TABLE 3.9 Legislative Compensation and Living Expense Allowances During Sessions, 2019

	Salaries				
	Regular sessions				
State	Per diem salary	Limit on days	Annual salary	Mileage cents per mile	Session per diem rate
Alabama			\$48,123	58/mile	Up to \$100/d depending on length of trip.
Alaska			\$50,400	58/mile.	\$322/d.
Arizona			\$24,000	58/mile.	\$35/day for the first 120 days of the regular session and for special sessions and \$10/day thereafter. Members residing outside Maricopa County receive an additional \$25/day for the first 120 days of the regular session and for special sessions and an additional \$10/day thereafter. Set by statute.
Arkansas			\$41,394	58/mile.	Current per diem rate for legislators who live more than 50 miles from the Capitol in Little Rock is \$149. Members who live within 50 miles of the Capitol are eligible to receive a reduced per diem (meals and incidentals, no lodging) of \$55. Per diem rates are based on amounts published by the federal General Services Administration.
California			\$110,459	53/mile.	\$201/d for each day in session.
Colorado			\$40,242 for members whose tems commence Jan. 2019; \$30,000 for members whose term began prior to Jan. 2019	52/mile.	Up to \$171 for members who live more than 50 miles from the capitol; \$45/d for members who live 50 or fewer miles from the capitol. Set by the legislature.
Connecticut			\$28,000	58/mile.	No per diem is paid.
Delaware			\$46,291	40/mile.	No per diem is paid.
Florida			\$29,697	44.5/mile.	\$163/d based on the number of days in Tallahassee (V).
Georgia			\$17,342	58/mile. Tied to federal rate.	\$173/d (U). Set by the Legislative Services Committee.
Hawaii			\$62,604	(a)	\$225/d throughout session for members who do not reside on the island of Oahu; \$10/d for members living on Oahu during the mandatory five-day recess only.
Idaho			\$17,879	58/mile. One roundtrip per week.	\$139/d for members whose primary residence is over 50 miles from the statehouse; \$55/d for members whose primary residence is less than 50 miles from the statehouse. (U)
Illinois			\$65,836	39/mile	\$111/session day.
Indiana			\$26,490	58/mile. Tied to federal rate.	\$181/d (U).
Iowa			\$25,000	39/mile.	\$169/d; \$126.75/d for Polk County legislators (U).
Kansas	\$88.66/d (C)			58/mile.	\$149/d. Tied to federal rate.
Kentucky	\$188.22/d			58/mile.	\$163.90/d.
Louisiana			"\$16,800 Senate; \$22,800 House"	58/mile.	\$161/d (U). Tied to federal rate.
Maine			\$10,131	44/mile.	\$38/d lodging (or mileage and tolls up to \$38/d in lieu of housing). \$32/d meals. Set by statute.
Maryland			\$50,330	58/mile.	\$47/d meals. \$109/d lodging.
Massachusetts			\$66,257	(b)	No per diem is paid.
Michigan			\$71,685	58/mile. One roundtrip per week.	\$10,800/y expense allowance for session and interim (V). Set by the compensation commission.
Minnesota			\$45,000	58/mile. One roundtrip per week.	\$86/d for senators; \$66/d for representatives.
Mississippi			\$23,500	58/mile.	\$149/day (U). Tied to federal rate.
Missouri			\$35,915	37.5/mile.	\$119/d
Montana	\$92.46 (L)			58/mile. Tied to federal rate.	\$120.11/d
Nebraska			\$12,000	58/mile. Tied to federal rate.	\$149/d for members residing 50 miles or more from the capitol; \$55/d for members residing within 50 miles.
Nevada	\$150.71/d for members elected in 2016; \$159.89/d for members elected in 2018	Up to 60 days.		(c)	\$149/d.
New Hampshire			\$200/2-y term.	(d)	No per diem is paid.
New Jersey			\$49,000	None	No per diem is paid.
New Mexico				58/mile. Tied to federal rate.	\$161/d (Jan 15 - Feb. 28), \$184/d (Mar. 1 - Mar. 16)
New York			\$110,000	58/mile. Tied to federal rate.	\$174/d (including overnight) or \$61/d (no overnight).

