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Carry overs – Special Appropriations Table (AFA) 

 

• LD 335, An Act To Require the State To Distribute 25 Percent of Adult Use Marijuana 

Retail Sales and Excise Tax Revenue to Generating Municipalities (Warren) 

 

➢ This bill allocates 25% of the gross sales and excise tax revenue generated by 

adult use marijuana establishments in the State to the municipalities where the 

revenue was generated and makes a reduction to the amount deposited in the 

Adult Use Marijuana Public Health and Safety Fund. 

 

➢ The committee amendment changes from 25% to 12% the amount of sales tax and 

excise tax revenue generated by adult use marijuana establishments required to be 

transferred to the municipalities where the revenue was generated after the 

transfer to the Adult Use Marijuana Public Health and Safety Fund and the 

deduction of state administrative costs.  The amendment also adds an 

appropriations and allocations section reflecting a General Fund cost of $83,520 

in FY 19-20 and $104,600 in FY 20-21 for personnel costs in transferring the 

specified sales and excise tax revenues to generating municipalities. 

 

➢ The floor amendment makes technical changes to the bill that are necessitated by 

recent changes to the laws governing adult use marijuana that were enacted in 

Public Law 2019, chapter 231. 

 

• LD 1322, An Act To Provide Equitable Tax Treatment to State-licensed Marijuana 

Businesses (Jorgensen) 

 

➢ This bill expands the list of marijuana businesses that are licensed by the State 

and are eligible to take deductions otherwise allowed under the state income tax 

laws to include adult use marijuana establishments and testing facilities and 

medical marijuana manufacturing facilities. This bill also corrects lettering 

conflicts created when separate public laws enacted new paragraphs with the 

same letter designations by reallocating the later enacted versions. 

 

➢ The committee amendment provides a General Fund appropriation for personnel 

and administrative costs of $197,672 in FY 19-20 and $199,644 in FY 20-21. 
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Carry overs – in committee 

 

Agriculture, Conservation and Forestry 

• LD 569, Resolve, Directing the Department of Agriculture, Conservation and Forestry To 

Submit to the United States Secretary of Agriculture a Plan for Continued 

Implementation of the Maine Industrial Hemp Program (Hickman) 

 

➢ This resolve directs the Department of Agriculture, Conservation and Forestry to 

submit a plan to the United States Secretary of Agriculture to continue Maine's 

industrial hemp program and to regulate hemp in accordance with federal 

requirements. 

 

Criminal Justice and Public Safety 

• LD 141, An Act To Promote Highway Safety by Restricting the Use of Marijuana and 

Possession of an Open Marijuana Container in a Vehicle (Corey) 

 

➢ This bill makes it a traffic infraction to consume marijuana or a marijuana 

product, to possess an open container of marijuana or a marijuana product in the 

passenger area of a vehicle or to place marijuana or a marijuana product in a 

container labeled by the manufacturer of the container as containing a 

nonmarijuana substance.  This bill is similar to the provisions of law making 

consuming alcohol or having an open container of alcohol in the passenger area of 

a vehicle a traffic infraction. 

 

• LD 1492, An Act To Reform Drug Sentencing Laws (Beebe-Center) 

 

➢ This bill amends the Maine Criminal Code provisions regarding scheduled drugs 

by relaxing or eliminating provisions regarding trafficking and furnishing, 

unlawful possession of scheduled drugs, trafficking, furnishing or possession of 

hypodermic apparatuses, use of drug paraphernalia and trafficking or furnishing 

of imitation drugs.  Sec. 15 of the bill repeals the Class E crime of unlawful 

possession of marijuana. 

 

Taxation 

• LD 1076, An Act To Account for Market Change in the Adult Use Marijuana Excise 

Tax (Berry) 

 

➢ This bill changes the excise tax on adult use marijuana cultivation facilities 

from a tax based on quantity to a tax based on a percentage of the average 

market price for the category of marijuana sold.  The bill requires the average 

market price to be determined quarterly by the Department of Administrative 

and Financial Services.  The tax would not apply to sales by a cultivation 

facility to a licensee with which it is vertically integrated. 
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Veterans and Legal Affairs 

• LD 720, An Act Regarding Maine's Adult Use Marijuana Law (Pierce) 

 

➢ This bill is a concept draft that proposes to amend the laws governing adult use 

marijuana in the State. 

