Maine Revised Statutes

Title 39-A: WORKERS' COMPENSATION
Chapter 7: PROCEDURES

8303. REPORTS TO BOARD

When any employee has reported to an employer under this Act any injury arising out of and in the
course of the employee's employment that has caused the employee to lose a day's work, or when the
employer has knowledge of any such injury, the employer shall report the injury to the board within 7 days
after the employer receives notice or has knowledge of the injury. An insured employer that has notice or
knowledge of any such injury and fails to give timely notice to itsinsurer shall reimburse the insurer for
any penalty that is due as aresult of the late filing of the report of injury. The employer shall also report the
average weekly wages or earnings of the employee, as defined in section 102, subsection 4, together with any
other information required by the board, within 30 days after the employer receives notice or has knowledge
of aclaim for compensation under section 212, 213 or 215, unless a wage statement has previously been
filed with the board. The wage statement must report the earnings or wages of the employee on aweekly
basis, unless the employeeis paid on other than aweekly basis, in which case the employer may report the
earnings or wages in the same manner as earnings or wages are paid. A copy of the wage information must
be mailed to the employee. The employer shall report when the injured employee resumes the employee's
employment and the amount of the employee's wages or earnings at that time. The employer shall complete
afirst report of injury form for any injury that has required the services of a health care provider within 7
days after the employer receives notice or has knowledge of the injury. The employer shall provide a copy of
the form to the injured employee and retain a copy for the employer's records but is not obligated to submit
the form to the board unless the injury later causes the employee to lose a day's work. The employer isalso
required to submit the form to the board if the board has finally adopted a major substantive rule pursuant to
Title 5, chapter 375, subchapter 2-A to require the form to befiled electronically. [ 2015, c¢. 297, 89
(AND) . ]

If an employee has had an incapacity beyond the 14-day period established in section 204 and
subsequently returns to work and attends medical appointments related to the injury, the employer is not
required to report the lost time for such appointments to the board if the employee did not lose wages for
attending such appointments. [ 2015, c. 297, 89 (NEW.]

SECTI ON HI STORY

1991, c. 885, §A8 (NEW. 1991, c. 885, §8§A9-11 (AFF). 1999, c. 354, §5
(AVD). 2003, c. 471, §1 (AVD). 2013, c. 63, §8 (AWD). 2015, c. 297, §9
( AVD) .

The State of Maine clams a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this materia, we require that you include the
following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrightsand other rightsto statutory text arereserved by the Sate of Maine. Thetext included in this publication reflectschanges
mede through the Second Regular Session of the 127th Maine Legidatureandis current through October 1, 2016. Thetext issubject to
changewithout notice. It isa version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of Sate. Refer to the Maine Revised Satutes
Annotated and supplementsfor certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our god
isnot to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve
the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or providelegd adviceor interpretation of Mainelaw to the public.
If you need legdl assistance, plesse contact aqualified attorney.

Generated | 1
10.14.2016




