## **CHAPTER 730-A**

## BREEDING, SALE AND TRANSPORTATION OF SMALL MAMMALS

## §3970-A. Sale and importation of juvenile ferrets

**1. Prohibition on sale.** A person, firm, corporation or other business entity may not sell or offer for sale or resale in the State any ferret that is less than 8 weeks of age as determined by examination for adult canine dentition.

[PL 2003, c. 262, §1 (NEW).]

**2. Prohibition on importation.** A person, firm, corporation or other business entity may not ship or bring into the State any ferret that is less than 8 weeks of age as determined by examination for adult canine dentition unless that ferret is transported with its mother.

[PL 2003, c. 262, §1 (NEW).]

**3. Penalty.** A person who violates this section commits a civil violation for which a fine not to exceed \$100 per violation may be adjudged.

[PL 2003, c. 262, §1 (NEW).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 2003, c. 262, §1 (NEW).

## §3970-B. Breeding and sale of small mammals

1. Rulemaking. The commissioner shall adopt major substantive rules in accordance with Title 5, chapter 375, subchapter 2-A to regulate the breeding and sale of small mammals, including, but not limited to, guinea pigs, hamsters and rabbits. The rules must reflect the standards of the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service of the United States Department of Agriculture for the care of small mammals. Rules adopted pursuant to this section apply only to persons who are not regulated or required to be licensed under chapter 723 or 735.

[PL 2003, c. 642, §2 (NEW).]

**2. Penalty.** A person who violates the rules adopted under this section commits a civil violation for which a fine not to exceed \$100 per violation may be adjudged.

[PL 2003, c. 642, §2 (NEW).]

SECTION HISTORY

Generated

01.07.2025

PL 2003, c. 642, §2 (NEW).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through January 1, 2025. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.