§4152-A. Documents necessary for breed registration

- 1. Requirement to provide. A seller who states, promises or represents that an animal is registered or capable of registration with an animal pedigree organization shall provide the purchaser with the documents necessary for registration at the time of sale or within 90 days of the sale unless specified otherwise in a contractual agreement signed by the purchaser.
- **2. Process to acquire documentation.** If the purchaser does not receive the necessary documents within the time period specified in subsection 1, the purchaser may send a written request for the documents to the seller via certified mail. Within 60 days of receiving the request, the seller must deliver the documents directly or send them by certified mail to the purchaser. [PL 2009, c. 403, §10 (NEW).]
- **3. Failure to provide documentation; resolution.** If the seller fails to provide the necessary documents in accordance with subsection 2, the purchaser is entitled to a partial refund of 50% of the purchase price. Upon payment of the refund, a seller is absolved of the requirement to provide the documents necessary for breed registration. Acceptance of the registration papers by the purchaser outside of the required time period waives the purchaser's right to a partial refund.

[PL 2009, c. 403, §10 (NEW).]

[PL 2009, c. 403, §10 (NEW).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 2009, c. 403, §10 (NEW).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and First Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 1, 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.