## §6653. Taxpayer to obtain information

Before filing a request for reimbursement with the State Tax Assessor pursuant to section 6654, a taxpayer must notify the assessor or assessors for any taxing jurisdiction in which eligible property is subject to tax and for which the taxpayer intends to claim reimbursement that the taxpayer intends to file a reimbursement request. The notification must also include a list of the property that the taxpaver believes constitutes eligible property, the original cost of that property, the date that property was acquired and whether the property was acquired new or used. The taxpayer must submit to the assessor or assessors of each taxing jurisdiction at the same time a request that the assessor or assessors of the taxing jurisdiction provide to the taxpayer a statement identifying the assessed just value of eligible property for which reimbursement will be requested and the associated tax attributed to that property. If the taxpayer submits the request to the assessor or assessors 60 days or more before the commitment date for the property tax year at issue, the assessor or assessors of the taxing jurisdiction shall make the statement available to the taxpayer at the time the taxing jurisdiction first bills the taxpayer for property taxes for the property tax year at issue. If the taxpayer submits the request to the assessor or assessors less than 60 days before the commitment date or after the commitment date, the assessor or assessors shall make the statement available to the taxpayer within 60 days after the request is made. [PL 1995, c. 368, Pt. FFF, §2 (NEW).]

## SECTION HISTORY

PL 1995, c. 368, §FFF2 (NEW).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and First Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 1, 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.