§1955-A. Failure to pay tax on vehicles

If, after notice of assessment and demand for payment, any amount required to be paid for any vehicle is not paid as demanded within the 10-day period prescribed in section 171, the State Tax Assessor, in addition to enforcing collection by any method authorized by Part 1 or this Part, may immediately notify the Secretary of State who shall proceed in accordance with Title 29-A, section 154, subsection 5 to mail the required 10-day notice and suspend any registration certificate and plates issued for the vehicle for which the tax remains unpaid at the expiration of the 10-day period. [PL 1995, c. 65, Pt. A, §144 (AMD); PL 1995, c. 65, Pt. A, §153 (AFF); PL 1995, c. 65, Pt. C, §15 (AFF).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1975, c. 702, §8 (NEW). PL 1979, c. 541, §A223 (AMD). PL 1987, c. 497, §42 (AMD). PL 1989, c. 502, §A131 (AMD). PL 1989, c. 508, §13 (AMD). PL 1989, c. 878, §A107 (RPR). PL 1995, c. 65, §A144 (AMD). PL 1995, c. 65, §§A153,C15 (AFF).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and First Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 1, 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.