MRS Title 36, §1757. REVOCATION OF REGISTRATION

§1757. Revocation of registration

The State Tax Assessor may revoke the registration certificate of a registrant who fails to file,
within 15 days after receipt of notice, a bond or deposit required under section 1759 and may revoke
for cause a registration certificate issued under this Part. The assessor may revoke the registration
certificate of a registrant who fails to file with the assessor within 15 days after the due date a return as
required under this Part. A revocation is reviewable in accordance with section 151. If a registrant
fails to pay any tax required by this Part when the tax is shown to be due on a return filed by the
registrant, or admitted to be due by the registrant, or has been determined to be due and that
determination has become final, notification of the registrant by the assessor as provided in this section
operates to suspend the registration certificate from the date of the notice of suspension until the
delinquent tax is paid or a bond or deposit required under section 1759 is filed with the assessor or it is
determined by an appropriate court that revocation is not warranted. [PL 2007, c. 438, §32 (AMD).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1977, c. 694, §702 (RPR). PL 1979, c. 520, §3 (AMD). PL 1985, c. 691, §9 (AMD). PL
2007, c. 438, §32 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include
the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects
changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through January 1, 2025. The
text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the
Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our
goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to
preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the
public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.

Generated . S
01.07.2025 §1757. Revocation of registration | 1




