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Title 34-A: CORRECTIONS

Chapter 9: INTERSTATE COMPACTS

§9887. SUPERVISION FEE
The department may impose on a person accepted for supervision under this compact a supervision

fee of between $10 and $50 per month, as determined by the department, for the term of supervision by
the department. In determining the amount of the fee, the department shall take into account the financial
resources of the person and the nature of the burden the payment imposes. A request for transfer of
supervision may not be denied solely because the person is not able to pay the fee. When a person fails to
pay the supervision fee, the department may request the person's return to the sending state unless the failure
to pay was not attributable to the person's willful refusal to pay or to a failure on the person's part to make a
good faith effort to obtain the funds required for the payment. Fees received by the department pursuant to
this section must be deposited into the department's adult community corrections account, which may not
lapse. Fees deposited pursuant to this section must be used to defray costs associated with the supervision of
persons accepted for transfer, including, but not limited to, the purchase of materials and equipment for and
operation of electronic monitoring and substance testing programs, the purchase of materials, equipment and
training for probation officers and administrative costs. [2011, c. 677, §1 (AMD).]

SECTION HISTORY
2005, c. 329, §13 (NEW).  2011, c. 677, §1 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the
following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes
made through the Second Regular Session of the 127th Maine Legislature and is current through October 1, 2016. The text is subject to
change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes
Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal
is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve
the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public.
If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.

Generated
10.13.2016   |  1


