§1080. Delivery of deed to purchaser after 2 years

If the estate is not redeemed within the time specified by payment of the full amount required by this chapter, the municipal treasurer shall deliver to the purchaser the deeds lodged with him by the tax collector. If he willfully refuses to deliver such deed to said purchaser, on demand, after said 2 years and forfeiture of the land, he forfeits to said purchaser the full value of the property so to be conveyed, to be recovered in a civil action, with costs and interest as in other cases. The sureties of said treasurer shall make good the payment required in default of payment by the principal. On the failure of both, the municipality is liable.

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through January 1, 2025. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.