§1073. Notice to owners of time and place of sale

After the real estate is so advertised, and at least 10 days before the day of sale, the tax collector shall notify the owner, if resident, or the occupant thereof, if any, of the time and place of sale by delivering to him in person, or by registered mail with receipt demanded, or by leaving at his last and usual place of abode, a written notice signed by him stating the time and place of sale and the amount of taxes due. In case of nonresident owners of real estate, such notice shall be sent by mail to the last and usual address, if known to the tax collector, at least 10 days before the day of sale. If such tax is paid before the time of sale, the amount to be paid for such advertisement and notice shall not exceed \$1, in addition to the sum paid the printer, if any.

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through January 1, 2025. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.