§976. Logs or timber lodged on banks; forfeiture; advertisement

Logs or other timber carried by freshets or otherwise lodged upon lands adjoining any waters are forfeited to the owner or occupant thereof, after they have so remained for 2 years, if such lands during that time were improved; otherwise, after 6 years; provided such owner or occupant, within one year after the same were found so lodged, advertises, as nearly as practicable, the number of pieces of timber, the time when lodged, together with the marks thereon and the place where found, 3 weeks successively in some newspaper in the county, if any, otherwise in the state paper.

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and First Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 1, 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.