## §1231. Returns to State Tax Assessor

On or before the first day of May in each year, every owner or person in charge or control of personal property that on the first day of April of that year is situated, whether permanently or temporarily, within the unorganized territory shall return to the State Tax Assessor on a form to be furnished by the State Tax Assessor a complete list of such property that would not be exempt from taxation if it were located in a municipality of this State and that is not otherwise subject to taxation under this Part. That property must be taxed at the rate established by the State Tax Assessor as provided in section 1602. [PL 2007, c. 627, §30 (AMD).]

A person who knowingly makes a fraudulent return under this section commits a civil violation for which a fine of not less than \$100 nor more than \$500 for each violation must be adjudged. [PL 2007, c. 627, §30 (AMD).]

## **SECTION HISTORY**

PL 1973, c. 625, §252 (AMD). PL 1975, c. 272, §44 (AMD). PL 1977, c. 696, §270 (AMD). PL 1979, c. 666, §27 (AMD). PL 2007, c. 627, §30 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and First Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 1, 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.