Maine Revised Statutes
Title 39-A: WORKERS' COMPENSATION
Chapter 3: WORKERS' COMPENSATION BOARD

8§151. WORKERS' COMPENSATION BOARD

1. Board established. Pursuant to Title 5, section 12004-G, subsection 35, the Workers Compensation
Board is established as an independent board composed of 7 members. The members of the board, including
the executive director, must be appointed by the Governor within 30 days after a new board member is
authorized or avacancy occurs, subject to review by the joint standing committee of the Legislature having
jurisdiction over labor matters and confirmation by the Legislature. Notwithstanding the provisions of Title 3,
section 157, the designated committee shall complete its review of the appointments of the Governor within
15 days of the Governor's written notice of appointment and the vote of the Legislature must be taken no later
than 7 days after the vote of the designated committee.

The board consists of 3 representatives of management, 3 representatives of labor and the executive director
appointed pursuant to subsection 1-A. All management representatives must be appointed from alist
provided by the Maine Chamber of Commerce and Industry or other bona fide organization or association of
employers. All labor representatives must be from alist provided by the Executive Board of the Maine AFL-
CIO or other bonafide labor organization or association of employees representing at least 10% of the Maine
work force. Any list submitted to the Governor must have at least 4 times the number of names as there are
vacancies for the group represented by the vacancies.

A member of the board is not liablein acivil action for any act performed in good faith in the execution of
duties as a board member.

A member of the board may not be a lobbyist required to be registered with the Commission on
Governmental Ethics and Election Practices, a service provider to the workers' compensation system or a
representative of a service provider to the workers compensation system. In addition to the conflict of interest
provisionsin section 152, subsection 8, amember of the board may not take part in reaching a decision

or recommendation in any matter that directly affects an insurer, self-insurer, group self-insurer or labor
organization that the member represents.

Members of the board representing management and labor hold office for staggered terms of 4 years,
commencing and expiring on February 1st, except for initial appointees and members appointed to fill
unexpired terms.

[ 2009, c. 640, §1 (AVD) .]

1-A. Executivedirector. The Governor shall appoint an executive director, who is the chair and chief
executive officer of the board. The executive director serves at the pleasure of the Governor. Except as
otherwise provided, the executive director shall, at the direction of the board, hire personnel as necessary to
administer this Act, subject to the Civil Service Law.

[ 2003, c. 608, §6 (NEW .]

2. Removal. Board members representing management and labor hold office for the terms provided,
unless removed, and until their successors are appointed and qualified. They must be sworn and may be
removed by the Governor for inefficiency, willful neglect of duty or malfeasancein office, but only with
the review and concurrence of the joint standing committee of the Legislature having jurisdiction over

Generated | 1
10.14.2016



MRS Title 39-A §151. WORKERS' COMPENSATION BOARD

labor matters upon hearing in executive session or by impeachment. Before removing a board member, the
Governor shall notify the President of the Senate and the Speaker of the House of Representatives of the
removal and the reasons for the removal.

[ 2003, c. 608, §7 (AMD) .]

3. Vacancies. If avacancy occurs during aterm of a management or labor member, the Governor
shall appoint areplacement to fill the unexpired part of the term. The replacement must be from the group
represented by the member being replaced.

[ 2003, c. 608, 87 (AMD) .]
4. Chair.
[ 2003, c. 608, 88 (RP) .]

5. Voting requirements; meetings. The board may take action only by majority vote of its
membership. The board may hold sessions at its central office or at any other place within the State and shall
establish procedures through which members who are not physically present may participate by telephone
or other remote-access technology. Regular meetings may be called by the executive director or by any 4
members of the board, and all members must be given at least 7 days notice of the time, place and agenda
of the meeting. A quorum of the board is 4 members, but a smaller number may adjourn until aquorumis
present. Emergency meetings may be called by the executive director when it is necessary to take action
before a regular meeting can be scheduled. The executive director shall make all reasonable efforts to notify
all members as promptly as possible of the time and place of any emergency meeting and the specific purpose
or purposes for which the meeting is called. For an emergency meeting, the 4 members constituting a quorum
must include at least one board member representing management and at least one board member representing
[abor.

[ 2003, c. 608, §9 (AMVD) .]

6. Salary; expenses. A board member is entitled to a per diem of $100 per day. Members of the board
receive their actual, necessary, cash expenses while on official business of the board.

[ 1991, c. 885, Pt. A §8 (NEW; 1991, c. 885, Pt. A 8§8§9-11 (AFF) .]

7. Leave of absence. An employer may not terminate the employment of an employee who is appointed
as amember of the board because of the exercise by the employee of duties required as a board member.
The member is entitled to aleave of absence from employment for the period of time required to perform
the duties of a board member. During the leave of absence, the member may not be subjected to loss of time,
vacation time, or benefits of employment, excluding salary.

[ 1991, c. 885, Pt. A §8 (NEW; 1991, c. 885, Pt. A §§9-11 (AFF) .]

8. Headquarters; regional offices. The board must have its central office in the Augusta area and such
district offices asit may choose to establish. The board may hold sessions at any place within the State.

[ 1991, c. 885, Pt. A 88 (NEW; 1991, c. 885, Pt. A 889-11 (AFF) .]
9. Seal. The board must have a seal bearing the words "Workers' Compensation Board of Maine."

[ 1991, c. 885, Pt. A §38 (NEW; 1991, c. 885, Pt. A 8§8§9-11 (AFF) .]
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The State of Maine clams a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this materid, we require that you include the
following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrightsand other rightsto Statutory text arereserved by the Sate of Maine. Thetext included in this publication reflects changes
made through the Second Regular Session of the 127th Maine Legidatureand iscurrent through October 1, 2016. Thetext issubject to
changewithout natice. It isa version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of Sate. Refer to the Maine Revised Satutes
Annotated and supplementsfor certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes aso requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goa
isnot to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing wheat, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve
the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or providelegd adviceor interpretation of Mainelaw to the public.
If you need legal assistance, please contact aqualified attorney.
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