 

• LD 999, An Act To Allow Medical and Adult Use Marijuana Stores To Share a Common 

Space (Miramant) 

 

➢ This bill allows the use of a shared facility for retail sale of adult use marijuana 

and adult use marijuana products and sale of marijuana and marijuana products 

for medical use, as long as the adult use marijuana and adult use marijuana 

products are sold using a different cash register than that used for sales of 

marijuana and marijuana products for medical use. 

 

• LD 1081, An Act To Impose Further Restrictions on where Marijuana May Be Smoked 

(Cyrway) 

 

➢ This bill expands the restrictions on where marijuana may be smoked to include:  

(1) areas in which tobacco smoking is prohibited; (2) private residences or private 

property when a person under 18 years of age is present; and (3) vehicles in which 

a person under 18 years of age is present. 

 

• LD 1432, An Act To Improve the Adult Use Marijuana Laws (Pierce) 

 

➢ This bill amends the adult use marijuana law in several ways.  First, it repeals all 

residency requirements regarding licensure and operations as of June 1, 2021.  

Second, the bill clarifies that, during the first two years after the first active 

cultivation facility license is issued, a dispensary or caregiver may transfer both 

harvested marijuana and marijuana products to an adult use marijuana 

establishment controlled by that dispensary or caregiver during the Joint Standing 

Committee on Veterans and Legal Affairs first year of that marijuana 

establishment's operation.  Third, this bill allows a marijuana store licensee that is 

also a registered caregiver or a registered dispensary to sell or offer for sale both 

adult use marijuana and adult use marijuana products within the same facility or 

building in which the licensee also sells or offers for sale marijuana or marijuana 

products to qualifying patients. 

 

• LD 1444, An Act To Make the Distance to Schools for Marijuana Establishments 

Consistent with the Liquor Laws (Madigan) 

 

➢ This bill changes the distance requirements under the adult use marijuana 

provisions from 1,000 feet to 300 feet for a marijuana establishment to a 

preexisting public or private school and the method by which the distance is  
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measured to make the adult use marijuana distance requirements consistent with 

liquor law requirements. 

 

• LD 1545, An Act Regarding the Testing of Adult Use Marijuana and Marijuana Products 

(Miramant) 

 

➢ This bill amends the provisions regarding the testing of adult use marijuana and 

adult use marijuana products by:  (1) requiring that any testing conform to any 

applicable state or federal process, protocol or standard for the testing of tobacco; 

and (2) providing that if a testing facility does not test adult use marijuana or an 

adult use marijuana product within five days of receiving the marijuana or 

marijuana product from a licensee, the licensee may sell or distribute the 

marijuana or marijuana product if the marijuana or marijuana product is labeled 

"Untested."  If upon testing a testing facility determines that the marijuana or 

marijuana product exceeds the maximum level of allowable contamination for any 

contaminant that is injurious to health and for which testing is required, the testing 

facility is required to immediately notify the Department of Administrative and 

Financial Services and the licensee.  The licensee is required to recover, 

document, quarantine and hold the marijuana or marijuana product for either 

remediation and retesting or destruction by the department. 

 

• LD 1621, An Act To Allow Delivery of Adult Use Marijuana and Adult Use Marijuana 

Products by an Approved Marijuana Store (Jackson) 

 

➢ This bill amends the Marijuana Legalization Act to allow delivery of adult use 

marijuana and adult use marijuana products by a marijuana store if the 

municipality or town, plantation or township in which the marijuana store is 

located authorizes the operation of delivery services and the marijuana store 

receives approval to operate the delivery service from the Department of 

Administrative and Financial Services.  A marijuana store is allowed to maintain 

a separate storage facility approved by the department in which to store product or 

from which to conduct delivery service operations and which may be located in 

the same municipality as the retail facility of the marijuana store or another 

municipality subject to the approval of the other municipality.  Delivery services 

are subject to the same testing, tracking, labeling and packaging requirements as 

retail sales of adult use marijuana and marijuana products, delivery service drivers 

are subject to the same requirements as the employees of a marijuana store, 

delivery recipients are subject to the same customer restrictions regarding age and 

state of intoxication as marijuana store customers and delivery service vehicles 

are subject to the same inspection requirements as the marijuana store's licensed 

premises and may not have an occupant under 21 years of age during the course 

of a delivery. 
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• LD 1837, Resolve, Regarding Legislative Review of Chapter 1: Adult Use Marijuana, a 

Late-filed Major Substantive Rule of the Department of Administrative and Financial 

Services, Office of Marijuana Policy (DAFS bill) 

 

➢ This resolve provides for legislative review of Chapter 1: Adult Use Marijuana, a 

major substantive rule of the Department of Administrative and Financial 

Services, office of marijuana policy that was filed outside the legislative rule 

acceptance period.  The substance of this resolve was incorporated in Public Law 

2019, chapter 491 (LD 719). 

