§142. Cancellation and abatement

The State Tax Assessor may, within 3 years from the date of assessment or whenever a written request has been submitted by a taxpayer within 3 years of the date of assessment, cancel any tax that has been levied illegally. In addition, if justice requires, the assessor may, with the approval of the Governor or the Governor's designee, abate, within 3 years from the date of assessment or whenever a written request has been submitted by a taxpayer within 3 years of the date of assessment, all or any part of any tax assessed by the assessor. The decision of the assessor pursuant to this section not to abate all or any part of any tax assessed under this Title is not subject to review under section 151. [PL 1999, c. 708, §6 (RPR).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1985, c. 691, §2 (NEW). PL 1997, c. 504, §2 (AMD). PL 1999, c. 414, §6 (AMD). PL 1999, c. 521, §A1 (AMD). PL 1999, c. 708, §6 (RPR).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and First Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 1, 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.