state policy development. While states have 
taken direct initiative in investing resources toward increasing 
the postsecondary degree attainment rate for foster youth, 
there is a lack of consistency across those levers of support. 
Complex and extensive eligibility criteria narrow the window 
of foster youth applicants and can limit the reach of well-
intentioned policies. 
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Through a realignment of broader and 
more inclusive program design, state 

policymakers can have greater ability to 
increase postsecondary pathways and 

attainment for this important population.
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