STATE OF MAINE

IN THE YEAR OF OUR LORD

TWO THOUSAND TWENTY-ONE

H.P. 240 - L.D. 342

An Act To Establish a Permanent Appointment of a Member of a Federally Recognized Indian Nation, Tribe or Band in the State to the Marine Resources Advisory Council

Be it enacted by the People of the State of Maine as follows:

- **Sec. 1. 12 MRSA §6024, sub-§1-A,** as amended by PL 2019, c. 225, §3, is further amended to read:
- 1-A. Appointment; composition; term; compensation. The Marine Resources Advisory Council, established by Title 5, section 12004-G, subsection 27, consists of 45 16 members. The chair of the Lobster Advisory Council, the chair of the Sea Urchin Zone Council and the chair of the Shellfish Advisory Council are ex officio members of the council. Each other member is appointed by the Governor and is subject to review by the joint standing committee of the Legislature having jurisdiction over marine resources matters and to confirmation by the Legislature. Five members must be persons who are licensed under this Part to engage in commercial harvesting activities. Those 5 members are selected by the Governor from names recommended to the Governor by groups representing commercial harvesting interests. Each member must represent a different commercial harvesting activity, except that none of those 5 members may represent lobster harvesters. The remaining 7 8 members must include one public member, one member who is a member of a federally recognized Indian nation, tribe or band in the State, 4 persons who hold a nonharvesting-related license under this Part, one person representing recreational saltwater anglers and one person representing the aquaculture industry. The Governor shall select the person to represent the aquaculture industry from among the names recommended by the aquaculture industry. The Governor shall select the member who is a member of a federally recognized Indian nation, tribe or band in the State based on the joint recommendation of the tribal governments of the Aroostook Band of Micmacs, the Houlton Band of Maliseet Indians, the Passamaquoddy Tribe at Motahmikuk, the Passamaquoddy Tribe at Sipayik and the Penobscot Nation. If the tribal governments do not make a unanimous joint recommendation, the Governor shall appoint a member of a federally recognized Indian nation, tribe or band in the State and rotate the appointment among members of each federally recognized Indian nation, tribe or band in the State. The composition of the council must reflect a geographical distribution along the coast. All

appointed members are appointed for a term of 3 years, except a vacancy must be filled in the same manner as an original member for the unexpired portion of the term. An appointed member may not serve for more than 2 consecutive terms. Appointed members serve until their successors are appointed. The chair of the Lobster Advisory Council, the chair of the Sea Urchin Zone Council and the chair of the Shellfish Advisory Council shall serve until a new chair of the Lobster Advisory Council, a new chair of the Sea Urchin Zone Council or a new chair of the Shellfish Advisory Council, respectively, is chosen. Members are compensated as provided in Title 5, chapter 379.