

## **Gun Owners of Maine**

"Every citizen has a right to keep and bear arms, and this right shall never be questioned." Maine State Constitution - Article 1, Section 16

## www.gunownersofmaine.org

In Regard to:

LD 22: An Act to Impede the Transfer of Firearms to Prohibited Persons

LD 60: An Act to Require a 72-Hour Waiting Period After the Sale of a Firearm

LD 168: An Act Regarding Criminal Background Checks for the Sale, Transfer or Exchange of Firearms

My name is Laura Parker. I am the President of Gun Owners of Maine, and stand before you representing our Board of Directors, and our members who are unable to testify today.

Gun Owners of Maine is an organization whose sole purpose is to ensure that the fabric of our State Constitution does not stray from our founders' intent: Every citizen has a right to keep and bear arms and this right shall never be questioned. We are resolutely non-partisan and have a membership composed of people from all walks of life.

We are white and blue collar. We are nurses, welders, teachers, students, and retirees. We, more than any other entity in the state, join Mainers from Kittery to Madawaska under the banner of one cause: gun rights.

We maintain: Gun rights are civil rights. Gun rights are women's rights. Gun rights are inalienable.

For this reason, we oppose LD 22, LD 60 and LD 168.

In the interest of the committee's time, and of others wishing to make their voice heard, I will speak briefly to each of these bills. I welcome any questions, both today, or those directed to my email address listed below at a time convenient for you.

The language of LD 22 is troublesome. Knowingly transferring a firearm to a prohibited person is already against federal law under 18 U.S. Code § 922 (d). Is the need to duplicate the law under state statute necessary in Maine? While the federal law uses the language "knowing or having reasonable cause to believe", this state bill uses the language "knowingly or intentionally sell or transfer". The use of the word "or" between knowingly and intentionally would mean that if a person intentionally transferred a firearm to a person (any gun sale) they would be breaking the law even if they had no reasonable knowledge that the person receiving the firearm was prohibited.

LD 60 is as equally troubling. Requiring law-abiding Mainers to wait 72 hours after legally purchasing a firearm does nothing to take guns out of the hands of criminals. In fact, it impedes, for example, a woman seeking to purchase a firearm for self-defense from doing so in a timely fashion. A man bent on perpetrating violence against her will not submit himself to the law. Why should we, as a state, prevent her from protecting herself?

In addition to this, putting a 72-hour wait on the legal purchase of a firearm will harm small businesses in Maine. This bill would effectively wipe out the gun sales of many rural gun shops, both at their storefronts and at gun shows.

With regards to LD 168, Maine rejected Universal Background checks in 2016. The people of Maine have spoken with regard to this subject. This bill's ambiguous language with regards to "family members" and language that effectively encompasses almost all gun sales in Maine, does not embody the views of gun owners in Maine and should be rejected.

Thank you for your time and consideration,

Laura B. Parker, President laura@gunownersofmaine.org

5 /

<u>اي</u>