 

 

New legislation – agency requests 

 

• LR 2999, An Act To Amend the Marijuana Legalization Act (DAFS) 

 

• LR 3000, An Act To Amend the Maine Medical Use of Marijuana Act (DAFS) 

 

• LR 3001, An Act To Improve Compliance with Office of Marijuana Policy Registration 

and Licensure Requirements (DAFS) 

 

 

New legislation – legislator requests* 

 

• LR 2610, An Act To Require Warning Labels Regarding the Danger of Psychosis from 

the Consumption of Marijuana Products (Cyrway) 

** Indexed to VLA 

** Not approved for introduction based on 10/23 Council vote (4-6 FAILS) 

 

• LR 2636, An Act To Expunge Records for Certain Cannabis Convictions (Miramant) 

** Indexed to JUD 

** Not approved for introduction based on 10/23 Council vote (0-10 FAILS) 

 

• LR 2682, Resolve, Directing DHHS To Study the Average Potency of Medical 

Marijuana and Illegal Marijuana, the Adverse Health Effects of Marijuana Use and the 

Adverse Physical Effect of Using Vaping Devices to Inhale Marijuana (Cooper) 

** Indexed to HHS 

** Not approved for introduction based on 10/23 Council vote (4-6 FAILS) 

 

• LR 2683, An Act To Establish Energy Efficiency Standards for the Marijuana Industry 

(Woodsome) 

** Indexed to VLA 

** Not approved for introduction based on 10/23 Council vote (4-6 FAILS) 
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• LR 2775, An Act To Make Amendments to the Laws Governing Adult Use and Medical 

Marijuana To Increase Consistency and Safety (Jackson) 

** Indexed to VLA 

** Approved for introduction based on 10/23 Council vote (6-4 PASSES) 

 

• LR 2806, An Act To Amend the Laws Governing Hemp to Specifically Authorize the 

Interstate and International Sale and Transfer of Hemp (DeVeau) 

** Indexed to ACF 

** Not approved for introduction based on 10/23 Council vote (4-6 FAILS) 

 

• LR 2837, An Act To Prohibit the Addition of Tetrahydrocannabinol and of Cannabidiol 

to Liquids Used in Vaping Devices (Hutchins) 

** Indexed to HHS 

** Not approved for introduction based on 10/23 Council vote (4-6 FAILS) 

 

• LR 2871, An Act To Study Strategies for Increasing Uniformity of Hemp Testing 

(Roberts) 

** Indexed to ACF 

** Not approved for introduction based on 10/23 Council vote (3-7 FAILS) 

 

• LR 2888, An Act To Clarify Local Regulation of Medical Marijuana Facilities (Pouliot) 

** Indexed to HHS 

** Not approved for introduction based on 10/23 Council vote (2-8 FAILS) 

 

• LR 2940, An Act Regarding the Manufacture and Taxation of Marijuana (Claxton) 

** Indexed to TAX 

** Not approved for introduction based on 10/23 Council vote (0-10 FAILS) 

 

• LR 2943, An Act To Improve the Medical Marijuana Laws Regarding the Transfer of 

Plants, Regulation Standards and Retail Sales Requirements (Claxton) 

** Indexed to HHS 

** Not approved for introduction based on 10/23 Council vote (3-7 FAILS) 

 

• LR 3074, An Act To Allow an Adult Use Marijuana Store or Manufacturing Facility 

during Its First 90 Days after Licensure To Purchase Adult Use Marijuana Products from 

a Registered Caregiver or Dispensary (O’Neil) 

** Indexed to VLA 

** Not approved for introduction based on 10/23 Council vote (1-9 FAILS) 

 

* Note that all legislator-filed bill requests during the Second Regular Session are subject to 

approval by the Legislative Council.  The Council met on October 23rd, 2019 to consider 

requests for new legislation (outcomes noted above) and will meet again on November 21, 2019 

to consider any appeals from legislators whose proposals were rejected at the Council’s October 

23rd meeting. 


