## §1074. Sale; procedure; costs

When no person appears to discharge the taxes duly assessed on any such real estate of resident or nonresident owners, with costs of advertising, on or before the time of sale, the tax collector shall proceed to sell at public auction, to the highest bidder, so much of such real estate as is necessary to pay the tax due, in the case of each person assessed, with \$3 for advertising and selling it, the sum paid to the printer,  $25\phi$  for each copy required to be lodged with the municipal clerk,  $25\phi$  for the return required to be made to the municipal clerk, and  $67\phi$  for the deed thereof and certificate of acknowledgment. If the bidding is for less than the whole, it shall be for a fractional part of the estate, and the bidder who will pay the sum due for the least fractional part shall be the purchaser. If more than one right, lot or parcel of real estate assessed to the same person is so advertised and sold, said charge of \$3, the  $25\phi$  for each copy lodged with the municipal clerk, and the  $25\phi$  for the return made to the municipal clerk, shall be divided equally among the several rights, lots or parcels advertised and sold at any one time; and in addition, the sum paid to the printer shall be divided equally among the nonresident rights, lots or parcels so advertised and sold; and the tax collector shall receive in addition, 50¢ on each parcel of real estate so advertised and sold, when more than one parcel is advertised and sold. The tax collector may, if necessary to complete the sales, adjourn the auction from day to day.

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and First Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 1, 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.