§4641-A. Rate of tax; liability for tax

- 1. **Deeds.** A tax is imposed on each deed by which any real property in this State is transferred.
- A. The rate of the tax is \$2.20 for each \$500 or fractional part of \$500 of the value of the property transferred. [PL 2001, c. 559, Pt. I, §3 (NEW); PL 2001, c. 559, Pt. I, §15 (AFF).]
- B. The tax is imposed 1/2 on the grantor and 1/2 on the grantee. [PL 2001, c. 559, Pt. I, §3 (NEW); PL 2001, c. 559, Pt. I, §15 (AFF).]
- [PL 2001, c. 559, Pt. I, §3 (NEW); PL 2001, c. 559, Pt. I, §15 (AFF).]
- 2. Transfer of direct or indirect controlling interest in entity with interest in real property. A tax is imposed on the transfer or acquisition within any 12-month period of a direct or indirect controlling interest in any entity with a fee interest in real property in this State.
 - A. The rate of the tax is \$2.20 for each \$500 or fractional part of \$500 of the value of the real property owned by the entity and located in this State. [PL 2001, c. 559, Pt. I, §3 (NEW); PL 2001, c. 559, Pt. I, §15 (AFF).]
 - B. The tax is imposed 1/2 on the transferor and 1/2 on the transferee, but if the transfer or acquisition is not reported to the register of deeds in the county or counties in which the property is located and the tax is not paid within 30 days of the completion of the transfer or acquisition, the transferor and the transferee are jointly and severally liable for the full amount. [PL 2001, c. 559, Pt. I, §3 (NEW); PL 2001, c. 559, Pt. I, §15 (AFF).]
 - C. If a controlling interest is acquired by a series of transfers, each transferor is liable for its proportional share of tax based on the value of the property on the date of the sale. [PL 2001, c. 559, Pt. I, §3 (NEW); PL 2001, c. 559, Pt. I, §15 (AFF).]

[PL 2001, c. 559, Pt. I, §3 (NEW); PL 2001, c. 559, Pt. I, §15 (AFF).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1975, c. 572, §1 (NEW). PL 1983, c. 859, §\$M9,M13 (AMD). PL 1985, c. 381, §1 (AMD). PL 1993, c. 398, §2 (RPR). PL 2001, c. 559, §I3 (RPR). PL 2001, c. 559, §I15 (AFF).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and First Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 1, 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.