§1287. Action may be commenced in 10 years after disability

If any such former owner, or person claiming under him, during said period of 20 years, or any portion thereof, is a minor, mentally ill, imprisoned or absent from the United States he may, if otherwise entitled, bring such action at any time within 10 years after such disability is removed, notwithstanding said period of 20 years has expired, and if such person dies during the continuance of the disability, and no determination or judgment has been had on his title or right of action, such action may be brought by his heirs, or other person claiming under him, at any time within 10 years after his death, notwithstanding the 20 years have elapsed.

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and First Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 1, 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.