## §891. Collection of delinquent county taxes

When the time for the payment of a county tax has expired and it is unpaid, the county treasurer shall give notice thereof to the treasurer of any delinquent municipality, and unless such tax is paid within 60 days, the county treasurer may issue a warrant to the sheriff of the county, returnable in 90 days, requiring the sheriff to levy by distress and sale upon the real and personal property of any of the inhabitants of the municipality. The sheriff or the sheriff's deputy shall execute such warrants, observing the regulations provided for satisfying warrants against delinquent collectors prescribed by sections 803, 896 and 897. [PL 2021, c. 531, Pt. B, §5 (AMD).]

## SECTION HISTORY

PL 2021, c. 531, Pt. B, §5 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through January 1, 2025. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.