## §4075-A. Authority to make refunds

1. **Refund.** A personal representative or responsible party otherwise liable for the tax imposed by this chapter may request a refund of any tax imposed by this chapter within 3 years from the date the return was filed or 3 years from the date the tax was paid, whichever period expires later. Every claim for refund must be submitted to the State Tax Assessor in writing and must state the specific grounds upon which the claim is founded. The claimant may in writing request reconsideration regarding the denial of the claim for refund pursuant to section 151.

[PL 2013, c. 331, Pt. C, §16 (AMD); PL 2013, c. 331, Pt. C, §41 (AFF).]

**2. Limitation on payment of interest.** Interest may not be paid by the assessor on an overpayment of the tax imposed by this chapter that is refunded within 60 days after the date prescribed or permitted by extension of time for filing the return of that tax or within 60 days after the return is filed or within 60 days after a return requesting a refund of the overpayment is filed, whichever is later.

[PL 2011, c. 1, Pt. EE, §2 (AMD); PL 2011, c. 1, Pt. EE, §4 (AFF).]

## **SECTION HISTORY**

PL 1995, c. 281, §23 (NEW). PL 2005, c. 622, §24 (AMD). PL 2011, c. 1, Pt. DD, §2 (AMD). PL 2011, c. 1, Pt. DD, §4 (AFF). PL 2011, c. 1, Pt. EE, §2 (AMD). PL 2011, c. 1, Pt. EE, §4 (AFF). PL 2013, c. 331, Pt. C, §16 (AMD). PL 2013, c. 331, Pt. C, §41 (AFF).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and First Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 1, 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.