Maine Revised Statutes

Title 36: TAXATION
Chapter 822: TAX CREDITS

§5218. INCOME TAX CREDIT FOR CHILD CARE EXPENSES

1. Resident taxpayer. A resident individual is allowed acredit against the tax otherwise due under this
Part in the amount of 25% of the federal tax credit allowable for child and dependent care expensesin the
same tax year, except that for tax years beginning in 2003, 2004 and 2005, the applicable percentage is 21.5%
instead of 25%.

[ 2005, c. 519, Pt. DD, 81 (AMD) .]

2. Nonresident taxpayer. A nonresident individual is allowed a credit against the tax otherwise due
under this Part in the amount of 25% of the federal tax credit allowable for child and dependent care expenses
multiplied by the ratio of the individual's Maine adjusted grossincome, as defined in section 5102, subsection
1-C, paragraph B, to the individual's entire federal adjusted grossincome, as modified by section 5122, except
that for tax years beginning in 2003, 2004 and 2005, the applicable percentage is 21.5% instead of 25%.

[ 2005, c. 519, Pt. DD, §2 (AMD) .]

2-A. Part-year resident taxpayer. Anindividual who files areturn as a part-year resident in
accordance with section 5224-A is allowed a credit against the tax otherwise due under this Part in the amount
of 25%, except that for tax years beginning in 2003, 2004 and 2005 the applicable percentage is 21.5%,
instead of 25%, of the federal tax credit allowable for child and dependent care expenses multiplied by aratio,
the numerator of which isthe individual's Maine adjusted gross income as defined in section 5102, subsection
1-C, paragraph A for that portion of the taxable year during which the individual was aresident plus the
individual's Maine adjusted gross income as defined in section 5102, subsection 1-C, paragraph B for that
portion of the taxable year during which the individual was a nonresident and the denominator of which isthe
individual's entire federal adjusted gross income, as modified by section 5122.

[ 2005, c. 519, Pt. DD, §3 (AMVD) .]

3. Quality child care services. The credit provided by subsections 1, 2 and 2-A doublesin amount
if the child care expenses were incurred through the use of quality child care services as defined in section
5219-Q, subsection 1.

[ 2003, c. 391, §10 (AMVD) .]

4. Refund. The credit alowed by this section may result in arefund of up to $500 except, in the case of
anonresident individual, the credit may not reduce the Maine income tax to less than zero. In the case of an
individual who files areturn as a part-year resident in accordance with section 5224-A, the refundabl e portion
of the credit may not exceed $500 multiplied by aratio, the numerator of which isthe individual's Maine
adjusted gross income as defined in section 5102, subsection 1-C, paragraph A for that portion of the taxable
year during which the individual was aresident plus the individual's Maine adjusted gross income as defined
in section 5102, subsection 1-C, paragraph B for that portion of the taxable year during which the individual
was a nonresident and the denominator of which isthe individual's entire federal adjusted gross income, as
modified by section 5122.

[ 2015, c. 267, Pt. DD, §24 (AVD); 2015, c. 267, Pt. DD, §34 (AFF) .]
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