## §3923-D. Temporary licenses

An animal shelter may issue a temporary dog license when transferring ownership vested in the animal shelter under section 3913, subsection 4 to a person buying or otherwise accepting ownership. The department shall provide animal shelters with temporary license forms. The animal shelter shall complete all information prescribed on the form, provide the owner with the original temporary license and submit the copy for the municipal clerk and the animal control officer to the appropriate municipal clerk. The animal shelter may retain a copy of the temporary license to comply with section 3914. A temporary license is valid for a period of 10 days beginning on the date of issuance. An animal shelter may charge \$1 for issuing a temporary license. [PL 1997, c. 690, §22 (AMD).]

## SECTION HISTORY

PL 1993, c. 657, §27 (NEW). PL 1995, c. 409, §7 (AMD). PL 1997, c. 690, §22 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and First Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 1, 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.