STATE OF MAINE ONE HUNDRED AND TWENTY-EIGHTH LEGISLATURE FIRST REGULAR SESSION SENATE ADVANCED JOURNAL AND CALENDAR

Thursday, July 20, 2017

SUPPLEMENT NO. 4

PAPERS FROM THE HOUSE

Joint Orders

Expressions of Legislative Sentiment recognizing:

(1-1) Ethan Sennett, of Millinocket, a member of Boy Scout Troop No. 58, who has attained the high rank and distinction of Eagle Scout. This is the highest award in Boy Scouting and is given for excellence in skills development, leadership, personal growth and community service. We extend our congratulations to him on this achievement;

(1-2) Michael Clark, of Millinocket, a member of Boy Scout Troop No. 58, who has attained the high rank and distinction of Eagle Scout. This is the highest award in Boy Scouting and is given for excellence in skills development, leadership, personal growth and community service. We extend our congratulations to him on this achievement;

(1-3) the Steve and Fred Whited family, of Bridgewater, which has been selected as the 2017 Farm Family of the Year by the Maine Potato Board. The Whited family has a long history of farming in Bridgewater, and Fred is a sixth-generation farmer. We extend to the members of the Steve and Fred Whited family our congratulations and best wishes;

(1-4) Stephen M. Farnham, of Mapleton, upon his retirement as Executive Director of the Aroostook Agency on Aging. Beginning his career at the agency in 1975, he was first involved with advocacy and outreach. In October 1977, he assumed the role of executive director. We extend our appreciation to Mr. Farnham for his more than 40 years of work improving the quality of life and maximizing the independence of northern Maine's elderly citizens and offer him our congratulations on his retirement;

(1-5) Rose Ames, of Leeds, who celebrated her 100th Birthday on July 7, 2017 and received the Boston Post Cane, an honor given to the oldest citizen of a municipality. We extend to Ms. Ames our congratulations and best wishes; HLS 632

(1-6) Stacey Keniston, of Turner, a teacher with School Administrative District No. 52, who has been named the Maine Adult Education New Teacher of the Year for 2017. We extend to Ms. Keniston our congratulations and best wishes;

HLS 633

HLS 628

HLS 631

HLS 629

HLS 630

(1-7) Gordon Edward Hillier, of Readfield, who has received the Boston Post Cane, an honor given to the oldest citizen of a municipality. We extend our congratulations and best wishes to Mr. Hillier on this occasion;

HLS 634

(1-8) the Honorable Alan L. Baker, a native of Orrington, who has been named Orrington Old Home Week's 2017 Citizen of the Year. Mr. Baker was a member of the 112th Maine Legislature and is currently the president and owner of The Ellsworth American and owner of the Mount Desert Islander. We extend to Mr. Baker our congratulations and best wishes; HLS 635

(1-9) Marilyn B. Neal, of New Sharon. Settling in New Sharon in 1980, she and her husband, Bob, went into farming and built up their farm into the State's largest turkey farm. Mrs. Neal worked at a home-health agency, at C. F. Hathaway Company and at Keyes Fibre. She was a deacon at and a musician for the New Sharon Congregational Church UCC, for which she also served as a trustee. She served as New Sharon's deputy town clerk/collector and, for nearly 15 years, on the board of the New Sharon Jim Ditzler Memorial Public Library. Mrs. Neal will be long remembered and sadly missed by Mr. Neal, to whom she was married for over 50 years, and by her family and friends;

(1-10) the 11-12 Little League Softball Team of Biddeford, which won the 2017 State Little League Softball Championship. This is the team's third straight state title. Members of the team include Hannah Gosselin, Savannah Petrin Kendrick, Emilee Petrin Kendrick, Grace Tardif, Kerri Scott, Vanessa Hale, Aliya Tingley, Lexi Libby, Cheyenne Tardif, Baylor Wilkinson, Laura Perreault and Charlotte Donovan. The team is coached by Andrew Donovan. We extend to all the members of the team our congratulations and best wishes;

(1-11) Padebco, of Round Pond, on its receiving the SHARP Award from the United States Department of Labor, Occupational Safety and Health Administration's Safety and Health Achievement Recognition Program. The award recognizes small employers who operate exemplary safety and health management systems and is an achievement of status as a model of work site safety and health management. We extend our congratulations to Padebco on its receiving this award;

(1-12) Minnie M. Payson, of Belfast. Mrs. Payson had a 36-year career with the Belfast School Department, and she was a longtime member of the Belfast Booster Club. Mrs. Payson will be long remembered and sadly missed by her family and friends;

(1-13) Delma F. Paul, of Belfast. Mrs. Paul had a 34-year career with the Belfast School Department, and she was a lifelong member of and volunteer for the Waldo County Shriner Club. Mrs. Paul will be long remembered and sadly missed by her family and friends; HLS 640

Come from the House, **READ** and **PASSED**.

HLS 636

HLS 637

HLS 638

HLS 639