See footnotes at end of table

TABLE 3.9 Legislative Compensation and Living Expense Allowances During Sessions, 2019 (continued)

	Salaries				
	Regular sessions				
	Per diem salary	Limit on days	Annual salary	Mileage cents per mile	Session per diem rate
North Carolina			\$13,951	29/mile. One roundtrip per week.	\$104/d (U). Set by statute.
North Dakota			\$495/month	54/mile. One roundtrip per week. Tied to federal rate.	\$177/d.
Ohio			\$63,007	52/mile. (e)	No per diem is paid.
Oklahoma			\$35,021	58/mile. Tied to federal rate.	\$156/d (U). Tied to federal rate.
Oregon			\$31,200	58/mile.	\$149/d.
Pennsylvania			\$88,610	58/mile. Tied to federal rate.	\$177/d. Tied to federal rate.
Rhode Island			\$15,959	54.5/mile.	No per diem is paid.
South Carolina			\$10,400	58/mile. One trip per week.	\$170/d. Tied to federal rate.
South Dakota			\$11,379	(f)	\$149/d (L) (U).
Tennessee			\$24,316	47/mile.	\$240/d for members residing greater than 50 miles from capitol; \$61/d for members residing 50 miles or less.
Texas			\$7,200	58/mile. \$1.26/ mile for single, twin and turbo engine airplanes. Set by general appropriations bill.	\$221/d. Set by ethics commission.
Utah	\$285/d (C)			54/mile.	Up to \$100 plus tax/d for members that live more than 100 miles round trip from the capitol.
Vermont			\$733.04/w during session.	58/mile. Tied to federal rate.	\$126/d lodging (including overnight) or \$66/d (no overnight).
Virginia			\$18,000/y Senate; \$17,640/y House.	58/mile.	\$213/d.
Washington			\$48,731/y; increases to \$52,766/y eff. 7/1/2019.	58/mile.	\$120/d.
West Virginia			\$20,000	48.5/mile.	\$131/d (U). Set by compensation commission.
Wisconsin			\$52,999	51/mile. One roundtrip per week.	"Senate - \$115/d Assembly - up to \$162/d (including overnight) or up to \$81/d (no overnight). Dane County members are authorized up to to \$81/d. The maximum number of days per year that per diem can be claimed is 153 days.
Wyoming	\$150/d			58/mile.	\$109/d (V). Set by legislature.

Source: National Conference of State Legislatures, 2019.

- Key:
- C-Calendar day
- L-Legislative day
- (U)-Unvouchered
- (V)-Vouchered
- ...-Not applicable
- (a) Hawaii. Members may claim a mileage reimbursement for reasonable and necessary use of a personal automobile in the conduct of official legislative business and discharge of duties when meeting certain criteria.
- (b) Massachussetts. Legislators are no longer reimbursed for mileage. Instead legislators receive an office expense stiped of \$16,248 for legislators that live 50 miles or less from the state house and \$21,664 for members who live more than 50 milesthis stipend can be used for travel expenses.

(c) Nevada. Travel allowance is \$10,000 for a regular session - can be used for travel to and from the capital or elsewhere within the State on legislative business and \$1,200 for a special session. Additional travel allowance is \$5,000 for a regular session.

(d) New Hampshire. Round trip home to and from the State House at either a) 38/mile for the first 45 miles and 19/mile thereafter, or b) reimbursed for round trip mileage at the federal rate; or when on other business, members may be reimbursed for actual expenses and mileage will be paid at the federal rate.

(e) Ohio. One roundtrip per wk from home to the state House for legislators outside Franklin County only.

(f) South Dakota. One trip is paid at 5/mile and the remaining are paid at 42/mile.